We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montaigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montaigne
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Melbourne
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed five nights using Sarlat as a base for touring the region by car. The hotel is managed by a delightful and welcoming couple who always offered a friendly smile. The hotel is well located and just a short walk into the medieval area. There is a large car park immediately in front of the hotel with payment required during the daytime but I always managed to park in the nearby side street. The WIFI was excellent and can't comment on breakfast as we always ate out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sendtofrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    94
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
91
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Montaigne and rented two rooms for our family of four. The hotel is well-located in Sarlat just a block from the pedestrian zone with its restaurants and shops. Our rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. There was some street noise from the plaza (a very long and very loud argument) during our first night, but other than that, the hotel was very quiet. We heard no noise from other rooms within the hotel.

However, a couple of things about the hotel made it not a good fit for our family. For one thing, they give you only one key per room, and it must be used to turn on the electricity in the room. The key card is narrower than a standard credit card, so you can't use the trick of slipping in a credit card instead to keep the lights on. If one person wants to go out, they either take the key and leave the remaining person in the dark or they leave the only key behind. This might not be a problem if the hotel's front door were not locked at 8 PM each night. But it is locked every night, and you need your room key to get back into the building after that time. We found this very inconvenient, and one of my sons got locked outside one night and was stuck out there for a while. There is no one at the front desk after 8 PM, either, so be aware of this if you plan a later arrival and make prior arrangements with the management. The hotel has free wifi that requires a separate code for each device. The manager seemed a bit put out when I asked for 4 codes for the four members of our family and asked me "How many computers do you have?" He gave me the codes, but I don't understand why my request was questioned, since so many people now travel with smart phones and/or tablets. Breakfast was okay, but they ration the croissants, bringing a basket with one per person to your table. You can easily pick up breakfast for a couple of euros at one of the bakeries in town if you prefer, which is what our sons did.

Also, if you are driving, be aware that there is parking in the plaza in front of the hotel where you can leave your car at night, but it is pay only and with time limits during the day. The narrow side street next to the hotel has free parking, but if you have a large rental car (as we did for our family and luggage), it may not be possible to find a space. There is also a free parking lot about two blocks farther down the street, which we used. It's a poorly-marked gravel lot next to a vacant building, and it looked a bit dicey, but we used it without incident.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Run by a lovely couple who are always friendly and helpful, this is an exceptionally well located hotel which offers spacious rooms, large comfortable beds and the opportunity to enjoy the delights of Sarlat. The guidance provided by the staff enabled us to experience a superb canoe trip on the Dordogne River, eat at quality restaraunts and sort our future travel arrangements with a minimum of fuss.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Hotel Montaigne is in an excellent location, facing onto Place Louis Pasteur, which is just where main street shops and eateries begin, is near Post Office and Gendarmerie and a few minutes walk from the tourist office and town centre, and is where intra-regional buses stop, Ophorus day tours start and there is parking.

Hotel service was distinctly uneven. Monsieur was welcoming when we arrived; we were frustrated and worn out from having to trudge the uneven / often broken up or missing footpaths the 1.1km from the station to the hotel (after phoning five of the ten taxis listed at the station and being told none were or would be free).* Monsieur was helpful during our stay and when we left, offering and taking us to the station, to Madame’s evident displeasure, after she had unsuccessfully phoned three taxi companies and told us we would have to walk.

We had booked a room with ‘grand lit’ and were given one with twin beds but we accepted these without comment. The beds were a good size and comfortable, the room and bathroom quite spacious. Our windows looked out onto the square, Place Pasteur, which gave us an outlook, and it was quiet enough that we didn’t need to close the double-glazed windows at night.

Breakfast was served by Monsieur in a pleasant room and there was a good choice.

* AVOID Sarlat as an independent tourist unless you have a car (or a bicycle on which you can carry your luggage) or are able and prepared to go into, out of and around town on foot, whether with your luggage or without. There are no local buses and taxis are not prepared to take local fares, including to meet trains.

NB: If you travel by train to Souillac and then by ‘Autocar’ (bus) from Souillac railway station to Sarlat: check with the bus driver - apparently the bus goes on from Gare SNCF at Sarlat to Place Louis Pasteur but our driver did not let us know this.

There are nine or ten taxi numbers listed on a signboard at the railway station, apparently all independent (hence individual phone calls required – at great expense if you’re using your mobile phone on ‘global roaming’) but on a Saturday afternoon none were prepared to take tourists from the railway station into town. Nor from the centre of Sarlat to the station on a Monday morning.

We were informed that the taxi drivers will take fares to other towns / villages but won’t do trips to/from local hotels and the station because the €5 fares are just not worth their while.

Other tourists we spoke to had experienced the same thing and been given the same information. Yes, “it is a small town”, but with so many tourists; presumably the vast majority of visitors either have their own transport or are on organised tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

It was our first visit to Sarlat, and we wanted something simple with no frills but near the old town. This ticked every box. The huge bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in, and while the rooms are basic they offered everything required, including a decent selection of tv channels. Everything was spotlessly clean. The owners were extremely helpful- providing maps and instructions on what to see. I can't comment on breakfast as we prefer to search out local cafes, but it is available from 8.00 in the morning. The hotel location is excellent, with parking outside so easy to enjoy this beautiful town. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights with tour group. Nice sized rooms....we had a corner room which was nice. Great bed and clean bathroom although a bit skimpy on soap and shampoo....it was not replenished during our stay. Breakfasts were pretty average...nothing really special. The couple that run this hotel work very hard and are very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed there and a female staff was extremely rude and made me feel very unwelcome. Rooms are great and spacious and quiet. The wifi connection is good and free. Good location to go down the street.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lil_tag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Compostelle
Hotel de Compostelle
#20 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montaigne

Property: Hotel Montaigne
Address: 2 Place Pasteur, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing