We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, cost, and medieval structure - charming experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Factor in that the hotel is a 2 star in the Logis system. Rooms are small, on the dark side (we removed the lamp shade to help with this!), and furniture could be called antiques. Actually fit with the ambiance of the hotel. The bathroom - quirky - provided many laughs. Never knew a shower stall could be so small - don't drop the soap! And one of the ancient building beams runs at an angle over the commode! Restaurant in the hotel was very nice (white table linen - always impressive!), and dinner was quite good. As should be expected, main course selections centered around regional specialties. Of note, the restaurant was full, and we were the only non-French! Good variety at the breakfast buffet (8.50euro each). Street parking next to the hotel was convenient. We had no problem, but likely this was due to the timing of our visit. Currently the hotel is reconfiguring the front area with interior construction of the wine bar/bistro. Should be nice when completed. Location and very reasonable cost for the room, plus staying in a historic building, made this a good choice for two nights to explore Sarlat, tour one of the caves (Font-de-Gaume, must reserve in advance), and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for one week at the beginning of September. Had a lovely (if tiny) room at the back with a separate entrance and a terrace which was pleasant to to sit out in of an evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, the bathroom was the size of a narrow corridor and on day four I was greeted in the evening by one skittering cockroach next to the bed. We had the good sense not to stamp on it but managed to turf it outside, where it stayed for the remainder of our stay, mauled to death by other creepy crawlies. No other roaches appeared but that spoiled the charm factor of the hotel completely for me. The restaurant is slightly over-priced for what you get but full marks for style and presentation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at the tower room with two children. The room with the two extra beds was crowded, and the bathroom was tiny. Both were badly lit even by French hotel standards.
The hotel is located in a very central location but parking was difficult and there was a lot of noise from garbage trucks early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Of all the hotels we stayed at during our driving tour around France, this was one of the more disappointing stays. Lovely hotel from the outside but the rooms themselves leave a lot to be desired. We took the Gourmand Etape package which was very good value (gourmet meal plus lodging for about 80 Euros per person per night) however even at the value, I'm not sure I can recommend it. It wasn't a complete disaster - I just strongly believe there is much better value to be had than this.

Rooms were tiny, not a huge problem as you don't spend much time in there however the bed itself was against a wall, pretty small and saggy. Worst sleeps of our vacation were in that bed. Rooms were clean but a little bit run down and tired looking. Shower was tiny as well.

On the plus side it's in a great location. Sarlat-le-Caneda is one of the prettiest towns I've ever seen. Great for walking round late at night under the gas lights - so pretty and romantic. Lots of restaurants serving up very reasonably priced meals and if you are against foie gras - I'd give the town (if not the whole region) a miss.

Evening meal at La Coulevrine was very good (not great) with the stars being the foie gras starters and the duck entrees.

Free parking (acrosds the road) can also be a bit of a problem as it's almost always full. Persist though and you will get a spot eventually. Also launderette is very accessible from here (right across the road) and it's open 24 by 7. Much needed if you are on the road for a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hestonpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The entry foyer is very small and you can't help but feel a bit cramped in the common areas. However, this can be overlooked as the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and after all it is an old building. The bathroom was the only real let down, it need to be redecorated and was very old (only had a bath, no shower).

However, the real charm is in the value for money, excellent breakfast variety for a great price, but best of all, it is right on the door step to medieval Sarlat. You just walk around the cornor and you take a step back in time. Location and price plus charm = winner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djb3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed 1 night en route to Spain. Booked via Logis website and hadn't realised that Sarlat was such a tourist draw for very good reasons and that La Couleuvrine was solidly part of the medieval theme. If you strip away all the charm then I suppose this is what I expected from a 2 star Logis with a good restaurant but the extras made the experience wonderful. I am particularly biased as I have always wanted a house with a tower room and we were allocated room 20 which is the room at the top of the tower. As you have to go up to the 3rd floor, along the battlement then up 2 more flights of external stairs to get there you might not be so pleased if you had mobility problems or lots of luggage but I was delighted. It has a double and a single bed, was newly decorated and had a flat screen TV. I think the shower room was a bit more in the usual slightly tatty but functional French style but I can't recall.
As the town was packed and the Hotel is very well situated parking was a bit tight but we found a pay place down the street which was free overnight, I think had we wanted to stay longer the car park opposite the hotel was free and they had a few spaces in front of the Hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the meal in the restaurant was above average quality and the breakfast buffet similarly seemed just a little higher quality. After many years of travelling through France to Spain I just accept that the breakfasts seem overpriced compared to the value of the room and evening meal but they are totally optional.
Recommended if you are willing to accept the non standardness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We arrived in Sarlat at about 6 pm and asked for a room at the hotel as it appeared charming with medieval touches to the exterior. We were immediately offered a room and given the key to view it. As other reviews have described, the hotel occupies a square containing the mairie. Our room (9) was L-shaped with a 2nd bed and was situated at the front with 2 large windows overlooking the square. We had a very good night's sleep although it was very hot night, using the fan supplied (no a/c) and leaving the two windows slightly ajar. No noise at all from the square except the pad-pad of a roaming Alsatian (dog). Our room windows are the ones behind the lampost in the photo.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which had more people in it that mihht have been expected for a 2 star hotel, so we had dinner in the medieval dining room with a charming minstrel's gallery. The meal was reasonably priced and was - 'ow d'you say - a little experimental. Some combinations we felt worked - the duck platter - but others didn't - for example the raw scallops with rather bitter raspberry (?) cream. However, I'm told food shouldn't always be an emotional affair. Should there always be a "comfort" dish on the menu to fall back on?

Definitely worth at least an overnight stay as all staff were efficient, if a little reserved, and the atmosphere is old, but not seedy. It reflects the Logis de France tradition, so don't expect crisp carpets, burning showers and vast car parks - it is only 2 star, after all. (As another reviewer noted, car parking is in the square and you have to pay for it, although probably there are spaces nearby in residential streets).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cor-player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couleuvrine

Address: 1 Place de la Bouquerie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £60 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Couleuvrine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel provides 26 rooms including 5 family ones. All different with integrated comfort, you will feel like visiting a friend in the county. Alone, as a couple, with your family or with a group, the hotel will welcome you all year long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing