We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in late October. It is very well situated in the corner of a small square with a fountain, just outside the medieval centre of the town. There happened to be a free parking lot right in front of the building, but we also noted a public parking a little further down the street.

The B&B is not big and very well maintained, it has this very pleasant ‘home’ feeling to it, not least because of the very friendly hosts. Our room was very spacious and bright, with a French window opening onto the square. There was some traffic but we weren’t bothered by the noise. The bathroom was exceptionally clean, modern and nice. There was no TV in our room (a bit unusual but absolutely not essential for us) but there was gratuitous WiFi. The breakfast was very good to our taste: orange juice, yoghurts, cheese, some fruits, pastry and eggs cooked personally by Chris (the host).

The town itself is very well worth a visit (its ancient part is not big and you will see all of it in less than half a day) and there are plenty of good places to eat. The medieval quarter is divided in two parts by the central street, which is renovated in a somewhat garish way and thus strikes a discordant note with the rest of the quarter, but there are some nice shops on it.

The surrounding region is quite interesting and the countryside is beautiful. One place we especially enjoyed was the Chateau de Beynac. We went there early in the morning and found ourselves perched on a cliff above the river valley completely submerged in mist, with only the hilltops cropping up above this sea of white. The picture was absolutely striking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our group of 4 ladies had the joy of staying at Chris and Amanda's beautiful establishment mid October. After a long train journey from Paris we were met at the train station by Chris. The rooms are delightful - very spacious, clean and modern and of course the breakfast is fabulous - fresh orange juice, etc etc. Access to the kitchenette is a real bonus at the end of the day and was totally unexpected. Our hosts went way beyond the usual service I have ever experienced in my 30 years of travel. When we asked to extend our stay and they could not accomodate us they even went to the trouble of finding us somewhere else for the 2 extra nights and even took our luggage down there for us - I might add the place they found for us was nowhere near the standard afforded to us at Les Cordeliers. I wish Chris and Amanda all the very best in their new establishment which I'm sure will be of the same high standard and even better with parking available at the door. I will certainly be advising any friends who visit this region to stay at Les Cordeliers for a lovely experience. Anne, Australia

Room Tip: The lower rooms have less stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this superb B&B in Sarlat for 5 nights in September. Les Cordeliers is ideally located for a short stroll to Sarlat's Medieval Cite. Chris and Amanda made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They found us a parking space right outside the front door, helped us with our luggage and recommended and booked restaurants for us. The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean and decorated to the highest of standards. It was a blessing to come back to our luxury room after a long day of sightseeing. We also had the use of the kitchenette, where you can help yourself to the coffee machine, complimentary snacks, beers, wine and various soft drinks. Breakfast was amazing and beautifully presented, the best we have had whilst travelling throughout France. Apart from the usual baguette and pastries, you are served freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, a cold meats and cheese platter, a plethora of jams and honey, cereals and best of all... "the eggs". Chris cooks the eggs to order. Your have a choice of boiled, fried, poached or scrambled, all served with cereal toast. Thank you Chris and Amanda for making our trip to Sarlat a memorable and wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at Les Cordeliers after lunch on market day. Chris helped us locate a parking spot and helped with our luggage. The room was large and very comfortable with a view over the square. Breakfasts were very good and Chris and Amanda gave us great advice for restaurants and things to do. Next trio to Sarlat we would stay with them again.
Evan and Norma Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights in this wonderful B&B on the edge of the old city. Believe what the other reviewers have said, this place is fantastic! Chris and Amanda are the consumate hosts and have thought of everything. While their breakfasts are very special, one of the best features of Les Cordeliers is the snack room for those special cravings any time of the day or night. Our favorite was the wonderful espresso machine for making your own custom brew......
Do yourself a favor, stay here when visiting Sarlat and surrounding areas!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorman1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are four Aussie ladies while travelling South France had the opportunity and pleasure of staying at this fantastic Bed and Breakfast.
We were welcomed as friends on arrival and left 3 days later feeling spoilt and refreshed.
The breakfast is terrific with very friendly service. The freshly squeezed orange juice as you watch, the cereal of many choices and eggs and toast along with much more.
The large rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. All right next door to the main square of the old medieval city.
Congratulations Chris and Amanda on a friendly, professionally run business you do a FANTASTIC job.
The 4 Aussies

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My friends and I spent five nights at this delightful B & B in Sarlat in late September this year. I can only reiterate the comments of other guests: exceptional breakfasts, very comfortable beds with fresh, clean linens, helpful suggestions for dining and touring, and a perfect location for visiting the medieval part of town and gaining easy access to the roads leading out to tourist destinations. Service with a personal touch!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £74 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing