We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in wonderful Sarlat!”
Review of La Lanterne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Lanterne
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in wonderful Sarlat!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were warmly greeted by wonderful hosts who went our of their way to be helpful. Richard was willing to go out of his way to help us. They shared their local knowledge with us about where to eat, visit and park. The accommodation was first class. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a walk in shower. You walk out of the courtyard door and you are in the picturesque town of Sarlat. The Dorgogne region has many lovely places to visit such as caves, castles, towns and gardens. La Lanterne is a wonderful, relaxed B & B to make as your base for this area. We would love to return again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    20
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
421
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caesarea, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very enjoyable b&b in the old city of Sarlat that is very central to all the sites of this beautiful city.
Richard and Debbie were very helpful with information about the sites both in and around the town including how to get to the various places. Do not hesitate to take the breakfast, not only is it very filling and tasty,but also a work of art. In short a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My friends and I rented two rooms - La Lanterne and Wisteria. What a lovely place - ivy covered walls with a special story attached to the place. Terri Bowen, the owner shared it with us, reminiscent of Frances Mayes' Under the Tuscan Sun. Richard and Debbie were very kind and accommodating. In the spirit of true hospitality, we felt welcome. Just down the road is the beautiful town of Sarlat. From here we were able to visit Roque Gageac, Domme, Beynac and Castelnaud. At the end of the day, being at La Lanterne felt like home. There's free wi-fi, a beautiful courtyard and a cozy seating place. We were also given very clear driving directions from Bordeaux as well as tips on visiting the surrounding towns. Make sure you stay on a Saturday for the market. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just to reiterate everyone else's comments really; lovely b&b with friendly, laid back owners (they make a point of not putting lots of "rules" in the room guide).

Free glass of wine when we arrived and an honesty box to get more if we wanted. Right in the heart of Sarlat without being noisy and too much hustle and bustle.

Gorgeous town, would really recommend for a night or two.

Only comment would be my slight pet peeve is paying extra for breakfast in a b&b; I would rather have paid more for the room rate and had it included. But that is just me and I'm sure lots of other people like having the option to go to a cafe and get the lovely patisseries instead!

Overall, big brownie points to my husband for booking!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at La Lanterne! When we arrived, one of the hosts met us at our car to explain all of our parking options and helped carry our luggage inside. We were able to find free parking the first day and used the pay-parking the next day as the free parking areas were full. Our room was nice and the common area was very comfortable. We also enjoyed using some wifi and spending time with their adorable dogs in the living room. They also offer plenty of maps and guidebooks for planning your adventures. The location is ideal and the hosts were incredibly friendly - it was a lovely visit!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSUbuckeyesHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a lovely 2 room arrangement, bed up the spiral staircase, windows looked out on medieval streets, pretty rooftops, patio entrance. We loved being able to stroll the medieval streets. Our street was attractive and tourists would be taking pictures of it - lucky us to be able to go through the wooden entry gate and be in our b&b's patio. The internet did not work in our rooms but we found the gathering room where it did work to be spacious and pleasant, filled with comfortable furniture, round tables, large fireplace. The breakfast that we had there, served by Richard in dapper chef pants and apron, was served on pretty china, fruit salad in pineapple boats, eggs mounded artfully on a round of toast, cheese, croissants, good coffee - a very well presented and delicious breakfast. Parking is a serious issue but once we located the lot we were OK. The medieval section of the city is encircled by a one way loop, the free parking is arrayed on streets like spokes off the loop - but there is no signage to indicate that parking is back there on the end of the narrow side streets. It is best to pull up temporarily in the handicapped spot in front of dustbins next to the park at the entrance to Rue Montaigne (too narrow - don't try to drive down!), drop suitcases, and get La Lanterne's people to show you exactly how to find the parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Located a short stone's throw from the Cathedral and old town centre, La Lanterne is located within a five minute walk of the whole of the best preserved medieval town in France. Add to that the charm of a medieval house, a lovely courtyard, comfortable accommodation, a spacious lounge, lovely breakfasts, wifi and most importantly the amazing attentiveness of the hosts Terri, Richard and Debbie, the whole package is brilliant.

There is plenty to do in Sarlat and surrounds and numerous restaurant options in the town. During our week long stay, Richard was always forthcoming with good suggestions on how to get to places, tips on routes and parking at various attractions and dining recommendations and reservations. Simply a great place to stay with super hosts!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lanterne

Property: La Lanterne
Address: 9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Lanterne, the most centrally located B&B in Medieval Sarlat, offers comfort and a warm welcome. Four well appointed en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated reflecting the history of this beautiful home dating from 1503. A peaceful oasis with its flower-filled Courtyard and beamed Guest Lounge. Complimentary toiletries, welcome drinks, free WiFi, In-room Tea/Coffee. Literally in the heart of the town's historic centre, La Lanterne could not be better situated to discover and enjoy the wonders and delights of Medieval Sarlat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lanterne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing