We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great extras, great service”
Review of Clos La Boetie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clos La Boetie
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great extras, great service”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel is a very pleasant hotel with luxurious bathrooms and extra bathroom amenities. Very large rooms, bathrooms and free wi-fi. The Carpets and Room decors could use some renewing. I was very surprised by the condition of the carpets in this 5 star rated hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Listu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here and were disappointed from stepping in to the foyer. Not 5 star furnishings or ambience in any way. The garden area looked very shabby, beds were turned on their side and the swimming pool was very small with a pull over cover. The receptionist was pleasant and arranged for our bags to be taken to our room but there was no porter in evidence at any point. The hotel does not have a bar or a restaurant, you cross over the courtyard to the 3star sister hotel for that - and at half the room price you would do as well to stay there. They both share the same pool and garden area. Our room was on the top floor, in the old attic area, and was small and poky, with a view over the street at the house opposite. The room next door had a rather quaint beam across the door entrance which is something I've never seen before. When we checked out there was no enquiry about whether we had enjoyed the stay, just took the money and that was that. When speaking to a couple from the sister hotel they had paid a third of our rate (we paid around 230 euros - without breakfast). Also we had a 12 euro a day charge for parking. Frankly, for this hotel to have achieved a 5 star rating is incredible and needs reviewing. Sarlat is a gorgeous town but very busy in peak season and on reflection we should have stayed outside and travelled in for a day.

Room Tip: Don't take the top floor but be prepared to pay a lot for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel was recommended to us by Railbookers and we are so glad we took their advice.The hotel has 11 unique rooms named after chateaux in the area. We stayed in Hautefort one of their smaller, 'Charming' rooms; even so we had a king size bed, sitting area and well equipped bathroom with two washbasins, whirlpool bath and hydro-massage shower, dressing gowns, slippers and lots of toileteries. Clean sheets each day. We enjoyed the breakfast, a good choice and well-presented. We also enjoyed relaxing in the grounds and using the pool.

The location was perfect for us as it was a leisurely stroll into the bustle of Sarlat but in a quiet area for peace at night.

We loved the fact that it was a small staff who all seemed to cover the different roles at various times; they were incredibly friendly and helpful. Lots of lovely touches - chocolates and a card wishing us sweet dreams each night, a bottle of wine and macaroons when we arrived (they knew it was our wedding anniversary).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, from the beautiful bedroom, and the oh so very comfy luxurious bed, to the gardens where we enjoyed a chilled bubbly in the evening as the sun went down. The staff were wonderful, friendly and could not have done anymore to be of help. The location was handy with only a 10 minute stroll into town. Sarlat is a wonderful town and we were treated so well by all the locals, who not only tolerated my 30 words or less of French, but coached me along with the language. We hired bikes from a small company just around the corner from the park as you entered the town from the hotel, and did a 60 km bike ride to Souillac and back which was terrific and mostly flat, popping into villages along the way.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocowithspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is a nice property well-located just outside the old town and easy walking distance, with good parking even in high season and good ingress and egress for touring. The pool and yard are nice amenities for the heat of summer. But there is a significant range of room prices and, from I can tell, there is no good reason to spend more than the minimum if you can. When you are not out touring the area or Sarlat, the yard is good enough for relaxing and reading. We did not purchase the breakfast here as we found many options for breakfasts in town or in nearby villages, at a fraction of the price.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be close to the centre of Sarlat. Location was perfect. 10 min easy walk into town. Well positioned also for getting out of town for excursions. We never had a problem finding on street parking nearby even in July and didn't use the parking spot we had booked through the hotel. We wandered into town everyday for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed the walk. Sarlat is a beautiful location and really worth 3/4 days (although we were really bored of duck by the 4th day and every restaurant has exactly the same menu!)
On the plus side the rooms were spacious and the 2 rooms we had (Marqueyssac and Milandes) both had small sitting areas in addition to the bedroom area with a second tv. Marqueyssac also had a balcony - nIce to have an outside area for pre dinner drinks, playing cards with the kids and drying our washing but uninspiring view onto neighbouring hotel. The pool was good for the kids and not crowded. We loved the small size of hotel, it was quiet and we hardly saw another guest The beds were especially comfortable and the wifi worked well. I couldn't fault the service - staff were great, receptionist welcoming and helpful and the cleaner even brought our washing in from the balcony when it rained. exceptional.

On the negative side the hotel is very expensive - ranking up here with our hotels in Venice and Rome and I think overpriced. However there is limited accommodation in central Sarlat so I guess they can charge a premium. Breakfast - which we only had once when it was pouring with rain and we didn't feel like walking into town- was unexciting and I wouldn't recommend it. The biggest negative which will probably make me not want to stay here again was that the hotel is not a non smoking hotel and our room smelled of stale smoke so strongly that even after 3 days of all windows open and bathroom fans on the smell still lingered. The children's bedroom (Milandes) on the 3rd floor was much more romantic than Marqueyssac and I would have preferred that to our room even though it was cheaper.

Conclusion - I didn't love this hotel for some reason although I really wanted to.

Room Tip: Milandes for romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kookaburra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
360 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We rented two of the 11 rooms for 4 nights and had a wondeful time. The staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were spacious enough and attractively furnished. The wifi worked well enough, though a bit weak. This small hotel is a little bit of luxury in a locale where it was difficult to find quality accomodations. They had a unique job combination that actually worked well. I.e., the front desk attendant is also the breakfast restaurant waiter, but they pulled it off. The breakfast was delightful. Breads and pastries were fresh and well made, and eggs were prepared perfectly. Coffee came promptly (thankfully). The only nit is that the scales in both rooms did not work because of dead batteries. Either replace the batteries or remove the scales please. But, that is only a nit. The location is close enough to the medieval village for walking accessibility, and far enough away for nighttime peace and quiet. We would stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Selves
Hotel de Selves
#21 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais de Moussidiere
Relais de Moussidiere
#20 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos La Boetie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos La Boetie

Property: Clos La Boetie
Address: 95-97, Avenue de Selves, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clos La Boetie 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOS LA BOETIE brings complete harmony with a luxurious, comfortable and romantic setting. It's modernity and peacefulness, provide and added dream-like quality to the discovery of this region of great cultural and gastronomic wealth.Located in the town centre, this charming XIXth century mansion, a genuine haven of peace, offers you accommodation in stylish decor, filled with antique family furniture and rich fabrics of glistening colours.Louis XV, armchairs, marble fire-places, pedestral tables, low fire-side chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clos La Boetie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos La Boetie Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing