We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel. Stylish decor. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and were very sorry to leave. The hotel is ideally located on the edge of the historic centre of Sarlat and it was lovely to come back after a day of sightseeing to cool off in the pool and enjoy the spa. To then be able to stroll into town to a restaurant in the evening made our stay even more relaxing.
The hotel is beautifully decorated, our room was very spacious and we had super views over the square at the front of the hotel. There is also secure car-parking available which is a real bonus as every off street parking space near the hotel was metered.
Breakfast was a real treat - it ranks amongst the best for me.

Room Tip: A room at the front offers good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I liked the friendly people at the desk. They seemed to appreciate my efforts to speak French even if they could speak English. But it is the location that is the main asset of this hotel. Sarlat is a very popular town with tourists. It was nice to be able to walk around the pretty town whenever we felt like it. We also enjoyed the pool at the end of the day. It even has a jacuzzi next to it.

The room was small but it did have a lot of outlets for charging gadgets. The bathroom was super small with a stamp sized shower stall. On the first day, the toilet button got stuck and it kept flushing. This was immediately remedied. I also had a difficult time figuring out the controls in the shower for hot and cold water. I did not like the bathroom at all.

Breakfast had a decent variety of food. However, the coffee was never hot.

Though not perfect, we would probably return for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

1) Great location 1 min walk to the old town
2) Great pool and spar for hot summer day
3) Room size was fine with nice decor
4)Good garage parking at a reasonable 12 euro

All round good choice and not to costly. If you don't fancy duck or fois gras for dinner try Pizza Romane, it's great !

Stayed: July 2014
Thank callcentreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are confortable but bathroom have not been renovated. Very old style and they turn to in-room swimming pool whenever having a shower. If you get room number 109. Ask to change, you will be frustruated if you keep it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank titus_ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent three nights here in June. Excellent location near the old town, reasonably easy to get to round the one way system and a secure gated car park about five minutes walk away. The hotel is clean and well furnished and has a small pool and sunbathing area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I'm enjoying my third stay here in two years……and we have stayed elsewhere in Sarlat….one hotel was recommended to me by one of the most famous hoteliers in the UK and it was chaos…..I can't review it given the recommendation but suffice to say service there was chaotic and all night noise from a nearby bar was appalling.

One arrives at the Plaza Madeleine to instant parking directly outside the front door for unloading…even on market day on a Saturday (just move aside the barrier at the top of the square) and check-in is instant if you pre booked…..nothing to do but collect your key. For parking…use the hotel garage just an easy two side streets away….30 seconds drive or a two minute walk. This car park is secure and extremely together. If you have a very large or expensive car, ask for space No 21…..it is wide….easy access…on it's own…covered…superb. There are also some other easy spaces for large cars but 21 is the best.

I made the mistake of leaving the Plaza Madeleine earlier this week for a two day stay in a supposedly great hotel 35 miles away……for a couple of days with my daughter….it was horrible…we left a day early and were overjoyed to manage to get the very last room today back at the Plaza Madeleine. The pool at the hotel we escaped from today was really nasty…the pool here is lovely, tiled, clean, warm…a delight.

The staff at Plaza Madeleine are all superb but a special mention must go to Katheleen who is absolutely terrific….way ahead of the curve….patient with new guests….explains everything clearly…is a one-woman concierge with great recommendations…..she made our stay. Everything in the hotel is smart/modern/works well/is very clean/high quality…..I really did not expect any hotel in a small medieval town to be this good. Why it isn't NO 1 on Tripadvisor is just beyond me. It isn't that expensive however there are no doubt very many really good budget hotels around…..but you get what you pay for and if you want to enjoy Sarlat….and a Spa…..and have it easy….you get what you pay for and this is where to stay.

I particularly want to mention the superb Wi--Fi…..the perfect location in Sarlat and also the terrific, well-though out accommodation and superb air conditioning. The last hotel I stayed at in the area (see review posted earlier today) could learn a lot from the Plaza Madeleine.

I 100% recommend this hotel especially if you are visiting your daughter at school locally!

Room Tip: Get parking space 21 if you have a "special" car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Plaza Madeleine for four nights in May and used Sarlat as our home in the Dordogne, Perigord Noir. From here we could get to many of the prehistoric sites near Les Eyzies and to some of the beautiful small villages in France.

The hotel was lovely, nicely appointed with a friendly bar which was a great place to stop after a day of sightseeing, Just off the main square from the center of the old town, it is a very easy walk to a number of restaurants.

Our room was quite nice and had a large, new bath. Even though we overlooked the main street, it was still very quiet. The breakfast buffet was also well done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarlat-la-Caneda
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clos La Boetie
Clos La Boetie
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Madeleine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Address: 1 Place Petite Rigaudie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £113 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Madeleine & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is an exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sarlat with direct access to the medieval city with its mansions & monuments, markets, shops & restaurants, shows & events streets .... PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is the privilege of the city center a wellness area with heated pool, jacuzzi, Hamman, sauna, solarium ... The property is fully air conditioned and offers free high-speed WiFi. The hotel also offers a garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Madeleine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madeleine And Spa
Plaza Madeleine Hotel
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing