We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place”
Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What a beautiful house; peaceful, restful and quiet and yet only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Sarlat. Guests have the use of a delightful sitting room and a large shady garden. Wendy and David are great hosts, friendly, helpful and very pleased to share their home with you. Breakfasts are generous and make a great start to the day. Sarlat is a wonderfully preserved medieval town and Le Jardin is the perfect place from which to explore it and the surrounding area. There is so much to see within a short drive. Wendy and David are a mine of information regarding places to visit and eat. Only two regrets. Firstly, although we stayed a week we could have spent longer and, secondly, we did not see the red squirrels in the garden - although other guests did!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
333
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Wendy and David are amazing hosts.... the property is beautiful and the hospitality exceptional. Arrival drinks, beautiful accommodation, postcard gardens make the stay memorable. My only wish is that we had more than 3 days with them, so much to see and breathe in... stay a week if you can! The town is so pretty and the surrounding area easy to get to and incredible to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hosts, Wendy and David extend the warmest of welcomes to their guests and share their lovely home very generously indeed. Everything that contributes to comfort and ease is there, including an honesty frig supplied with drinks - wine, beer, fruit juices. Guests can use the sitting room where this is, to congregate and chat over the day that's been, or find meeting points in discussion. Often Wendy and/or David will join in, and it's amazing how often connections are discovered. It all makes for a very human experience, which we believe should be one of the strengths of B&B's over hotels. We can't recommend it highly enough and will certainly be directing our Sarlat-bound friends to its friendly door .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wendy and David are superb hosts. The house is beautiful, cosy and warm as it was cool when we were there.Breakfast a feast and nothing genuinely is too much trouble for this couple who have embraced the French style of life but retain the important English traits like a good cup of tea.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (much too short)and we hope to return and taste the delights of the beautiful town which is an easy 5 minute walk. Thank you both for making us so welcome in you lovely home

Room Tip: Any room in this house is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a superb B & B with welcoming hosts, Wendy and David, offering exceptional hospitality. There is a wide choice for breakfast, including a cooked breakfast if required. It's in a convenient and peaceful location just on the edge of town and is surrounded by lovely gardens. We met some really interesting people from far and wide. David and Wendy are very accommodating and we are really grateful to them, especially for being picked up and dropped off at the Airport. They are both very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some really good restaurants in the wonderful medieval town of Sarlat. We have no hesitation in recommending Le Jardin and are sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation and it was the best decision. Wendy and David are experienced hosts, and we were made to feel at home within minutes. Unfortunately due to two of our party being hospitalised the day we arrived, our stay was marked by considerable anxiety. However, we were in good hands. David drove us to and from the hospital, and both he and Wendy were most helpful when we had to deal with different issues. Returning from the hospital at midnight, Wendy brought us a slice of fruitcake and a wedge of cheese, so kind. David's delicious breakfasts (Eggs Benedict and Posh Eggy Bread with caramelised peaches) lifted our spirits! We loved the honesty bar, the computer with wifi connections and the hospitality generated by both Wendy and David. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the lounge is warm and encourages one to relax. We plan to return to enjoy Le Jardin properly, and perhaps relax in the lovely garden, to investigate all the delightful quirky statues, mobiles, and little bits and pieces dotted around. I wholeheartedly recommend Le Jardin - not just a couple of days - a longer stay is best.

Room Tip: We were not exactly travelling light, one case and one cabin bag each. David lugged our cases up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We are staying at this lovely little hidden gem for 6 nights.It is run by two cordial hosts that cannot do enough for their guests.

We do not normally do B&B's but this is exceptional from the lovely gardens to the ambience throughout.All meticulously managed by Wendy and David to exacting standards. We even enjoyed a home cooked meal with all the guests and interesting breakfasts. The little touches like the honesty fridge and "Can I get you anything" excel and are just fantastic.

As someone once said " I shall return" to this hidden gem of the Dordogne.

Melb/Paris

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
932 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing