We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Montaigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montaigne
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Biarritz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nice hotel. Good value for money and on a very central location. Allas there is only a (payed) public parking space available.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    95
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
93
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Once again I had difficulty with driving so I parked and walked. I found the hotel quite easily on foot and the owners were wonderful and very helpful. I drove the car down and parked out the front in a pay park which is cheap. I stayed here two nights.

The hotel had a damp smell when I entered, although that disappeared so it may have been a water issue. There was another problem with water but it was fixed overnight. There is a fair sized lift as well as stairs and the room is a good size - a double for me - very clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom with toiletries and warming towel rack!!

The TV has 2 English stations; the area is quiet as is the room. No view - just the side road but I have a cheaper room. Although I can see the square out front and it is pleasant hanging out the window looking at the street. Even though it is March the weather is warm and sunny.

The hosts also helped me to find my way around to the caves and gave me information about where to find things in the town. I also did an audio walking tour of Sarlat - very interesting!!

The old town is about 3 mins walk past a post office. A good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussiesue102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrèze, Limousin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were only going to be in Sarlat for one night and chose this hotel for its location, which was excellent - easily accessible by car, yet easy walking distance from the old town. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfectly adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike4kerstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We booked a double and a family room for a three night stay at Sarlat. The location of the hotel was excellent. It faces a public parking that is free at night, but not during the day. Since we spent most of our days visiting the area, that wasn't much of a problem. When were there during the day we found street parking on the little one-way street that runs behind the parking lot and along side the hotel. It is just a couple of minutes to walk through the wall to the old town. There are several excellent bakeries and a small grocery within a few minutes walk. It is an ideal location to stroll into Sarlat for dinner and to enjoy the old city beautifully lit with gas lights at night.

The hotel rooms were very clean. They were basic, but pleasant. The beds were comfortable. While the couple at the desk were very pleasant, when we mentioned several times that there wasn't enough hot water for more than a tepid bath, they said all the water came from a central heater and volunteered to show us that the water in the kitchen was hot. That didn't make our baths or showers any warmer. Except for that, we loved the hotel as a base for visiting the town. Because of that, however, I hesitated between the four stars I have given and three.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We found this hotel just about as good as we wanted had we set down the conditions. Location is great. Only a block from the Old Town of Sarlat, right near a busstop, managers who treated us as family, a clean, quiet and comfortable room, no pressure to take breakfast in their dining room and useful help with planning acrtivities in the area, like kayaking on the Dordogne.
We kept extending our stay and even though the hotel was busy and what appeared to be full, we were able to keep the same room all the time we stayed there.
We would go back and stay in the same hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Up high and in the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We loved this hotel and didn't want to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we had there. The owners, Jean and Armelle, are sweethearts, so helpful and nice. We paid less for this room than any of the other 5 hotels on our trip, and we liked it the best.

We arrived at night (we were driving from Paris) and on the way I realized that their office wouldn't be open by the time we would get there. In a panic, we called them from a pay phone to let them know we'd be late. Jean told us not to worry, he would just give us the code to get into the building, and where to find our room key on their desk. Already I was impressed!!

Our room and bathroom were very good size for a hotel in Europe, and the breakfast buffet was very good. Excellent service from all the staff, we really felt at home there.

By arriving tired and later at night, we didn't know about the parking situation and unfortunately got a ticket. Jean was so apologetic, and we could see we weren't the only ones to get a ticket -- far from it. But it wasn't his fault, we didn't even see him until too late the next morning to have made a difference, and it was our fault we didn't see the signs. He helped us a lot by giving us the information we needed to pay the ticket (at a smoke shop!) We appreciated his help, as it was all a bit strange to us.

We visited the Lascaux caves (wonderful!!) and the Castelnaud Chateau. We love the Dordogne Valley, Sarlat, and the Hotel Montaigne! We hope to get back some day and spend more time there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in Hotel Montaigne as part of a small group tour, and this was probably my favourite hotel of the trip. It helped that we got a lovely room (14, as I recall). The room was on a corner facing the street, which meant we got a little balcony. It also had very good airconditioning, nice furnishings, beautiful heavy drapes, and scarily good lighting when the drapes were closed (there was some light and noise from the street with them open).

The hotel is just outside Sarlat village but only a couple of minutes walk straight into the main centre of town. I'd book this hotel again if I returned to Sarlat (and who could miss enjoying all that ducky goodness again?)

Room Tip: Room 14 was a beautiful corner room on the first floor with a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montaigne

Property: Hotel Montaigne
Address: 2 Place Pasteur, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing