We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group visit”

Chateau Pape Clement
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.72*
and up
Wine-Making Workshop with Bordeaux Wine Tasting and Visit of the Chateau Pape...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Pessac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This haven of peacefulness, located on the outskirts of Bordeaux, has witnessed its 60 hectares of vines surrounding the château built in the neo-Gothic style. You have to visit this seven-century-old Graves great growth to understand the reasons for its excellence. Combining traditional methods and latest technologies, we take the greatest care of our vineyard. Discover this jewel of Graves region, in order to solve the secrets of an exceptional estate, Château Pape Clément : from our horses and oxen's role in protecting the soil, to the use of music against vines' diseases, including our drone and our terracotta vats... Interested enthusiasts, knowledgeable connoisseurs, experienced tasters and demanding collectors - Bernard Magrez invites all of you to experience this extraordinary visit tailored-made to each person's interests, in a sumptuous place overflowing with history. Château Pape Clément welcomes you 7 days a week, by appointment.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
268 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Group visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I 've visited chateau Pape Clement with a group of 20 people last month.The visit was very good and helpful to understend about the good wine.You can learn the history of the Chateau you can see some grapes you watch a very good video where you can find out why chateau's wine is so expensive and also visit the cellars.At the end they offer you to taste a glass of wine and if you want you can bye from the shop some bottles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    68
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“A wonderful glimpse of how the suburbanite residents of Bordeaux live(d)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The tourist office told us which busses to take to get to Pessac; it isn't hard or expensive. The charge for a tasting tour was 10 Euro with ONE wine, 20 Euro for 3 wines etc. YIPE!!! It BETTER be good!!! While they could have gotten my husband and i in on a tour within the next hour, we abstained once we found that we could wander the grounds on our own and take photos. How very nice of this Chateau to keep this aspect absolutely free. it didn't look like the place to bring a picnic blanket and spread out, but folks going about their business (of crushing grapes/making wine) were cordial and didn't discourage us. we found a Donor Kebab place (Kebab Delicious Monteil?) just next to the bus stop back to town, had a couple of drippy Gyros along with a bottle of wine we'd brought with us, and felt more relaxed after a FINE day out in the Bordeaux suburbs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is an outstanding place to visit in the Bordeaux Metropolitan area (Pessac). You can get there by bus or a very short cab ride. This Chateau is magnificent and produce one of the best of Bordeaux Great classified growth of Graves. The visit are always a treat and a great way for visitor of Bordeaux to see a magnificent chateau that produces terrific wines.
Enjoy Chateau Pape Clément.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pessac leognan at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

An oasis in the middle of Merignac for me the finest wine in south west France a must for any wine buff

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsonsburg, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learned so much about the French wine making process.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a tour (in English) of the vineyard and learned so much about wine making at Paper Clement! We had a small tasting and enjoyed the experience very much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Pape Clement also viewed

 
Blanquefort, Bordeaux
 

Been to Chateau Pape Clement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing