We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country virtues and city quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were charmed by the friendly (and abundant) service, the well designed rooms, and the truly exceptional cleanliness. The hotel delivers first class breakfasts in its dining room, and has a cheerful and welcoming bar, with an excellent wine list. Because of the frigid weather we were not able to try the pool.

Room Tip: A room on the back might be preferable for those susceptible to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

A pleasant 4 star ideally situated at the entrance to the old town. Receptionists were friendly and helpful, our room (executive double) was clean and comfortable with views onto the square. There is a pleasant bar which for some reason doesn't open until 4pm, even for coffee, but there are many bars and restaurants close to the hotel. Don't miss the Saturday market, it's fascinating!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Nice hotel for Sarlat and area. Probably one of the most comfortable. Don't expect a palatial hotel with 100s of rooms this is a smaller luxury hotel in a smaller town. The club suites are very nice for a family as the couch folds out into a bed. The pool and spa area appear decent (see photos). No issue with the staff, all were professional. No doorman to carry your luggage. The breakfast food is good but very little of it is actually baked on premises. The AC was not available yet (we could have used it since it was pretty hot the day we arrived). All in all probably the best hotel for the area and the price is pretty reasonable too.

Room Tip: Club rooms have a nice living room that turns into an extra bed for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Plaza Madeline is not great but comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful and bar is excellent. Try The Irish Coffee. Rooms are adequate although not spacious. This is because it is a converted town home. The only negative for hotel is household staff did not change out glasses routinely and some days the used glasses were stacked up without new ones. I would suggest this be an instruction to the desk on arrival. Wifi works well but shuts down after a period and you log back on. Breakfast is well done and kitchen staff are friendly and attentive.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bajatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This grand old hotel, comfortably renovated with modern touches that blend well, was a perfect location for our group tour's week in Sarlat. It's at the edge of the old town, on the main street (for tour bus access), across the street from a tabac and 8 a Huit (like a 7-11; under renovation when we were there), five minutes from dozens of restaurants and the market square.

We had a room on the top floor, with one tiny gable window, and elected to switch to a larger one with two floor to ceiling windows. Both fronted on the main street but the windows didn't let much noise in, even on market day. Storage space was limited and we couldn't completely unpack, even in the larger room which had two small drawers in addition to some shelves. Rooms were well air conditioned. The shower had no soap dish.

Breakfast offered a normal selection for a three star hotel: only three cereal choices, for example, but a number of fresh breads to cut, steam table scrambled eggs, bacon and tomato, and an egg boiler to cool hard or soft eggs to taste. The selection didn't vary from day to day.

The front desk was not always staffed, but hotel staff were always helpful when we found them, and service in the breakfast room was excellent. Everyone had serviceable if occasionally limited English.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed one night. The good news is that the room was good, nicely decorated, spotless, good heating system. Bathroom could have been more modern, but was fine. The spa was a good feature, but when we got there the lights were off and and the sauna was cold. We had to go to the reception (in dressing gowns) to get help.
Service was mixed, we had two very competent and pleasant front of house people, but were welcomed to the hotel by a pinch-faced, unwelcoming, unsmiling receptionist who started the whole visit off to a terrible start (manager, we arrived at 12 on the 13th of March). Welcoming people is not hard, and the least you expect turning up at a 4**** hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MacGlockenditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

A nice building , a great location ,very convenient to explore the city on foot ( too bad the parking is not included if you have a car) ,the Spa is cute ( but too small ),it was Ok since it was the low season but I'm afraid it must be very crowded during the high season ! and I guess the swimming pool too since it is a tiny one,! for the rest everything was ok

Room Tip: A nice building , a great location ,very convenient to explore the city on foot ( too bad there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driver-Guide-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Selves
Hotel de Selves
#23 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Madeleine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Address: 1 Place Petite Rigaudie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £112 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Madeleine & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is an exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sarlat with direct access to the medieval city with its mansions & monuments, markets, shops & restaurants, shows & events streets .... PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is the privilege of the city center a wellness area with heated pool, jacuzzi, Hamman, sauna, solarium ... The property is fully air conditioned and offers free high-speed WiFi. The hotel also offers a garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Madeleine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine And Spa
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing