We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
19
36
41
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
36
41
21
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

ok very small room, no AC.Window opened is fine unless you have a problem with bugs. But can walk to old town easily. No parking and very difficult with luggage if you have a rental. no tea pot but they let me use an electric one. Sarlat is very expensive so this was nice find. Out door patio for breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We took the aged in-laws to the Dordogne and needed a hotel that was close to the historic centre of Sarlat at a good price. Hotel des Recollets fits the bill - room sizes ok, two minutes from the 'cite medieval', very good breakfast. Ask for rooms 307 and 308 (great for two couples and near enough to the reception area and front door to avoid the stairs!) Not great for car access, although car parking is provided in a private car park (at a fee). No 'luxuries' in the bathroom - no shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer etc. But the bed was comfortable and the receptionist and the owners were welcoming and friendly. Very good value for money

Room Tip: If travelling as two couples go for 307 and 308
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

After a train journey from Bordeaux we arrived around 1pm to find this hotel/b&b closed until 4pm!! We should have been told this when we made the booking. When we were shown our room we could not believe that 2 people were expected to stay in what was little more than a cupboard!!! There were only a few inches from the side and end of the bed to the wall - not wide enough for my husband's foot to walk around the bed to get inside the toilet!! It was room 302 I think but don't book a room in this place until you check the size!!! I made a video of it.

I knew I could not sleep in that room and they had no other rooms available that night so with the help of the understanding member of staff who was on reception we cancelled the booking with Booking.com and the local tourist office found us a much better and very much bigger room at the Hotel Montaigne which included breakfast for about the same price.

I really think this room at Des Recollets is a total rip-off.

Such a pity - we had been looking forward to staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 302 and check dimensions when booking a room.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LauraP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Nice, small hotel in a great location. Rooms are clean and tidy, staff are very friendly and helpful. Perfect spot for visiting the local market. Perfect for those on a budget. Breakfast is simple and good.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank SoniaA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed here for two nights on a motorbike trip as Sarlat was a good loctation to visit the neighbouring towns and admire the Dordogne river. The hotel had a little sqaure where we could park the motorbike and the hotel was clean and room was a good size. I would not recommend this hotel for elderly people or anyone with a hip problem!!!! To access the hotel you have a short but steep hill on one side of the entrance and a lot of steps on the other. The shower was in a deep bath which was a little scarey gettin in and out of and the stairs inside were steep and narrow. Otherwise, highly recommendable at 69€ for a double room and a very friendly girl on reception who spoke very good English.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews