We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return”
Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A place to return”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a superb B & B with welcoming hosts, Wendy and David, offering exceptional hospitality. There is a wide choice for breakfast, including a cooked breakfast if required. It's in a convenient and peaceful location just on the edge of town and is surrounded by lovely gardens. We met some really interesting people from far and wide. David and Wendy are very accommodating and we are really grateful to them, especially for being picked up and dropped off at the Airport. They are both very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some really good restaurants in the wonderful medieval town of Sarlat. We have no hesitation in recommending Le Jardin and are sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
325
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation and it was the best decision. Wendy and David are experienced hosts, and we were made to feel at home within minutes. Unfortunately due to two of our party being hospitalised the day we arrived, our stay was marked by considerable anxiety. However, we were in good hands. David drove us to and from the hospital, and both he and Wendy were most helpful when we had to deal with different issues. Returning from the hospital at midnight, Wendy brought us a slice of fruitcake and a wedge of cheese, so kind. David's delicious breakfasts (Eggs Benedict and Posh Eggy Bread with caramelised peaches) lifted our spirits! We loved the honesty bar, the computer with wifi connections and the hospitality generated by both Wendy and David. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the lounge is warm and encourages one to relax. We plan to return to enjoy Le Jardin properly, and perhaps relax in the lovely garden, to investigate all the delightful quirky statues, mobiles, and little bits and pieces dotted around. I wholeheartedly recommend Le Jardin - not just a couple of days - a longer stay is best.

Room Tip: We were not exactly travelling light, one case and one cabin bag each. David lugged our cases up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We are staying at this lovely little hidden gem for 6 nights.It is run by two cordial hosts that cannot do enough for their guests.

We do not normally do B&B's but this is exceptional from the lovely gardens to the ambience throughout.All meticulously managed by Wendy and David to exacting standards. We even enjoyed a home cooked meal with all the guests and interesting breakfasts. The little touches like the honesty fridge and "Can I get you anything" excel and are just fantastic.

As someone once said " I shall return" to this hidden gem of the Dordogne.

Melb/Paris

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My spouse and I found our way to the Le Jardin Sarlat in the early evening after an overwhelming week in Paris. We walked through an enchanted garden to the door, rang the bell and were received. Indeed, David and Wendy received us with such warmth and kindness, that it was if we’d found our way home.
They are masters of the art of hospitality, balancing attentiveness with a companionable stillness. They know intuitively how to hold space and welcome one into it. Wendy showed us about gently and efficiently, familiarizing us with the house - the breakfast table (where we were to enjoy many breakfasts) the refrigerator full of good wines, beer and soda situated in a very comfortable sitting room, the computer with wifi (no need to worry about communications) – and then she settled us in, again just as if we’d just come home.
The garden rather unfolds itself as one settles down. Within the silence of our comfortable room, we became aware of the birds, the magnolia tree in blossom outside our window, the graceful roofs of Sarlat just beyond the tree tops. We found a little water kettle, various kinds of tea, sugar and a bottle of fresh milk all laid out for us.
Everything seemed to say, “Relax. You made it.”
The next morning we had breakfast with fellow travelers who, like ourselves, were grateful for the good fortune of having found themselves together in such a good place. In addition to the excellent continental breakfast with fresh fruit, cool cheeses, daily baguettes, croissants, granola, yogurt, thinly sliced meats, generous fresh pressed coffee, they prepared a hot breakfast item - not to be missed even though one is well set with the abundant fare as it is.
I hope I’m not going on too long here…
To summarize, our stay was perfect; we reserved three nights, and were able to extend it to five. Wendy and David are the most authentically generous hosts anyone could wish for.
And then, after all this hospitality and peace, there is Sarlat and the whole enchanted Dorgonne valley to explore as well…
And don’t hesitate to ask David and Wendy about towns to visit, or bicycles to rent or… they know the area intimately.
I would recommend this experience to all good travelers.

Room Tip: Enjoy the breakfast and take a bicycle ride. Ask David and Wendy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had a wonderful time spending three days with Wendy and David at Le Jardin Sarlat. The GPS lady can't get you there (as David will tell you, they are working on it) because she wants to take you down a walking path, but once you find it you realize you are just a few blocks from the charming medieval town center, yet a world apart, with flowering trees, a delightful yard, and (for those who visit in the summer) a pool to cool off in. The front porch welcomes you in good weather, the parlor lounge in rainy weather, and David and Wendy always make you feel at home. They were willing to share restaurant tips and always welcomed us with friendly interest about our day's adventures. I wholeheartedly recommend Le Jardin Sarlat!

Room Tip: The bathroom in Castlenaud room was the size of some whole hotel rooms in Paris and New York. Window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrudnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a wonderful visit with Wendy, David and David's mother. I hated to leave. The breakfasts were wonderful. I liked that we could walk into town from this location. A previous reviewer mentioned that Wendy and David are two of the ost charming people you are likely to meet and I agree wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

David and Wendy were great hosts and made our stay very memorable. The accommodation felt like home from home, drinks were always available from the honesty bar in lounge. The Town was very close and a short walk away from all the restaurants and bars.

We look forward to another visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing