We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful B&B in great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful B&B in great location”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Les Cordeliers for 5 nights in early September on the start of our 7 week Frence honeymoon (what bliss, wish we were doing it all over again) and this B&B certainyl was one of our stand out accomodations.

Chris was very welcoming and full of the typical british sarcasm that aussies 'get', and was really very helpful in his suggestions and recommendations. The room was SO spacious, and the beds very comfortable. I loved the bathroom with its bveautiful bathtub, although if we'd booked sooner we would probably have requested one of the rooms with a shower (hard to wash long hair in a bath!).

location is ideal for visiting, a short stroll to the old cite and the restaurants, whilst mostly selling the same types of meals, were overall very good and we thoroughly enjoyed overloading on duck and sarladaise potatoes....

breakky was, as everyone else indicates, fabulous and the addition of eggs to the typical french breakfast is great, we did miss our eggs for breakfast as we continuetd our travels.

finally, they were helpfuly enough to do a load of washing for us. truly, it was a great spot, in a great spot, and great value. highly recommend but get in quick, they book up :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PonderingPerthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    30
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
361
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarlat France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here and though it was the end of the season Chris really looked after us. The rooms are spacious and really comfortable. The access to coffee and snacks really is very unique in terms of B&Bs. The other great service is that your laundry is catered for in the service. Parking is a minor issue but considering the central location of this venue it is a compromise that one needs to make in this very old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco calif
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Les Cordeliers was a wonderful stay for us. The B & B is very centrally located with lovely rooms,that are spacious and spotless. We were treated so beautifully by Chris and Amanda, who directed us to lots of great restaurants and sites. For our 4 night stay, each morning was a delight to be seated for breakfast. As others have said, they are amazing!! Chris puts out such beautiful fruits, juices, hot drinks, salmon, breads, croissants, eggs cooked to order, and even found a special flavor of yogurt for us...amazing! The even did our laundry, which was totally awesome!! When you plan to go to Sarlat, run to make a reservation at this lovely B & B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewtheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in late October. It is very well situated in the corner of a small square with a fountain, just outside the medieval centre of the town. There happened to be a free parking lot right in front of the building, but we also noted a public parking a little further down the street.

The B&B is not big and very well maintained, it has this very pleasant ‘home’ feeling to it, not least because of the very friendly hosts. Our room was very spacious and bright, with a French window opening onto the square. There was some traffic but we weren’t bothered by the noise. The bathroom was exceptionally clean, modern and nice. There was no TV in our room (a bit unusual but absolutely not essential for us) but there was gratuitous WiFi. The breakfast was very good to our taste: orange juice, yoghurts, cheese, some fruits, pastry and eggs cooked personally by Chris (the host).

The town itself is very well worth a visit (its ancient part is not big and you will see all of it in less than half a day) and there are plenty of good places to eat. The medieval quarter is divided in two parts by the central street, which is renovated in a somewhat garish way and thus strikes a discordant note with the rest of the quarter, but there are some nice shops on it.

The surrounding region is quite interesting and the countryside is beautiful. One place we especially enjoyed was the Chateau de Beynac. We went there early in the morning and found ourselves perched on a cliff above the river valley completely submerged in mist, with only the hilltops cropping up above this sea of white. The picture was absolutely striking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our group of 4 ladies had the joy of staying at Chris and Amanda's beautiful establishment mid October. After a long train journey from Paris we were met at the train station by Chris. The rooms are delightful - very spacious, clean and modern and of course the breakfast is fabulous - fresh orange juice, etc etc. Access to the kitchenette is a real bonus at the end of the day and was totally unexpected. Our hosts went way beyond the usual service I have ever experienced in my 30 years of travel. When we asked to extend our stay and they could not accomodate us they even went to the trouble of finding us somewhere else for the 2 extra nights and even took our luggage down there for us - I might add the place they found for us was nowhere near the standard afforded to us at Les Cordeliers. I wish Chris and Amanda all the very best in their new establishment which I'm sure will be of the same high standard and even better with parking available at the door. I will certainly be advising any friends who visit this region to stay at Les Cordeliers for a lovely experience. Anne, Australia

Room Tip: The lower rooms have less stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this superb B&B in Sarlat for 5 nights in September. Les Cordeliers is ideally located for a short stroll to Sarlat's Medieval Cite. Chris and Amanda made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They found us a parking space right outside the front door, helped us with our luggage and recommended and booked restaurants for us. The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean and decorated to the highest of standards. It was a blessing to come back to our luxury room after a long day of sightseeing. We also had the use of the kitchenette, where you can help yourself to the coffee machine, complimentary snacks, beers, wine and various soft drinks. Breakfast was amazing and beautifully presented, the best we have had whilst travelling throughout France. Apart from the usual baguette and pastries, you are served freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, a cold meats and cheese platter, a plethora of jams and honey, cereals and best of all... "the eggs". Chris cooks the eggs to order. Your have a choice of boiled, fried, poached or scrambled, all served with cereal toast. Thank you Chris and Amanda for making our trip to Sarlat a memorable and wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at Les Cordeliers after lunch on market day. Chris helped us locate a parking spot and helped with our luggage. The room was large and very comfortable with a view over the square. Breakfasts were very good and Chris and Amanda gave us great advice for restaurants and things to do. Next trio to Sarlat we would stay with them again.
Evan and Norma Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers b&b
Les Cordeliers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing