We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Terrible Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pessac
Reviewed 8 July 2014

when we arrived the hotel staff were fantastic, they were very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself was immaculate and clean, we stayed on the first floor in room 122, the maid came in everyday changed the towels, made the bed and kept the room fresh and clean, however the hotel is based on an industrial estate with a hungry hippo burger bar, a quickie burger bar, a sea food restaurant ( which was never open while we were there) and kfc was a walk from the hotel, if you like peace and quiet don't stay on the car park side of the hotel as this is a main route for traffic, some of the windows are covered in blue and orange sheets so there was a view of the traffic but that was in colour, also we couldn't open the windows so you only had the air con to keep the room cool, the restaurant was beautiful and the staff exceptional, but it had one set menu and an odd chef's meal on a special board so if you didn't have transport you didn't have much choice, we got a taxi to Bordeaux which is about 12 mile same on return journey this cost nearly 125.00 euros, you can use the local tram if you walk to it but that stops running about 9pm, if I could have picked up the hotel and staff up an placed them in a better location it would be a superior hotel, breakfast was a bit fraught they hold lots of business meetings, and it made you feel a little rushed, but I suppose they made a big income from this, loved the hotel just wish it's location was elsewhere..... we stayed for 6 nights in June 2014

Room Tip: don't go in rooms facing private car park some don't have windows that open and this is a bu...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin67t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicecommercial33, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Lin67t,
We thank you for your great comments for Tripadvisor readers. We are sorry "you feel a little rushed" for breakfast due to business meetings during your love trip.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you ince again!
Yours Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac Accommodation and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great HI stay! We fully availed of their relationship with nearby Amazonia gym! (Free for HI guests and a very modern gym!) The room was nice but unfortunately, it was a little hot as they hadn't turned on the air con for the hotel yet. We didn't have breakfast here but there are options nearby for coffee and pastries- I recommend having a car!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourtravelmenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicecommercial33, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest Ourtravelmenu,

we really appreciate the time you took to post your comment on tripadvisor and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and more specifically the Amazonia fitness club service offered to all our guests.
we hope to see you again for your next stop in Bordeaux!
Best regards.
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, effective and close to the motorways. As a stop off this is a great hotel. Secure parking and close to the through route to Spain. Solo motorcyclist so a comfortable, clean bed and a hot bath are a welcome! Very quiet at weekends, with the restaurant closed. Good food within a 2 min walk so no problem and an excuse to meet the friendly locals!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank no_heroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicecommercial33, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest no_heroes,

we are glad you had a good stay in our hotel on the road to Spain.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again,
Best regards.
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac team manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A very pleasant stay, restaurants nearby or at the hotel, close to the airport, just what I was looking for. Beds were very firm, pillows were soft but many, water pressure was good. I would stay here again in the future if I were to return to the Bordeaux area.
Thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicecommercial33, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Bruce P,
we really thank you for your great comments. It will also be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again...
Best regards.
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The second poor hotel on our Shearings grand tour. I suspect that the staff were on holiday, as they were very difficult to find. One man serving the bar reception and dining room. I suggest you give it a miss. Lousy food not served until after 9pm, together with the hotel adjacent to the motorway is justification for this poor rating

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siennamember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicecommercial33, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear siennamember
We have read your comments with attention and apologize for the bad experience you had at our hotel.
Following the two other comments from group members, the catering manager has been informed of the lack of staff for your group and the bad quality of the food which was served late after group arrival. He will do his best to improve the service and ensure that this situation will not present itself again. We used to have good comments from group members; this experience was unfortunately less professionnal than we usually do.
Sorry again for the inconveniences during your stay; we hope that this experience will not prevent you to choose Holiday Inn and Intercontinental Hotels Group for your next trips.
Best regards.

Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac sales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour organised by shearings holidays. It was a total disaster. Room was dirty and falling apart. The bar was staffed intermittently by one male member of staff who also had responsibility for waiting on the tables and running reception. There were 45 coach passengers as well as about 12 other guests. Getting service was impossible and the evening meal descended into farce. One choice, chicken cooked to destruction and rice that had been boiled to the point of becoming goo, whole thing inedible. Hotel is situated in the middle of an industrial estate so no escape to local amenities, we survived on pot noodle in our room. Never again and if you have any sense avoid it at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 679christyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear 679christyd,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am sorry to hear your poor experience and service issues in our restaurant. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel is a converted farm building adjacent to the the motorway. Well presented inside but strangely deserted. Bedroom was not OK. Hard bed, inefficient A/C and no walk-in shower. Went to the bar at 6.30, no one about. No receptionist on duty but a telephone call established a barman should be in the bar from 6 pm. Eventually served a small G&T for 7.5 euros, and informed by the barman the dinning room did not open until 8.30 pm. Our group then waited in the dinning room for service, this started 40 minutes later, and in our case 60 minutes after sitting down. My chicken was under-cooked, and I asked for an alternative. The barman, now waiter eventually agreed to cheese and rolls, which does not make a meal after a long days travel. Breakfast not good..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worthingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear worthingkiwi,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We always do our best and work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. We strive to be the best Holiday Inn around and unfortunately it looks like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We would like to follow up with you and have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pessac
5.3 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.2 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Pessac
0.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Pessac
Ibis Bordeaux Pessac
#3 of 7 in Pessac
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Pessac
5.2 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 174 in Bordeaux
522 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Bordeaux Ouest - Merignac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac

Address: 10 avenue Antoine Becquerel, 33600 Pessac, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Pessac
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pessac
Price Range: £66 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud-Pessac Hotel is ideally situated at only 7 mins drive from the International Airport of Bordeaux Mérignac, 15 mins from the historical centre of Bordeaux classified town of Unesco world's heritage and 5 mins away from the International Golf Course of Pessac (18 holes).The Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud-Pessac hotel is a privileged stop-over located in the heart of the Bordeaux wine region, close to the vineyards of Pessac-Léognan, near the beautiful Atlantic beaches, the Dune de Pyla and the Arcachon seaside resort.The 3 star hotel is well equipped with state-of-the-art technology to host your business or social gatherings with 5 flexible function rooms and can accommodate up to 100 guests.All public areas of the Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud-Pessac hotel and a selection of the bedrooms are wheelchair accessible. Guests can enjoy the latest in Interactive Television in the comfort of their bedroom to access the latest movies and music albums. Wired internet connection and Wi-Fi are free of charge throughout the hotel.The bar Le Lounge 14 and the restaurant Le Bistrot 14 offer a contemporary and inviting atmosphere where guests can discover the original cuisine elaborated by our chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pessac
Pessac Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud Pessac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing