We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais de Moussidiere
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel is set in attractive grounds. Its interior is different but inviting with a large lounge and plenty og seats. The swimming pool is adequate, again with plenty of lounging area. Our bedroom (number 204) was adequate and contained all the facilities one usually require. We overlooked the swimming pool, which was not a problem for us, but it would be quite noisy at a busier time. Other rooms overlook the garden and might be a better option. The hotel does not have a restaurant, although it does provide a good buffet breakfast. It takes about 35 minutes to walk to Sarlet centre. Taxis are somewhere around but we failed to find one.
The manager Patrick was pleasant and helpful as was Veronique.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horseeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

My wife and i stayed at the hotel 5 nights.
The hotel is situated 2 kilometer fiom sarlat's center in the middle of a forest next to a small lake, very quiet and furnished with old and beutiful furnitures.
We had big room with balcony facing the forest, the room was very clean with all the necasery equipment.
The stuff was warm, friendly and professional and the breakfast buffet was very tasty with local natural products.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peerkobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent May holidays in this lovely hotel in the countryside with a pond and lovely gardens. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a family room which was comfortably sized and beautifully decorated. The view out the window was gorgeous. The bathroom was modern and generously sized. The included breakfast was generous in selections.

You will need to have a car with an excellent GPS to find the hotel, but if you do have a car it is very easy drive to Sarlat and other beautiful towns in the Dordogne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 135Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

during a 2 week tour de france, we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
Looking over the previous and recent reviews, i can offer the following advice/ perspective;

The location is picturesque. But if you want to walk into town each day/night, it will take at least 30 mins. It is do-able and a nice walk, but you need to bear it in mind. Also the last stretch up to the hotel is pitch black at night so a torch is great advice.

The hotel only does breakfast - what a shame as they are missing an easy gain on quick fix lunches and bar snacks. It is really such a missed opportunity for them as they have tonnes of space to be able to cater for this level of service.

The rooms havent all been redecorated and there isnt a logic it seems - ie i couldnt say, go for the 2nd floor, as our room had been redecorated but the one next door had not. The redecorated room we had was lovely. Still only 1 english TV channel ( a pity when the hotel seemed to be part English owned). We had no issue with the air con. I think our room was 209 if you want to request it. NIce balcony with lovely view

the pool for us was perfect and we had it more or less to ourselves for our stay. Rooms faced it on 3 sides and the sun hit it almost all day. Bit cold though! Sunbeds could do with cushions, if there was 1 improvement i would suggest

The breakfast is typical French/continental and more than adequate. Service is good

What would we change? snack availability, more english TV channels, a lit driveway at night.

Only other issue during our stay which is why we are giving 3 stars not 4; during our 2nd night, the room next door decided to host a 6 - 8 person party until 3am. My husband went to reception to complain, around midnight. the porter "called" the room and asked them to tone it down in English. We believe this call was faked as the people in the room were french and i who had stayed in our room at the time, didnt hear the phone ring. He repeated the complaint at 1am when the noise level didnt improve, and went through a similar scenario. I by now had fallen asleep as i had ear plugs. He went to the reception for a 3rd time an hour later, and with no porter to be seen, he fell asleep in the reception waiting for his return.
The response from the staff the next day who we spoke to was very much along the lines of "what can you do" . this was dissapointing. I would have given 4 stars had this not been the reaction
The price of the hotel is over what it should be for the facilties but i would probably stay again if in the area and definitely stay again if it was £20 cheaper!

Sarlat itself is beatiful and worth exploring itself, for 2-3 days. good choice of restaurants, lots of street entertainment and a weekend market

Room Tip: 209 was definitely redecorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monkeysoxnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I am not sure if I am just difficult to please or other people are easily pleased, however I Did not find this place particularly good. The rooms are old and need major overhaul and a real good scrubbing. The Airconditioning is very ineffective and when I mentioned it to the night manager he said that it was the same in each room. My answer to him was then maybe you need to actually spend some money occasionally. Any way to mind just another country place that trades on junk and lack of upkeep and call it quaint. The position is down a country lane not far from the municipal dump.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the hotel on a Riviera Travel holiday in late June. Our room was on the ground floor, facing into the gardens. It was very comfortable, well appointed and with an extremely efficient air conditioning system. With temperatures rising to 100 degrees Fahrenheit outside, returning to our room in the evening was pure bliss! The public rooms were delightful, and relaxing around the rustic pool area at the end of the day was a great pleasure. The lake in the grounds housed some very large fish, several mallards and a lonely swan that swims over to say hello in the hope that you'll feed it with sweetcorn out of the blue bin provided for that purpose.

The staff were more friendly and helpful than any other hotel I've been to over the last few years. I was very impressed. Breakfast was continental (of course) with a very wide selection of different food. Dinner was exceptional! Five courses of very good food served with high quality local wines at 15 euros a bottle. But I must point out that meals are only available to tourist parties, and are brought in from outside. The hotel does not have its own restaurant facilities. There are plenty of restaurants in the town of Sarlat, but that is a 25 minute walk away. However, there is a supermarket at the end of the lane.

I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IMATripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is really good, set in the countryside with its own lakes and resident swan and ducks. You really need a car although a walk from la gare with a case is just about do able and Sarlat can be walked in less than half an hour.
The staff are friendly and helpful and I believe the business has changed hands which means that any previous negative comments are no longer relevant.
It's hard to find any criticism, perhaps the bar may be limited for some but they don't mind you bringing your own drink in for get togethers. We had a party of nine with two supermarket bottles but their wine is better drunk at dinner. These were all excellent- 5 courses with good Bergerac wines.
If you intend to walk or cycle when it rains there is a drying room which will also store your bikes.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends and hope to go there again.

I

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ResilientWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
1.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clos La Boetie
Clos La Boetie
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de Moussidiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de Moussidiere

Address: route de Moussidiere, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £120 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de Moussidiere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais de Moussidiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing