We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais de Moussidiere
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Derby. East Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A quirky delight”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We found this to be a really cute hotel, albeit with slightly eccentric decor in some of the rooms. But that just made it feel quirky and characterful to us.
We were there 4nights and were served a 5 course dinner every evening (incl appetiser and cheese course) and it was some of the best food we had on our trip to France (we also visited Albi and Carcassonne).
I'm quite surprised at the negative reviews - all of the staff we encountered were delightful and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
We enjoyed it very much and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivaDawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    65
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
103
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

After reading a number of reviews I was concerned that we had been booked to stay as part of a walking group.

After spending seven days at RDM I can't understand the negative reviews and can only assume that the property has had some changes in personnel or issues with service consistency.

The property itself is quite exquisite and beautifully located just outside Sarlat. The room was comfortable, aircon worked and during our stay we were able to sleep with the window opening. Some may not like the decor, but I thought it was well in keeping with the region.

The staff were pleasant and attentive and dealt with all our queries couteously.

The hotel only caters for breakfast which is standard French style. Other catering is undertaken by a catering company which during our stay delivered 4 course dinners to the highest restaurant standards.

The facilities including pool, bar and wifi are all accessible and in the case of wifi, is provided free of charge.

The only slight negative is that it is not located in beautiful Sarlat, but given the extensive free parking on site and the location near a supermarket it well and truly compensates for the 15 minute walk. Parking in Sarlat is restricted and quite expensive.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Me and my husband arrived to this hotel in june 2010 for 6 days.I asked for an extra sheet and a reading lamp that was missing. after a short time we found out that the a.c does not function. it was than 38 c.I came to the reception,
in a very polite way to ask for help with the a.c.what I got was, insulting attitude in the most ugly way.I was told not to ask any thing more and in a simply way -to get lost.
i don't recommend coming to this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hana_amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed here for a few days looking forward to the charm of a mansion in the woods, a bit secluded from the madness of Dordogne. What we got was a mixed bag. Nice pool but a dilapidated mad-hatter building desperately in need of some investment. And disrespectful owners. I think you can do much, much better in the area.

Pro's:
1. Location: The Relais de Moussidiere is in a secluded depression off of one of the main roads into Sarlat, making it a great jumping off point for all of your adventures in the area (there is LOTS to do). Less than 3 minutes away, there is even a Casino supermarket when you just need to buy a ball for the kids to play in the pool...

The grounds that the Relais are located in are apparently vast, but we did not explore - it was impossibly hot and humid when we were there.

2. Pool: We were delighted by the pool, which was very pleasant owing to the deadly heat and humidity. An absolute joy for kids and adults alike. There was even some pool service (drinks).

3. Breakfast: Some of the best croissants ever. And the other items in this cold breakfast are top drawer - superb.

4. Owners: The owners generally mean well. They will give you good directions and ideas, although their dining suggestion, Cricketamu's was a flop owing to it being overwhelmed with patrons (the food was great though, just took over 2 hours!). More on the owners in "Con's" below.

Con's:
1. The Building: Others have commented on it, both liking it and not. We did not. While the decor is "eclectic" to be kind, some of the finishings are completely worn, stained, or just ugly. Coconut/hemp "rope" wallpaper, completely stained carpets from the Flashdance 80's era, bathrooms that are from the 70's (in a bad way) that look like they were put together by amateurs. Musty smells, mould in the shower. Horrible!!

Bed was OK though.

The worst has to be our experience with the aircon. Some rooms have aircon - ours did. But because of the faulty installation, the condensed water leaked onto the already dilapidated carpet. Which smelled. The worst was yet to come! As I was in a rush I neglected to tell the front desk. Do you think the cleaning staff reported it (they had to walk through puddles on the carpet!) - no. So when I got back, there was a bigger mess. A plumber was called right away, but the solution was to just put a bucket in place. After enduring this drip-drip-drip torture all night, I asked to be moved the next day. This was done (by me, moving my own luggage), to a non-air conditioned room (ughh, thank god a storm brought some cooler air). I can perhaps forgive most of the above (with difficulty), but the worst was being told that "I" was the cause of this by the female owner, because "I" am an American (I'm not) and this would not have happened if "I" were French (but I am) because French people don't like aircon (but I do). And never mind that this leakage had occurred many times before (from the stains we noticed when we first got there, and as admitted by the owner). INEXCUSABLE BEHAVIOUR.

2. The Owners: See Con's 1.

3. WiFi: Although there is apparently free wifi in the rooms, one of the rooms we were in could not get reception - probably interference from the musty air and leaking aircon!

Conclusion:
This place "has-been". Yes Faye Dunaway stayed here 500 years ago - so what? It's outdated, the owners lack proper manners and there are tons of options in the area. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Canucdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed for three days at the hotel. We got a room on the ground floor, very comfortable, with elegant furniture and art elements. Terrace and access to the pool were available.
The hotel is a jewel; it is marvelously decorated and elegant, still cosy. Everywhere real objects of art, that could have been in a museum - very nice atmosphere.
Excellent breakfast. Total quietness, because the hotel is located in a park, with a small lake, and promenade. Still only 5 minutes by car to the center of Sarlat.
The reception was very friendly, and we got all the information we needed about Sarlat, restaurants, things to visit.

  • Liked — the style of the furniture and objects of art, the quietness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IrLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

As an Australian the pool and palm tree resort style hotel is not what we look for in a French experience unless travelling with kids, read on:

This is a resort style hotel centred around a swimming pool. It is a Lonely Planet pick and once again it is interesting and unique as you would expect from LP. We were there when the hotel was quiet, very quiet. In fact it was difficult to get a drink from the bar because there was only one staff member doing everything. (or so it seemed). The positive is, that this hotel is in a lovely secluded spot in a nice garden. It was a good night's sleep when we were there in June. The negatives are, it seems a little roughly built and the decor is a little weird. I don't know what the hessian? wallpaper in the bathroom is all about. The sunken bath looks awkward for the less than agile. Typically for Europe, the bathrooms are poorly ventilated but these bathrooms are also very dark. More importantly, if this place was full of guests in high season using the pool it could be very noisy. Perhaps a great hotel for a group with kids. We originally requested to be moved from the downstairs rooms which are all tiled obviously to take children coming from the pool. Not impressed with the cat and dog being fed in the hotel kitchen and the dog sniffing the breakfast table but hey, this is France!

  • Liked — The gardens and green setting
  • Disliked — the pool and the resort style, it is quite a way out of town, ok if you have a car
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WollongongSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
1.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Hoirie
Hotel La Hoirie
#11 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de Moussidiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de Moussidiere

Property: Relais de Moussidiere
Address: route de Moussidiere, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de Moussidiere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Relais de Moussidiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing