We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Situated right next to old sarlat makes this place very special. Lots of good restaurants with in a few minutes walk. The old town is incredible especially at night time when all lit up. Bedrooms were extremely large, which was a delight after coming from paris. Very comfortable rooms and very generous provisions in the communal kitchen. Things we didn't like was the lack of car parking and no television which we enjoy after a solid days walking, all in all though seven nights was thoroughly enjoyed in this wonderful part of France.

Room Tip: Room #5 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Daii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    30
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
370
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My Husband & I stayed at Les Cordeliers for 3 nights. What a lovely place! Our room was No. 6 which was very spacious, clean & bright with ample cupboard space. The bathroom was clean & modern.
Chris, the English owner, was very friendly & welcoming. To add to the enjoyment of the stay, there were complimentary nibblies, drinks, etc, which was greatly appreciated.
The breakfasts were just lovely with heaps of food to choose from, both hot & cold. Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice which Chris did in his nifty machine!
Sarlat was a lovely town, & our accommodation just added that little extra to our trip.
We would have no hesitation in staying at Les Cordeliers again.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 (think it was a Queen size bed, very comfortable) which overlooks the square. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Here's to Chris & Amanda!... for a wonderful stay in late summer, at their luxury Bed & Breakfast Les Cordeliers in the medieval town of Sarlat.
After travelling most of the day we arrived to a warm welcome, and we were given a large, beautifully appointed en suite, with views overlooking the town.
We rose the next morning to the best breakfast we have ever been offered anywhere in France, even with smoked salmon on the menu!
We spent the day walking around the old town admiring the wonderful buildings and working up an appetite for one of the many restaurants on offer that evening.
The week flew by as we visited sites in and around Sarlat all information happily given to us by Chris, Amanda and their friendly staff. Market day in Sarlat on Saturday was another great experience, the town closed off to all traffic with colourful stalls filling the whole town with their wares. All too soon it was time to leave, but we will be coming back soon!.. and highly recommend to anyone to stay at Les Cordeliers with Chris & Amanda.
Well done, and thank you - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Les Cordeliers is simply beautiful. Our room, overlooking the square, was large, comfortable and so elegant that we immediately wanted to send photos home to our family. The proprietors, Chris and Amanda, who are English, are extremely helpful and welcoming. Breakfasts were delicious (they even had Vegemite for Australian guests). The only slight downside is that there is no on-site car parking but not far up the street there is off-street public car parking. Sarlat is a lovely town and the mediaeval heart is right at the doorstep of the B&B. There were many excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Les Cordeliers for 5 nights in early September on the start of our 7 week Frence honeymoon (what bliss, wish we were doing it all over again) and this B&B certainyl was one of our stand out accomodations.

Chris was very welcoming and full of the typical british sarcasm that aussies 'get', and was really very helpful in his suggestions and recommendations. The room was SO spacious, and the beds very comfortable. I loved the bathroom with its bveautiful bathtub, although if we'd booked sooner we would probably have requested one of the rooms with a shower (hard to wash long hair in a bath!).

location is ideal for visiting, a short stroll to the old cite and the restaurants, whilst mostly selling the same types of meals, were overall very good and we thoroughly enjoyed overloading on duck and sarladaise potatoes....

breakky was, as everyone else indicates, fabulous and the addition of eggs to the typical french breakfast is great, we did miss our eggs for breakfast as we continuetd our travels.

finally, they were helpfuly enough to do a load of washing for us. truly, it was a great spot, in a great spot, and great value. highly recommend but get in quick, they book up :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PonderingPerthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarlat France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here and though it was the end of the season Chris really looked after us. The rooms are spacious and really comfortable. The access to coffee and snacks really is very unique in terms of B&Bs. The other great service is that your laundry is catered for in the service. Parking is a minor issue but considering the central location of this venue it is a compromise that one needs to make in this very old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco calif
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Les Cordeliers was a wonderful stay for us. The B & B is very centrally located with lovely rooms,that are spacious and spotless. We were treated so beautifully by Chris and Amanda, who directed us to lots of great restaurants and sites. For our 4 night stay, each morning was a delight to be seated for breakfast. As others have said, they are amazing!! Chris puts out such beautiful fruits, juices, hot drinks, salmon, breads, croissants, eggs cooked to order, and even found a special flavor of yogurt for us...amazing! The even did our laundry, which was totally awesome!! When you plan to go to Sarlat, run to make a reservation at this lovely B & B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewtheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing