We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The welcome we received at this wonderful B and B was like staying with friends. The breakfast was varied and plentiful with a different cooked surprise each morning. The garden, terrace and plunge pool were lovely and we were encouraged to make good use of the facilities. Joining the other guests for a glass of wine and chat on the terrace made the whole experience very special. We would love to return.

Room Tip: The bed was extremely comfortable, plenty of hot water and tea and coffee facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
313
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

David & Wendy treated us like old friends (we weren't) and we were made to feel very much at home. We had the run of the house, including a well stocked honesty bar.
Our room was comfortable, clean and well furnished.
The gardens, terrace and pool provide excellent relaxation possibilities and the lively and interesting town of Sarlat is just a five minute walk away.
A superb breakfast was served on a patio with a different hot, home cooked option each day.

Room Tip: No tips needed. All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolstiesMCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were made to feel very welcome and given all the advise required to stay in this lovely area. David and Wendy obviously love there new and pass this feeling on to their guests.
Le Jardin was a wonderful find and we would recommend it to our friends. We didn't want to leave, there is so much to see and do. We shall have to return again soon.
The breakfasts were lovely with a great selection even the chance of one of David's cooked breakfasts was worth the visit.
Keep up the good work David and Wendy it is worth all the effort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247Tony529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We phoned on the off-chance, went to answerphone, but we didn't leave message, intending to send an e-mail. Within minutes Wendy had identified our number, called us back and we booked a week on the spot. And that set the tone - nothing was too much trouble. We had a most enjoyable and comfortable week. We'd asked for gluten-free breakfast, and Wendy found some nice local gluten-free bread and biscuits. David's coked breakfasts were superb - the eggs benedict were to die for. The house and garden are charming, set in a peaceful location just minutes from the centre of "buzzing" Sarlat, with plenty of restaurants, and with street entertainment. Despite not brilliant weather, we couldn't have wished for a better holiday - staying with Wendy and David was like a holiday with old friends.

Room Tip: Milandes room is a little small compared with the other rooms, but for us it worked very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_kotowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Le Jardin. What a lovely place. It was so peaceful to sit in the garden reading or on the porch chatting to David or Wendy or other guests. Nothing is too much trouble for them and David's stories had us all laughing. It was great to have a short stroll into town and not need the car. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful together with the bonus of David's dish of the day. We will have no hesitation to book a return stay in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in castelnaud which was light and bright and had views over the garden and a huge bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANdyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at Le Jardin. As the vast majority of previous views testify Wendy and David have created a wonderful retreat in Sarlat.
From a warm and friendly welcome to a generous goodbye nothing was too much trouble.
In choosing a chambre d'hôtes one would look for friendly, helpful and knowledgeable hosts (Wendy and David have this in abundance), authentic food (breakfasts' were sumptuous), comfortable rooms with attention to detail (tick). Put all these together, add a serene garden and wonderful overall location and it is without hesitation a place I would wholeheartedly recommend.
In this busy and fast-paced world it is not always easy to switch off and relax - not here. We both concluded our holiday fully recharged and refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We could not have wished for a kinder or warmer welcome than that given by Wendy and David when we arrived in wonderful Sarlat. Our accommodation was most attractive and comfortable, and the tasty breakfasts set us up for days of exploring this lovely part of France. Relaxing in the enchanting garden, with its birdsong, pool and whimsical creatures was just the icing on the cake. The proximity to Sarlat, a most interesting and beautiful town was a real benefit, and our hosts were very helpful with the information we needed to make the most of our stay. We three sisters will never forget it.
Lyndel, Nola and Maree
Australia

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a good view of the lovely garden, and it is in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing