We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starlet of Sarlat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Starlet of Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were fortunate to secure a booking at Les Cordeliers for 7 days this July. Due to the understandably heavy bookings for this superb B&B, we ended up staying in Room No. 3 for 2 nights and Room No. 4 for 5 nights. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished, elegantly decorated and featured modern ensuite bathrooms with standing showers (including Villeroy and Boch fittings). Room No. 4 was bigger and had exposed beams which lent an added sense of warmth to the space but really both rooms were spacious and elegant. The pictures on the website do provide a fair impression of what the rooms are like. It was also very convenient to have good WiFi coverage in both rooms (even in Room No. 4 on the second floor), without having to trudge down to the ground floor as is the case with some other hotels and B&Bs.

There are so many things which set Les Cordeliers apart, from the delicious breakfasts to the carpark that Chris somehow manages to find in front of the hotel for most arriving guests as well as the complimentary pantry and laundry service that are uniquely offered as mentioned by previous reviewers. One morning, we were leaving very early to queue for the limited daily tickets at Grotte de Font De Gaume (in July, if you do not have reservations, it is safest to try and get there by 7.30AM ahead of the 9.30AM opening time). Not only was an early breakfast prepared but Chris also armed us with a flask of hot tea knowing that we had a long wait ahead of us in chilly morning weather before the ticket counters opened. At the end of the day, the main highlights of Les Cordeliers stem from the genuinely kind and gentle disposition of the owners who take it upon themselves to ensure that their guests are very well looked after once they have stepped through the doors of their charming home in Sarlat. Thank you Chris, Amanda (and bubbly Sandy) for making us feel so welcome in Les Cordeliers and for all the little touches that go such a long way.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
353
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is definitely a very good place to stay in the Dordogne. Fabulous comments have been made about Chris who tries his very best to offer outstanding service and this B&B is very central in this pretty town but beware that this B&B doesn’t have its own car park & for that reason is not ideal if you are disabled. There would also be significant problems for anybody with a wheelchair who struggles with many stairs. Chris is excellent helping everybody with their cases but I know a few people who would find climbing to the top floor very daunting.
We found the air conditioning a real plus, especially on hot summer days when the windows (with double glazing) could be kept shut & the traffic noise from the street below shut out!!!
The Wi-Fi system also worked well & very easy to use without having to register before signing on each time & I wish more establishments in the World would follow suit. We found our bed room clean but the bathroom didn’t quite achieve the high standards we have received in the Premier Inn we visit in Cardiff, Wales. Overall a fine place to stay in this beautiful part of France with the owners & the very friendly Sandy (who helps with serving breakfast) making it certainly worth considering when contemplating where to lodge in Sarlat-la-Caneda,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crackling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This B&B has character, great location and amazing service. The rooms where very spacious, clean and comfortable. The quad room we stayed in had a king size bed and large bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of variety, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, eggs made to order, cheeses, cold cuts and croissants, etc. They also have a little snack bar available to guests for water , coffee, tea, wine, beer, pop and other snacks. Guests can also put some of their personnal items in the refridgirator. The owners also provided us with great touring advice and incredible service. They even offered and did a load of laundry for us. Furthermore they allowed us to use their computer. Finally, the location was walking distance to the Medieval village and easily accessible to all the nearby attractions. This was one of the best places we have stayed at in Europe and highly recommend it iif you plan on visiting Sarlat. It is truly a gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamamimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Perfect location and perfect hosts. We have visited Sarlat from Australia several times and this B&B is head and shoulders above all others where we have stayed. Can't agree more with what others have written. Typical was our arrival. Host Chris had reserved a car space for us immediately opposite but, because of the one-way streets, we needed to circle the main part of town to get back to that spot. Obligingly he jumped into our car and directed us around town and back to that parking spot. Then there was our laundry. It was done for us free of charge and conveniently left in our room. And the bed. It was by far the best we have slept in for a long time, large and super comfortable. If we make it back to Sarlat we will definitely be staying at Le Cordoliers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My friends and I found a bit of Britain in this wonderful hotel in the Dordogne region. Chris and Amanda are gracious hosts who preside over Les Cordeliers, a hotel that stands right at the center of Sarlat. You can walk into the medieval city and lose yourself among winding streets and ancient churches, covered markets and artisan cheese, truffle, and wine shops for hours. When you return, your spacious room with a-c beckons, plus a little communal room which houses coffee, wine, beer, soda, water, and treats like nuts and ginger cookies. Breakfast in the downstairs dining room is another generous spread that begins with Chris or Sandy showing you the orange squeezer that is giving you the most delicious glass of orange juice you've ever tasted. Chris explains that each glass contains about 3-4 oranges. Heavenly! There are the traditional sausage, ham, and cheese platters, yogurt, fruit, croissants and baguettes, but Chris also cooks eggs to order. I'm still dreaming about his poached eggs; they're perfect every time! He has suggestions for day trips if you are interested; we were and were very happy with our canoe trip down the Dordogne. We paddled and saw chateaux, then stopped the canoe and had lunch before returning to the river. We saw herons and muskrats, hawks and lots of people sharing the waters with us, but no one was ever in anyone's way. The river seems to agree that vacations are meant to meander. From Sarlat, one has access to vineyards and places like Josephine Baker's chateau that are both beautiful and historically so rich that you keep writing names and dates down to research further when you return home. We took a walk away from the medieval city and found one of Sarlat's best restaurants, L'Octroi. Everything we tried on the menu was outstanding; go early though, they run out quickly, and it's sad to watch your favorite dish be crossed out from the blackboard menu! Sarlat is a great place from which to explore the Dordogne region and Les Cordeliers is the best hotel there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deirdre bioethi... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (sojourning)
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This B&B is brilliantly located. The rooms are stunning and large and the owners cannot do enough to help. There was a kitchenette to make tea and coffee, with water and soft drinks and nibbles also provided. Breakfast was excellent value and we really cannot fault our stay at all. If you can get in, even if only for 1 night, it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Thank you Chris, Amanda, and Sandy for your warmth and hospitality!!! We LOVED our stay with you in Sarlat. You well deserve the recognition, the trip advisor reviews were helpful and incredibly accurate in your case!!
We stayed for four nights in late May and early June 2012, and loved every moment once we settled into our lovely (and huge room) and set out to explore the sites nearby. You have a perfect location, lovely, spacious rooms, and a huge heart. Good on you!!!!!!!! Jane and Eric, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing