We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is an ideal example of the Logis group where you get excellent service and food in a traditional very French environment. Situated just a 2 minute stroll from the historic centre of the town, but with good access to parking (there is a large free car park about an 8 minute walk at the top of the town) this is an excellent place to stay with free wifi, a really great buffet breakfast and an excellent atmospheric restaurant with a terrace serving great food.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room, number 4. It would be great for a couple with a child as the child'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The first impression of a dirty and worn stair carpet and rather cramped and unattractive stairways and corridors must not put you off a nice hotel which is very well located to enjoy Sarlat. Our superior room was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in need of a place to stay and stumbled upon La Couleuvrine. It was so perfect! Beautiful room, great access to Sarlat, incredibly friendly staff, and a great breakfast! At a very reasonable price. We'd recommend and go back in a heartbeat.

La Couleuvrine est un vrai trésor! Jolie chambre, bon petit déjeuner, bon accès au village, de super-gentils hôtes.... Prix très raisonnable! J'y reviendrais sans hésitation! Parfait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beautiful building located directly at the edge of the medieval old town. Charming room with exposed brick and yet comfortable and reasonably modern. Opted for the dinner package one evening - very nice meal. Our daughter still raves about the hot chocolate mousse cake desert.

A few quirks - like numerous levels (stairs) and limited wireless Internet at a single station. But all in all, very good value, friendly owner family, and a very nice place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My parents and I are traveling together and I booked a family room for the three of us. The website photos, of course, were charming and spacious. We were a disappointed when they showed us our room, however. They had given us the reduced mobility room, which was quite spacious, but lacking the charm we expected. The bathroom was again large, but with only a shower spicket coming out of the wall. I know that can be common for Europe, and helpful if you need a fully accessible room, but it wasn't exactly what we had in mind. It was loud too since it was on the ground floor next to the restaurant.

We ate dinner at the restaurant, which wasn't bad, but not the most exciting.

Ultimately we decided to see if they had another room available. Reception was helpful, but not entirely understanding about our complaint. The only other room they had suiting for 3 people was in the tower, which is a long haul up. I understand why they would assume people might not want that room. We quite enjoyed it--it was small but cozy, and preferable to the first room we were given.

We wanted to visit some of prehistoric caves in the area and reception wasn't very helpful in that case.

They had a wide variety for breakfast, but it didn't seem very fresh.

Although there was nothing outrageously awful about our stay, it seems like we had the same issues as other people. I might consider staying here again, but only if it seemed like they had made an effort to improve.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouest_nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our visit was in July 2011 as part of our honeymoon.
We stayed at the Coulevrine for 2 nights. I booked a superior plus room on the basis of the photographs on the hotels website. I understand that hotels take pictures to show off their rooms to their best advantage but I actually returned to the reception to query that out room was a "superior plus" room. It was the size of a child's attic bedroom. Not surprising as it was in the attic and much of the space was completely unusable being taken up with stairs, timbers and a further flight of steps up into a storeroom. We even had a further flight of stairs to climb after getting into out room.
The table d'hote menu was the same on both evenings we were there and, as it says in Fawlty Towers, if you don't like duck, you're out of luck. 3 of the 5 main courses were variations of duck, together with a steak and mullet. I had the steak and my wife had the mullet, which she found to be virtually inedible because of the bones. We both had the steak on the second night.
That said, apart from the boniness of the fish the food was of good quality, with interesting starters and desserts.

Breakfast on the front terrace was very pleasant, with a good selection of items and a nice view out onto the square and a market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, nice room and good breakfast.
Only 100m to historic village centre, down a slight cobbled stoned street.
Lots of cafes and restauraunts to choose from.
The local specialty is duck.
Can get a bit boring, would love to see some other items on the menu's

Room Tip: We had a new TABLET and the Wi-Fi was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_Deno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couleuvrine

Address: 1 Place de la Bouquerie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Couleuvrine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel provides 26 rooms including 5 family ones. All different with integrated comfort, you will feel like visiting a friend in the county. Alone, as a couple, with your family or with a group, the hotel will welcome you all year long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing