We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could wish”
Review of La Lanterne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Lanterne
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“All you could wish”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have stayed in Sarlat before but this time wanted to stay in the ancient heart of this lovely town, which meant a Chambre d'Hôte (or really a B&B because this establishment is English run).

It is all one could wish for. Ancient and rambling and with a lovely large lounge and a shaded courtyard to put your feet up when sight-seeing has got the better of you. The management could not be more helpful. It was like staying with friends even though this was our first visit - but hopefully not our last.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    20
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
408
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We've been to La Lanterne previously - and based on previous experiences we didn't hesitate to book La Lanterne when visiting the area again.

We stayed in the courtyard room, which has a fantastic Juliette balcony over the courtyard, looking out to the lanterne des morts itself. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The location couldn't be better for exploring the town.

'Team Bowen' (Terri, Richard and Debbie) do an amazing job, and make you feel extremely welcome. Breakfast (in particular) was a highlight, as was their company.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Although we like to vary our routes through France, we always gravitate back to Sarlat and La Lanterne B & B!

All their rooms are set within a Medieval house just above the Cathedral in Rue Montaigne.

All the rooms are - as far as we know - en suite. And all are tastefully and practically decorated by the owner, Terri Bowen, who took over the property some 10-11 years ago with her husband Roy. We have stayed there previously and thus are familiar with its location and the welcome - especially from Frodo and Fibi, two cuddly and friendly Frisson de something-or-others! What we were sad to learn was that Roy had passed away last year after a long and brave fight against prostate cancer. His brother Richard and his wife Debbie have stepped in to help Terri and provide a proper friendly welcome. And in the morning, Richard's breakfasts are legendary!
We wish them well and shall certainly be back in La Lanterne when we can.
NB. Any research will tell visitors that Sarlat is quite hilly - and Rue Montaigne - as the name suggests - is quite steep! Nevertheless we met several residents who were obviously not ready to run any marathons - yet they found the location and access easy and not at all daunting!
Book soon! It is very popular - we were lucky to get a cancellation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trencherman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Located near Toulouse this wonderful house gave us all what we expected. Beautiful setting. Wonderful bedding, and superb hosts. We loved every minute. There is a lot to do in the area. Foodinthis part off dance is to die for. We shall be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank alan3537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I just recently spent three weeks traveling across Italy and France. For one of our stops we spent 4 nights at La Lanterne and this was one of the highlights of our trip. La Lanterne was clean, comfortable and relaxing. The charming rooms and sitting area were matched by the wonderful family that own and run the property. Roy and Terri Bowen (owners) Richard and Debbie (brother and sister in law) along with Terri's mother were extremely helpful and pleasant. Upon request, they served a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, bread, cheese cereal etc. Also, the location was perfect for seeing many of the historical sites and villages in the Dordogne region. I would not hesitate recommending la Lanterne to anyone.

Kathy and Rob Eisenreich, North aurora, IL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were only able to stay one night at La Lanterne but found it very welcoming and a charming place to stay. The B&B is in a lovely old building with a fabulous old staircase that leads up to the various rooms. Our room (Le Grenier) was very comfortable with excellent furnishings. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We arrived on the very busy and rainy celebration day in Sarlat (Nuit du Patrimoine}. Terri thoughtfully offered to make dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant where we could get a good view of the festivities. Our meals at Le Bistrot were delicious and we were dry under the awning but, unfortunately for the town and its volunteers, the rain drowned out most of the evening activities and the thousands of candles. We wished we could have stayed longer at La Lanterne to enjoy more of the warm and friendly hospitality of Terri and her family

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are heading towards Sarlat, do yourself a favour and check into La Lanterne B&B . If Sarlat is not in your travel plans, make the effort anyway - you will not be disappointed. We arrived at a difficult time for the proprietors, having suffered a recent bereavement, yet they still made us feel as though we were the centre of their universe - thanks Richard and Debbie. Lovely, comfortable rooms, huge welcoming lounge and a gorgeous courtyard area. A wide variety of goodies for breakfast and we were often sent on our day's outings with little extras to get us through the day. For a nominal fee, Debbie undertook a no-fuss laundry service - washing, drying and folding; just perfect mid-travels. We were on the road for 6 weeks and La Lanterne was our oasis. Give it a try. Michael & Sandi (Australia)

Room Tip: There is a room to suit your tastes. Check out the website. We loved our "Tapestry Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lanterne

Property: La Lanterne
Address: 9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Lanterne, the most centrally located B&B in Medieval Sarlat, offers comfort and a warm welcome. Four well appointed en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated reflecting the history of this beautiful home dating from 1503. A peaceful oasis with its flower-filled Courtyard and beamed Guest Lounge. Complimentary toiletries, welcome drinks, free WiFi, In-room Tea/Coffee. Literally in the heart of the town's historic centre, La Lanterne could not be better situated to discover and enjoy the wonders and delights of Medieval Sarlat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lanterne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing