We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location plus”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison du Notaire Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just loved this place. After a recommendation from friends I contacted Monsieur Toulemon and straight away received personalised service. This never ceased. We spent seven days in Sarlat, where we met up with long time friends from Wales. We all love to drive exploring hidden villages, historical sites and back roads. Every morning Pierre Henri would suggest an itinerary, all of which were fascinating. The building itself is very old but very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and we had everything we needed: fridge, a vast collection of books and brochures and more. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the main square which was busy day and night. Always something to look at: markets, performers, locals, tourists and more. Breakfasts were always interesting with Pierre Henri's eclectic collection of teapots and milk jugs! If you are looking for a reasonably priced bed in the heart of beautiful Sarlat, you cannot go past La Maison du Notaire Royal.

Room Tip: Talk to Pierre Henri regarding your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bretlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Pierre-Henri helpfulness was very welcome following a flight delay causing us to arrive a day late. The following morning we ate breakfast with a view of the wonderful Saturday market. Light streamed in from a large window as we feasted on market purchases spread on a large table near fireplace in our downstairs room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppernc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a fabulously old and beautiful B&B. A little hard to find up a tiny street directly in the centre of the old town. Surrounded by lovely restaurants and a lively square. Large rooms, origional features and a place to store bikes if you need storage for these.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Tapis Vert

Tapis Vert 1 is a 3 bedroom cottage just outside the medieval centre of Sarlat, it takes about 2 minutes to get to the top of rue Fenelon which runs down to la Place de la Liberté. We have complete independent living as the kitchen is fully equipped and there is washing machine!! Heaven for long term travelers. Also we have enjoyed the large sunny and private garden with outdoor table and chairs. Pierre-Henri Toulemon has been marvelously helpful with travel arrangements and with all kinds of advice and information, where to go etc.
Assistance. In particular, one of our friends had an accident in town, and Pierre-Henri came with his car, took her to hospital, and helped running round getting surgical apparatus etc. This kindness was above and beyond the call of duty! And he came straight around when we needed instructions about the washing machine and stove.
It's at the bottom of Chemin des Monges, for us it was a an easy contour bike ride from the railway station, though most travelers would need to get the key from Pierre-Henri at 4 Rue Magnanat which is a few mins walk away. There is parking for 3 cars easily though we have none...
It's not really cheap but everything is of very good quality and represents excellent value for money compared with other accommodation in Sarlat, which after all is a global tourist hotspot like Cuzco, Venice etc. The privacy, amenity and home-like enjoyment is priceless.
Our only problem was no wifi, however you can walk a few minutes to Pierre-Henri's on rue Magnamat and connect there...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to be right in the medieval town. Our room was large and the bed comfortable enough. Good shower. Lighting in the room was rather poor and the heat was only turned on at night. Since it was cold and rainy during our stay the room wasn't a very inviting refuge during the day. Breakfast was typical fare of croissants, bread, coffee. Good value for this particular area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYA6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at La Maison du Notaire Royal May 9-15 and had a terrific experience. My room facing the front lawn was bright, clean and comfortable, with antique furniture and a sparkling bathroom. The setting is lovely and M. Touleman was knowledgeable and very helpful with helping me find what I needed. I enjoyed the breakfasts of delicious bread and coffee. My stay in Sarlat was delightful in every way and I got to see what I came for--caves, castles and scenery.

Room Tip: Room 4 has great windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janices8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Looking over the main square in Sarlat a house with 3 B&B room sin a house built in stages from the 15th Century
Full of character.
Friendly hosts with a nice breakfast and lots of friendly local advice and knowledge
Free parking out of season, not sure in high season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
599 reviews
4.1 mi away
Les Filolies
Les Filolies
#1 of 2 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Notaire Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Notaire Royal

Address: 4 rue Magnanat | accès routier par le 10bis du boulevard Nessmann, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £50 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My residence will welcome you in the heart of the medieval city which is the first town in France fot its density of historic monuments per hectare. Built upon XIIth century foundations, my dwelling is composed of 3 separate houses brought together by a front portal in the XVIIth century as well as a flight of stairs situated on the very place of an ancient blind alley leading to the ramparts.A garden and a private terrace give you access to the bedrooms throught the passing of the ancient rempart of the medieval city. Grounfloor self-contained entrance, no staircase to have access to the bedroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing