We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Recollets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Recollets
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Widnes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. This hotel is a 2 star and good value for money. You cannot expect luxury at this price, it is a base for the opportunity to explore this amazing area. Christophe one of the owners looked after us very well and was so helpful. The courtyard was nice to relax in too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
19
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Just had our second stay at Hotel des Recollets.
The building is full of character and our room this time was very sad and dated. The bathroom was a tight squeeze. There is a free public car park about 10 minutes walk away. So travel light.
However, the location can not be beaten and this is quite important when staying in Sarlat. There are so many restaurants and cafés within a 5 minute walk.
Breakfast is an optional extra.
Despite our criticism, we would still come and stay again. Rooms to try and opt for are 311, 312, 303, 305 and 302.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LBJNrTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had read about this hotel from a Rick Steves book. I had contacted the concierge before my trip and was told we could fit 3 into a room. In fact, the room was 2 separate bedrooms, separated by stairs. Upon arriving, the gentleman was not too accommodating in helping me to understand his French, even when I let him know I was not quite sure of where he was telling us to park our car. Finally, with the help of a map he drew, I was good to go. The hotel is adorable, old and pretty, clean and calm, on a quiet walkway, with each room opening onto a lovely courtyard, where one has breakfast. The woman, Veronique, was very pleasant in the morning, working hard to help everyone get their morning meal, and checking people out. I would stay again, no doubt. Sarlat is an adorable old town surrounding by grottos (prehistoric caves).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This 2 star hotel is very well located close to the centre of Sarlat and only meters from a very good restaurant - Les Quatre Saisons. Our room was small, tidy, nicely decorated and the bathroom was fine. But see below. The receptionist speaks very good English and is an asset to the business; friendly, courteous, helpful. Breakfast is an extra (8.5 Euro per person) but is rather basic. Juice, yoghurt, bread and coffee. We have had better at motorway hotels like Premier Classe and B+B. Parking is provided very close by for 10 Euro per day. Cheap at Sarlat prices although free parking is available less than 1 km away. But ... wi-fi doesn't work in all rooms. We were in 311 and another guest had the same problem. We had to go to the cigarette-smoke laden atmosphere of the courtyard to get access. This smelly courtyard is right beside the breakfast room so we only took breakfast once. The cleaners let the hotel down. The toilet brush holder in the bathroom had not been cleaned in a while. Yuck

Room Tip: We had room 311 which looks out over a quiet "terrasse" but note that there is no wi-fi in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel when we visited Sarlat. There is nothing really outstanding in this hotel except its location in the medieval city of Sarlat; so perfect base to explore the town. Very good value for money considering the location and nice receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Excellent location. Clean, quiet and friendly staff. Value for money could not fault. Room was small but it was adequate for our requirements. Sarlat is a beautiful medieval town in the heart of the Dordogne and this hotel sits right in the middle of the town. Close restraints, shops and market. Very French, rural but what do you expect. We are visiting again in February.

Room Tip: Excellent location and good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in hotel early July. I was v disappointed. the room was more like a garret, literally couldn,t "swing a cat" in it. It was clean though. the climb down either using steps or laneway was very steep. Parking was situated 10 mins walk away and cost 7 euro for a space in a muddy field. I felt it was very costly for what we got. coildn't honestly recommend it to anyone. On arrival
the reception was manned by 2 ladies both I felt rather unfriendly while next morning when we checked out a very courtious gentleman was there, signal for phone and WIFI seem to non existent. Marie Ireland

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#30 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Recollets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Recollets

Property: Hotel des Recollets
Address: 4, Rue J-J. Rousseau | Plein Coeur de la Cite Medievale de Sarlat, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Recollets 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Recollets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Recollets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing