We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location right in the historic area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Stratham, NH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location right in the historic area”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent three nights here while exploring the Dordogne River Valley and Cro-Magnon caves. This hotel, La Couleuvrine, couldn't be in a more perfect location. Just turn right when coming out of the front door and walk down the cobblestone lane and there you are right in the midst of a perfect medieval town. We were there in mid April and were able to find free parking that time of year on the street next to the hotel. As mentioned in a couple of reviews, the front desk staff was not too friendly upon arrival and remained uninterested throughout our visit. However, we did have dinner one night in the upscale restaurant onsite and found the food and waitstaff to be excellent. We chose a budget room which was one flight up the stairs. There is a small elevator. Be warned that the hallways are extremely dark in some areas and there are stairs often several at a time here and there. You will find light switches in the hallways. My advice is to locate them immediately and use them when coming and going. Our room and adjoining bathroom were TINY but clean and quiet. In retrospect, spring for a larger room, it would be worth the extra euros. We both love historic hotels so we found this stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: We chose the budget room. Very tiny. Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isacoul, Responsable réception at Hotel La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello,

thanks for your stay at our hotel and also for your comment. Sorry for the feeling you had regarding the staff at the front desk. Trust me we are considered as being very friendly and sometimes also...funny. Anyway, you might be wright, but if you felt that we did not care about you during your stay it might be because sometimes we are ...working and then try to be concentrated. There is also the difference of languages in between you and us. But we will keep on trying to make you feel us more warm and happy to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    244
    107
    37
    16
See reviews for
119
344
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent a week in Sarlat, staying at this magnificent hotel in the center of town. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was very accommodating, and the restaurant at the hotel is superb. I would go back in a hot minute!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stayed at La Couleuvrine before, have sent friends there, but was less thrilled with it on this occasion. I still love the location and enjoyed my quirky room under the eaves, but the staff was not particularly welcoming. For example, my room was up two floors, no lift, through a couple of doors and a cluttered back hallway, up narrow stairs with corners, yet no one offered to help with my bag.

Pros:
Nearby parking in the square is free in the off-season. I was worried about availability of spaces, but a short wait each time resulted in a parking spot.
The location on the edge of the old town is perfect. Park your car, drop your bags, and you can dive right in to what makes Sarlat special.
The price is reasonable for Sarlat -- much more than I paid elsewhere for similar rooms, but less than comparable properties in this popular destination town.
The building is charming -- lots of character.
You can get your laundry washed and folded, same-day service, right across the street.

Cons:
Perhaps it was because I was there at the end of a long, busy season, but I found the staff to be effficient but not hospitable.
Breakfast was very ho-hum, and the breakfast room is very basic.
The outdoor terrace is pleasant but has lots of car traffic noise during the day.
Wifi worked in public areas but not in my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here in October and there is free parking in all the surrounding roads at that time of year which is a bonus. The hotel itself is a wonderful old building full of character and a bit of a labyrinth inside which added to its charm. Our very nice and spacious family room required going up two flights of winding stairs (there is a lift/elevator), turning right, going along a corridor, up another five stairs and along another corridor, turning right, going down a step, turning left, going up a step, turning left again and then down 18 winding stairs - all good fun. There were plenty of rooms that were easier to access for people who have difficulty with stairs. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, free Wifi was available in an area near our room and the hotel is located just on the edge of the medieval part of town where the market is located on Wed and Sat.

The staff at the hotel unfortunately slightly spoiled this hotel for us by being totally disinterested. When we checked in we were handed our key and told where to find our room but no pleasantries were exchanged and it was the same when we left. We were handed our bill which we paid and they said goodbye. No-one enquired if we'd enjoyed the hotel or Sarlat. There was zero conversation which was a shame as we had had such friendly interested conversations with reception staff in all our other hotels in France. We speak french too, so it wasn't a language barrier.

Sarlat is a picture perfect medieval town, like something out of a film set. There are a huge number of restaurants although we kept going back to the family run La Taverne du Croquant where they gave you a delicious complimentary vegetable soup if you ordered a set menu. The foie gras was excellent as was the cassoulet and the pork. Sarlat is also a great base from which to explore the beautiful Dordogne area and there is so much to see and do and so much history. We had four days which wasn't enough and we met someone who had two weeks there and still hadn't seen everything. Highlights for us included Lascaux II, La Roque Saint-Christophe, the Reserve Zoologique de Calviac, the gardens of Marqueyssac (magnificent formal and wooded gardens and an incredible view from the belvedere at the top), Rocamadour, the monkey park at Rocamadour (Foret des Singes), and the town of la Roque-Gageac. We would love to have canoed down the Dordogne but ran out of time. We would definitely like to return to this area of France.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs request a room close to the elevator/lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Su V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On arrival you are looking at an historic building just minutes from the charming old town. We had a standard room and it was tiny but clean and quiet. Bathrooms are fine but the shower was a bit cramped. Really, you shouldn't complain about this paying $95 a night. Next time I'll spring for a bigger room but would definitely stay here again. Sarlat is picture-perfect but there are a lot of tourists. Make sure you have dinner at La Gaulois, a truly unique restaurant specializing in all things pig.

Room Tip: Get a superior or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nestled in the heart of the adorable medieval town of Sarlat le Caneda, the Couleuvrine seems to await the adventurous traveler whose main need is a clean room and comfortable bed. Not only does this hotel provide that, but further supplies the traveler with (on the first floor in the front) with a view of the main square on the outskirts of the heart of town where the market begins as well as a unique chateau-like structure. Shuttered windows are curtained with voile fabric allowing both light, air and the view. The reception is constantly busy, but helpful when there is a need. The restaurant was beautifully decorated, but we did not get a chance to try the food, except for the breakfast on two of our 3 days. It was ample, but a little pricey. The hostess there was very sweet, but the room was quite crowded with little space to maneuver in and out of your seat. I would definitely recommend this place for its charm, cleanliness and convenience to the rest of the town. Paid parking from 9 to 7 PM, but free all day at a nearby lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is an ideal example of the Logis group where you get excellent service and food in a traditional very French environment. Situated just a 2 minute stroll from the historic centre of the town, but with good access to parking (there is a large free car park about an 8 minute walk at the top of the town) this is an excellent place to stay with free wifi, a really great buffet breakfast and an excellent atmospheric restaurant with a terrace serving great food.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room, number 4. It would be great for a couple with a child as the child'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couleuvrine

Property: Hotel La Couleuvrine
Address: 1 Place de la Bouquerie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Couleuvrine 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel provides 26 rooms including 5 family ones. All different with integrated comfort, you will feel like visiting a friend in the county. Alone, as a couple, with your family or with a group, the hotel will welcome you all year long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing