We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
265
328
131
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
328
131
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town quirky rooms few stairs a large free car park hotel is located single bed hotel prices floor space minute walk from the main square foie gras star hotel feed the meter comfortable hotel lots of character street parking excellent location half board
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We stayed here in mid-May and despite a few minor issues thoroughly enjoyed it. We had room no. 1, which was excellent, clean, tidy and roomy, with a small terrace area, just round from the entrance. The location on the edge of the old town is perfect for a stroll at any time but especially in the evening. Breakfast was ... continental ... and absolutely fine, we had one evening meal there, initially outside but some of that clear, transparent stuff that falls from the sky interrupted us so we ended up inside - the food was good. Parking may be an issue for some, it's quite costly on the streets (9-12 and 2-7, I think) but free if you go round the town and up, up and up ... (I exaggerate) and walk down the steps.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flashof2worlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Conveniently placed only a short walk from centre of town, restaurants, shops, historic sites etc. Reception was polite, efficient, if a little cool. Room was spotlessly clean with all facilities. Parking is a bit of a problem, on street paying between 9 am and 7 pm, or a large free car park ten minutes' walk away. Breakfast was adequate, but lacked waitress service and no fresh coffee, except from a machine. Fine for an overnight stop. Had a restaurant, but we did not try it. In town, look for a restaurant tucked away in a side street rather than in the Square.

Room tip: Quieter rooms
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hutchinson239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This Hotel is situated in the wall of the old town ans as such it it is a 'maison pierre' or stone house. It ihas lots of character including one of the smallest elevators I have ever seen - there is no chance of getting any large suitcases upstairs. We recommend you pack an overnight bag and leave the cases in the car. Of course being where it is there is no parking only paid street parking or paid secure parking 300 metres away.
The staff were pleasant and efficient and the room comfortable ( no air conditioing though )., however table service was slow and not cheap, and typically french. You can do much better with a short walk down into the old town for a wide choice of restaurants.

Room tip: Rooms on lower floors are likely to have better access
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We had a large family room with smaller adjoining room with two single beds, both rooms had a TV, and decent sized bathroom. The hotel is beautifully renovated but because of it’s complex layout is probably not suitable for those with severe walking difficulties. However, it is very close to Vieux Sarlat, which is a wonderful place to visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful - we would definitely stay here again and would heartily recommend it to our friends.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couleuvrine24, Propriétaire at Hotel La Couleuvrine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hello, Thank you very much for your adivse. We're open all year, 7 days a week and we hope to see an other time. If you book on our website you will pay the best price. Best regards, Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

It lays claim to 3-star status, but was a disappointment in that it appears to be an old converted manor house, and such conversions usually leave strange-shaped rooms, creaking floors, tiny lifts, and lots of stairs. That was very much the case with our room, which despite a (tiny) lift to the second floor, still left 25 steps to climb up and down with our suitcases to get to our bedroom under the rafters. A narrow staircase awkwardly in the middle of the room led up to a small space with a single bed for a youngster. The wallpaper was of the most basic embossed herringbone pattern.
The bathroom was 'modernised', but the shower cubicle was very tight (15 inches to get in, and no more than 2ft 6 square), and there was no adequate shelving to put toiletries on. The room had its own wi-fi router, but no other facilities such as a fridge or coffee/tea making facilities. Neither was there anywhere to hang clothes other than in a shoulder-height cupboard in the bathroom where 5 hangers had been provided. The welcome at reception was somewhat half-hearted and lacked any warmth.
A Velux window in the room had no curtain on it so the room was light from too early on.
Nearby parking is all metered, but the hotel has made arrangements which allows guest to leave their cars in a closed garage facility some 400 metres away for a cost of €10 a night (it's locked, but notices inside state clearly that the management accept no responsibility for theft from cars etc...so it's not that reassuring). And to cap that, when we went to retrieve the car, the gate would not open despite our using the correct entry code, so we lost all faith in that option.
Breakfast was basic but adequate continental style; however one cannot complain given what is nowadays a modest charge of €10 per person.
The best thing about the hotel is that it is just round the corner from the medieval city - which is the jewel in the town of Sarlat - and from the immense Saturday market. Mostly for that reason, I am giving it a generous 2-star rating.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couleuvrine24, Propriétaire at Hotel La Couleuvrine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your trust. I regret that you have not appreciated the squeaky floors, the charm of the walls of our house and despite all the many modern facilities. The parking door worked very well when we came to control it after you and we did not involve anyone since it worked perfectly. On the other hand, it does not open on simple detector but it is necessary to make the code.
As for the room there are indeed steps despite the installation of a central elevator.
Best regards,
Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews