We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fairytale maison with all modern conveniences!”
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade
Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
10x4m South facing heated salt water pool with Roman End - no added chlorine & better for your s
Beautiful south facing house located in a tranquil setting on the edge of Sarlat & Beynac.
Full size chef designed kitchen, granite worktops, stone floor, range cooker, full size dishwasher..
Ensuite shower room for the twin bedroom with expose chimney breast & oak beams.
Sarlat holiday home - wonderful space and views. South facing terrace with parasols if required.
Apartment kitchen looking through to living room
Comfortable living area with exposed stone walls, oak beams, oak flooring, log burner, British TV
Ensuite shower room for the twin/superking room with a walk in shower, toilet & sink.
House King bedroom with comfortable 5ft memory foam pocket spring mattress & ensuite shower room
Quality fully fitted solid wood kitchen, granite tops, dishwasher, waste disposal, range cooker.....
Apartment kitchen
Apartment ensuite shower room
Apartment ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Swimming pool with shallow & deep ends, south facing stone terracing, 6 sun loungers & paras
Beautiful Beynac, Sarlat, La Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Domme are all within a 3-10 minute drive
The Dordogne river - a day spent canoe past the Chateaux is a must or take a leisurely boat trip.
Magnificent Beynac
Our nearby secret river swimming & picnic spot, virtually empty even in July & August!
Sarlat holiday home - comfortable accommodation for your friends & family in a spacious 16thC home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MarieLisa...
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairytale maison with all modern conveniences!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This gorgeous 16th century house just outside Sarlat was a delightful place to stay! We were 3 adults traveling throughout France, and we all agreed this was our favorite place of all. The exterior and tranquil meadow setting looks straight out of a fairytale, but the interior is most certainly designed for the 21st Century lifestyle. The place is HUGE, with a gorgeous gourmet kitchen fitted with a professional chef gas range, dishwasher, granite counter-tops and large refrigerator/freezer. There is also a very well-stocked spice cabinet that we enjoyed rummaging through. :) We certainly enjoyed making dinners here after a full day of sight-seeing. There is a large living room with plenty of comfortable seating and a cozy wood-burning fireplace that the owner and his son were kind enough to light for us one chilly evening. They also had a large selection English TV stations--very considerate for we English-language travelers! And the bedrooms were the most comfortable ones in Europe that we stayed in, each with ultra-modern bath and shower ensuites. The beds were VERY comfy too.

This is definitely a fantastic place to stay, and you should consider it if you have a large group (3 or more), if you're trying to save some cash by eating at home (while enjoying charming 16th Century ambience), or if you want a place with easy and quick access to Sarlat itself and the surrounding attractions.

Our hosts were great. Quick to respond to queries, they keep a beautiful house and were very friendly. The booking process was efficient and simple. Our stay at La Buguette was much too brief and we hope to someday return for a longer stay, perhaps in the summertime next so we can have wine outside and enjoy the beautiful country view and pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 16th Century character with modern conveniences
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4kings121...
Terrigal, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“...beautifully equipped country home, friendly and helpful hosts...”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We recently stayed at Xanthe and Hamish's newly renovated rental home just a few minutes outside the gorgeous old town of Sarlat in the Dordogne region of France. I had made an earlier enquiry to rent another vacation home belonging to them, which was unfortunately already booked. Xanthe kept in touch with me offering various other suggestions which was very kind of her, and then offered this newly finished home to us which had just become available. We all adored staying here. The home was beautifully finished without being precious, which is a relief when staying with 4 young children ! My kids were very excited to have English speaking TV channels available, and availed themselves of the books and games provided as well. The booking process was seamless and responses to emails were quick and informative. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to others, and thank Xanthe and Hamish again for making us all feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dccb
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect french country holiday adjacent to the Dordogne's best attractions”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were lucky to be the first to occupy this beautiful villa after its faithful and tasteful renovation. We had stayed last year in a home in Beynac, also owned by Xanthe and Hamish and when offered this country property, we had no hesitation knowing the quality and style offered by them. We were delighted in every way - my 12 year old awoke the first morning and exclaimed: "we are surrounded by rolling hills and hay bales" and then she promptly jumped into the new pool.
The kitchen and living area are sumptuous, upstairs bedrooms are large, beds and bedding are excellent with new en suite bathrooms. The outside dining is superb and the pool large and crystal clear. The location in the heart of the Dordogne on a quiet country road, 5 minutes from Sarlat in one direction and Beynac in the other, could not be better.
Hamish and Xanthe respond to every need and are lovely company. I will happily return here anytime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect home in perfect country location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic week in the Dordogne!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Dordogne staying at Xanthe and Hamish’s fantastic property. Very relaxed after a weeks stay, this property is exactly as advertised, it is set in beautiful Dordogne countryside which feels very remote but you are only 5mins drive from Sarlat or Beynac. The house is very recently refurbished (completed 5 weeks or so before we arrived), but they have very cleverly kept the 16th Century feel of the place whilst including very 21st Century amenities.

The booking process with Xanthe and Hamish could not be more smooth and easy and they provide a wealth of information from directions to attractions and activities nearby. They were also extremely helpful when we were there in recommending some of the better markets to visit and decent canoe operators. Having been in the Dordogne for 14 years they are a font of local knowledge!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful C16th house
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLento...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Lovely House”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a great time at La Buguette, the house has been restored by Xanthe and Hamish to a really high standard and It was all so clean, comfortable and pleasant. All modern fittings yet it retains loads of character and charm. It really lives up to the photos in the listing 100%.
The location is peaceful yet only five minutes drive into the brilliant medieval town of Sarlat. A must visit place both during the day and in the evening.

Xanthe and Hamish were also terrific, really great hosts, very welcoming. Booking with them was easy and they were able to help us with loads of local info right from the point of booking until the day we left! Nothing was too much trouble.... Great people.

Over the years we've stayed in many holiday houses, booking them from both the UK and Australia... this one is by far the best experience we've had. Look out - We'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the place.. It's how I'd want to have my holiday home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRISTINA...
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOYOTTES2...
MONTARNAUD
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing