We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Chris and Amanda provided endless hospitality and friendly, helpful advice which turned the necessity of accommodation into an essential part of the experience of Sarlat. We spent nine nights in the spacious and beautiful Les Cordeliers - wonderful facilities in a great location - and we truly did not want to leave. In all our travels we have never felt so much "at home". Yes, everything people say in these reviews is true. Les Cordeliers sets the benchmark. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the better Southern side has views of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-J-Y_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
353
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights and found it truly delightful.
Great location, lovely, large rooms, very comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast. The owners Chris and Amanda made our stay perfect. They are very friendly and helpful, with recommendations and ideas for touring the area, shopping and restaurants.
We HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was large, lovely and had 3 large windows with a town view. The windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyW1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this wonderful place. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms, large and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious!
The owners are extremely helpful and make you feel at home.
The location is perfect: the medieval city is just across the street. Sarlat is close to several charming and beautiful towns, caves, gardens,etc, so you can make this place your center point and do day trips to visit and enjoy this very interesting region.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

After a pretty drive from Limoges, we arrived at the pretty Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast in Sarlat. You need to park in the public car park after dropping off your luggage and then it is a short stroll back to your accommodation. The old part of Sarlat is not far from here, so it is a great location to explore the medieval buildings and dine out at some terrific cafes and explore some interesting shops and artist studios .
The rooms are spacious and your hosts are friendly and put on a delicious breakfast- the scrambled eggs were divine! The little kitchenette available to all guests supplies coffee, tea, juices etc. and even water bottles that to add to the amiable atmosphere of the Les Cordeliers! Loved our stay! Gateway to the beautiful Dordogne.

Room Tip: With some stairs it may not suit some travellers but has old-world charm and worth a stay of a few d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel4gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

While going through reviews for Sarlat accommodations, one wonders if some of them are too good to be true. Careful reading though, helped us choose this B and B, and, I'm happy to report that our stay was better than expected. Our room was large by any standards, the location was good, but what made our stay great was the host, Mr. Chris Johnson. He truly went out of his way to help us in planning our activities, and we felt very welcome with the free drinks and snacks and his thoughtful concern. Breakfast is delicious and very good value. Thanks, Chris, we had a great time! We hope to go back someday with the kids. Delano and Bernice from the Philippines

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

An exceptional experience awaited my group of 4 who stayed 9 nights. Spacious, comfortable and well located with many extras including free laundry service. Bountiful breakfast on exquisite china. Thoughtful yet unobtrusive hosts. Chris and Amanda have set a very high standard in every respect.

Room Tip: Everyone loved their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a find this was! Having just come from an establishment that required a corking fee to open our own bottle of wine, it was as though we had entered the opposing universe! The large, simple, elegant rooms at Les Cordeliers were just lovely. We had occasion to be in two different ones and each had its own charm and personality. But the rooms were just a part of the experience. The proprietors left nothing to chance! How nice to grab a beer and glass of wine from the little snack room on the way upstairs to our room after a day of randonnee a pied or a little sweet cake coming in after dinner... Our laundry was done; a thermos of coffee made available for the early morning wait in the ticket line at the Grotte Font de Gaume, etc. with absolutely nothing asked in return. Chris even walked two blocks with us to assist with luggage.
The chambre d'hote is located on the other side of a beautiful little place with gardens and fountain from the medieval old town. Les Cordeliers' breakfast is a French bargain, fresh and as substantial as you wish it to be!
This truly is an exceptional establishment and we feel so fortunate to have made it a part of our time in the Dordogne area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToughGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing