We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Oyat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Oyat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lacanau-Ocean
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overall a very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked at the last minute and actually, after my check in the receptionist asked me to put the "hotel full" banner! I was grateful i could even had a room, which tells a bit about this summer season being just so-so for the industry... It rained a lot i was told... But for me, the weather was great... Not so hot, not so cold. Which is actually good, because the A/C in the room did to impressed me for its power, but it was enough to maintain an OK temperature... The room was small but enough to put your baggage and a nice, clean and comfy double bed for us global travelers.... That s the most important, along with a good bathroom and quiet room... Quiet room.... No, this one was not quiet... Maybe that s because it was the last room, but we were close to the outdoor bars and after hours people just hang around and make noise... In the bar, in the parking... Hell, even our neighbors room were so noisy... Well, nothing a good pair of ear plugs could not fix, and fortunately, i had some... But still, it felt a bit unsafe... Anyway, continuing on the review, the breakfast was OK, except i think it close too early for vacations (10:00am)... Should be opened till midday in high season.... I mean, what s the point of vacations if we have to wake up at 07:00 for breakfast? But well, i got at least a cup of coffee and a mini- chocolate brioche, better than nothing... Anyway, the nearby bars are opened to continue loading up enough caffeine to start the day, so this was not so critical....
Service is very very good, they make you feel you are part of the family, that s go great and so different than in the rest of the world ! This makes you feel really in vacations! Nothing is oerfect, but everything can be ironed out in good humor, relaxed, jokes... I could not ask for more!
I wrote a review on the great restaurant attached to the hotel, and the combination of these 2 is just amazing... Of course, the atmosphere and the view are second to none, this triple combo Hotel- restaurant-lounge (the kayok bar) just makes you stick around the whole day and night... Adictive!

Room Tip: In high season, Choose a room away from the bars , in the higher floors...for your sleep sake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagittarius111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    23
    29
    6
See reviews for
16
55
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

From the outside this hotel looks poor, do not be deceived, rooms are kwerky but good, bathroom and shower was excellent ( after 80 miles on my bike a good shower was all I wanted). Some wind noise from the window vents so if there is a storm ask for a rear room.
The manager was great giving me advice on the "le velodyssey "route I was taking and saved me a couple of hours, (he has done the route himself)
It has a secure garage for your bike with lift access to your room

Room Tip: If there is a storm from the Atlantic get a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daytona beach
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We arrived and asked if they had room around 5pm. The old lady at the front desk very nicely offered two choices: one with view on the beach, the other downstairs. We took the one by the sea. Room is normal french size, bathroom remodeled for zen style. :) stay was quiet and clean. some ants on the ground due to previous people leaving crums on the carpet. the remodeled bathroom has a hair dryer where you can charge in 110Volts (for cameras and such) :)
As far as what to do around there, the staff was helpful and indicated which region to go to for wine as well.
The restaurant next to the hotel (l'imprevu) was very good too. We were first there that day. They bring the huge menu to you, and put it next to the table.

It is definitely interesting finding the light for the hallways; and the smell was funny.. but other than that, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aecaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

By mid October, Lacanau is quite deserted. It was good to find the L'Oyat open and functioning though with only a handful of guests. The staff were polite and very helpful. There was a man who spoke fluent English at reception. The rooms were comfortable, though I agree with the comment about the dark corridors. Some lighting would be good. Breakfast was typical for this sort of hotel and quite adequate.

Food in the restaurant was good, and a notable experience was the desert, which they made some effort to direct me towards. When it arrived, I could understand why. It was an absolute work of art - quite the most remarkable desert I have ever seen. A sort of of outer space fantasy in icecream and pie.

One of the nice things that you can do at this time of year is to go mushrooming in the nearby forests. In contrast to many other places, these forests occupy flat ground which makes the experience much easier. Be prepared for plenty of competition from other foragers. It is very popular with the locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz23WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west france
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

If I see another Zen bedroom/bathroom I'll scream....and don't think that's the point. Had a 'de luxe' bedroom with sea view. Room not large but perfectly adequate, clean apart from very doubtful marks on the carpet. The corridors are so dark we had to find our room by braille. The shared guest terrace outside the room had lovely ocean views but the whole place looked as if it could do with a makeover, lots of peeling paint. I suppose that's a problem with being beside the ocean. Our bikes were parked safely in the underground locked garage and we found the staff to be very helpful and perfectly friendly. Breakfast was of an acceptable standard in a 2* hotel. I imagine Lacanau Ocean is fine if you're a surfer and under 30, but not for us aged cyclists! If you are doing the Velodyssee cycle trail, the bit between Hourtin Plage and Lacanau Ocean is extremely hard, be warned!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medlar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

stayed here whilst passing through on a visit to family who were on holiday, so needed somewhere convenient. not a lot of choice in lacanau-plage, but this hotel was far superior to the other we looked at ( both 2 star as nothing higher available in town). nice room, nicely modernised bathroom and shared terrace. clean, reasonably priced and we found the gentleman on reception to be very friendly and helpful with directions etc. great location right on the beach, and secure parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Ok this place is fine, the room is ok and the bathroom is good. The restaurant and the staff there were fabulous, but the older lady and young man at reception were most disengaged in their guests and really quite useless, don't bother asking them for any advice. Otherwise good location and good value for money.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacanau-Ocean
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel Lacanau
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel Lacanau
#2 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cote d'Argent
Hotel Cote d'Argent
#4 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vitalparc
Vitalparc
#1 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Lacanau
17.0 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Bleu Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oyat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oyat

Property: L'Oyat
Address: Front de Mer, 33680 Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Lacanau > Lacanau-Ocean
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lacanau-Ocean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Oyat 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Oyat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Oyat Lacanau Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing