We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and great value”
Review of Hotel le Plaisance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Plaisance
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mimizan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The great points about this hotel:

- Great location: walking distance from everything (100 metres from beach, a little further to the main square with shops, bars and restaurants), even our four year old walked everywhere without complaint
- Quiet location; you are tucked away from any nightlife
- Very friendly and attentive service; they truly want to please their customers
- Great value typical French breakfast, more than we could eat and served with a smile
- Spacious room and bathroom with separate loo; very powerful shower
- Immaculately clean and well maintained throughout
- The price: great value and gave us a cheap weekend away in a wonderful location

This is a two star hotel so if you set your expectations accordingly, you will enjoy friendly, clean, practical accommodation in surely one of the best locations in Mimizan. We will be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 10, the quadruple room which front-facing and spacious for our family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feebs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location and only 100 yards from one of the best beaches I have ever seen in Europe.
The rooms are quite basic but they all have a small balcony with two chairs and a table, the bathroom is adequate and it is all very clean. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and the hotel has a good restaurant of its own.
Before we arrived I asked if the owner was able to provide a kettle in our room so that we were able to make a cup of tea, to my amazement the owner bought a new kettle and provided cups as well within our room, we had a laugh on arrival as Martine (female owner) does not speak fluent English and had never heard the term kettle. Martine and her husband were excellent hosts and Mimizan Plage is a lovely place with a superb beach, as a consequence we have extended our two night stay by a further two nights.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst in the Mimizan area. We found the hosts Laurent and Martine to be extremely pleasant, helpful and welcoming.

Yes the hotel is dated but its very clean and our room had a generous balcony. The beach is less than 5 mins walk away and the main shopping area around 10 min walk. On both evenings we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food, which was priced very reasonably.

Martine also gave us advice on what to see in the locality, so we visited the Jardin Du Promenade close by which was beautifully done and gave us another aspect of the area.

Room Tip: There is ample parking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellroy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Was driving up the coast from Spain and wanted to stay in a seaside town. It was spring and we found not alot of places to be open but when we arrived in Mimizan we hoped something was open. Found this hotel and were greeted warmly by the owner. Showed us our room and we asked if any restaurants are open. He mentioned that there's one down the street, so we went. Amazing fresh food at the reataurant! "Le Barracuda" was the name. After food and drink and chatting with the owner, we left and walked around for a bit since it was getting late in the evening. Got back to the hotel and noticed that the beach was nearby so we walked a short distance and we were on a massive beach! I bet in the summer or daylight it would be spectacular! It was very cool at night too! We wandered around for a bit then back to the hotel. The hotel is very clean! From the lobby area to the rooms and the restaurant....very clean! The room was nice, a good size actually with comfy beds! Had a pretty nice sized balcony that we sat on and had a few glasses of French wine as our trip was winding down. The hotel has free wifi but you have to get the password from the reception which was ok. The morning continental breakfast was huge! Got a bunch of breads, meats, cheeses for each of us as well as fresh juice and delicious coffee! Was a wonderful find and would love to get back there and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We did not stay in the hotel but enjoyed the restaurant (4 visits).
The food is excellent for extremely reasonable prices.
Pastries are homemade and the personel is incredibly nice.
To be recommended - one of the best address in Mimizan !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virgule6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank viesyl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: laisser la voiture au parking - plage à 200 m -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascaline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mimizan hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Emeraude des Bois
L'Emeraude des Bois
#1 of 9 in Mimizan
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantique
Hotel Atlantique
#5 of 9 in Mimizan
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 9 in Mimizan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#4 of 9 in Mimizan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mermoz
Hotel Mermoz
#7 of 9 in Mimizan
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel Mimizan
Atlantis Hotel Mimizan
#8 of 9 in Mimizan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Plaisance

Address: 10 Rue des Cormorans, 40200 Mimizan, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Mimizan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mimizan
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing