We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights from the start to the end David and Wendy. we're helpful with points of interest and sites to see.
Helpful with any questions and what a lovely charming B+B and we enjoyed David's breakfast and Wendy's hostess just a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
333
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is our third or fourth time at Le Jardin and we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else in the Sarlat area. The welcome is wonderful - even le chien chocolat brought us his best teddy this time - and we called it 'home' from minute one. Wendy and David have an absolute gift of combining superb service and care with their excellent company and we had a joyous week there with great fellow-guests. To have a dedicated lounge with library and laptop with a leafy paradise of a garden outside make the days a pleasure, and lovely bedrooms - shades of La Boheme here - are a joy to return to late evening. Sarlat has great beauty, history and atmosphere; absolutely everything - and Le Jardin. you couldn't wish for anything more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Le Jardin in Sarlat is a peaceful oasis to stay when travelling, from the gracious and very friendly host's Wendy and David to the amazing verandah to relax on and have a quiet chat with other guests or just to rest.
Our room was very comfortable certainly big enough for two friends to have a comfortable stay, nice and clean with a great garden outlook.
The garden is beautiful and a very pleasant surprise when you arrive, to see so many trees, plants etc with lots of chairs placed around under a very old and large tree. The B&B is a really easy walk into the historical old town and the new town with many great restaurants for dinner and interesting shops selling great food.
We had lovely breakfast's served in a delightful room with good company.
When looking for and booking this B & B we found Wendy to very helpful thru out the process with lots of helpful suggestions.
David very kindly picked us up and dropped us back to the train station at Souillac, a great service. He also kindly offered to drive us to a couple of interesting places to see in the area which was a bonus as we did not have a car.
We can certainly reccomend this B&B to anyone staying in Sarlat.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in the Beynac room which was certainly big enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our stay in Sarlat at Le Jardin was everything we could have wished for. We stayed for 8 days with our daughter (21) and son (23), having hired a car to explore the area. David and Wendy welcomed us with a cup of tea, while we sat on the verandah surrounded by a beautiful garden and sunshine. The rooms are delightfully decorated ( we sampled them all as we moved around to accommodate our long stay) and the beds are just the most comfortable I’ve had and I know holidays can be spoilt with a bad night’s sleep.David's breakfasts are a brilliant start to the day with a buffet selection AND a cooked option if you wish, and Wendy very kindly provided Gluten Free criossants, bread and cakes for me which was wonderful. There are many interesting places to visit nearby, a car is useful, and an afternoon canoeing down the Dordogne is a must, David and Wendy will happily help you chose and recommend good places to see. Sarlat itself is a facinating medieval city with many restaurants for your evening meal, only a 5-10 min stroll from Le Jardin and an amazing market on Saturday. It was lovely to come back after our site seeing during the day to relax on the verandah or have a nap or read in their peaceful garden, always welcomed by Wendy or David with a pot of tea and usually by Oscar their lovely labrador too. There is an honesty bar in the lounge where we could 'buy' a bottle of wine or beer and often we spent the evenings chatting to other guests from all around the world, it's such a lovely atmosphere.
Thank you SO much for a truly lovely holiday. Sarlat definitely lived up to everybody’s recommendation but your wonderful hospitality and care of us (my Gluten Free food especially) made our holiday the best we’ve had for many, many years. You have a delightful house which you have made a welcoming home to us on holiday - I had better decide on next year’s holiday quickly before other visitors find you !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We found this an ideal location.
Service was excelent and the hosts both very helpful and had great knowledge of the area .
Veri close to the main town down a quiet street with large garden and very comfortable house.
Breakfast was very good and great value .
Rooms , lounge and dining very comfortable clean and attractive.

Room Tip: go for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem30303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Wendy and David who own Le Jardin in Sarlat are warm and friendly and make you really feel at home. Sarlat is beautiful and Le Jardin is literally minutes from the main square. Wendy and David are great at recommending local sight seeing areas, along with must buy wines. Davids breakfasts are great with a special each day along with a very satisfying buffet. If you are heading to the Dordogne make sure you head to Le Jardin in Sarlat you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in Le Jardin with my friend Geraldine during the last week of August. We travelled by train from Paris and David very kindly met us at Souillac Station on our arrival and took us to the train for our return journey. He also drove us to Beynac during our stay so we could explore the medieval chateau and village and take a ride on the Dordogne River in a gabarre. David and Wendy were wonderful, friendly and attentive hosts who showed an interest in their guests and went out of their way to make everyone welcome, as did Oscar, their very friendly dog. It was lovely to come home after a busy day touring caves, castles or gardens and relax on the verandah or in a quiet spot in the secluded garden before heading out to dinner in one of the many restaurants in the amazing medieval centre of Sarlat, only a short walk away.The bedroom was serviced daily and was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, cooked by David, were a delicious start to the day and Wendy provided gluten free bread to cater for my dietary needs, which I greatly appreciated. Perigord Noir has much to offer tourists and Le Jardin is a top spot from which to savour its stunning locations. Thanks for a great stay, Wendy and David.
Veronica Dahl, Canberra, Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing