We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor B&B but with fantastic hosts” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Garconnieres du Sancy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Garconnieres du Sancy
Ranked #1 of 11 Le Mont-Dore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor B&B but with fantastic hosts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Were I reviewing this property for just hospitality, location and friendliness then Olivier and Denis would get 5 stars but I use Tripadvisor to find out all the aspects of a property and I suspect that others do too.

The main problem I had with the B&B was that our room was very cramped, the bathroom being tiny and uncomfortable. As the building is an old house, some of the rooms were not designed or built with a bathroom or toilet in mind, so when these fixtures were installed later, the room size shrunk. Our room was like this and the toilet did not flush, it "blended" whatever was put down it which was very noisy and very smelly. The choice was press flush and wake anybody sleeping or don't and let the smells wake them!

Another issue we had was that the B&B was not clean enough and any property being awarded 5 stars has to be close to perfection. Olivier requested we did not wear shoes inside the house but our socks became so disgustingly dirty from walking on the floors that we had to wash them in the shower to clean them. Those floors had not been cleaned recently and the whole B&B did not smell fresh or clean. They had strategically placed automatic room fresheners but this was not cleaning, this was merely adding to the cacophony of strange odours.

In closing, I enjoyed Olivier's and Denis' company, Le Mont-Dore is beautiful as is the spectacular surrounding countryside but I did not enjoy the B&B because of the discomfort in the room and the severe lack of cleanliness throughout. I hope the guys can forgive my harsh but honest review and learn from it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room with the "blending" toilets unless you are deaf or anosmic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier V, Propriétaire at Les Garconnieres du Sancy, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
We are sorry for any inconveniences, and ready to accept critics. however there is a misunderstanding. Five stars is not a catégory in France for B and B. It only reflects the opinions of tripadvisor s members. It cannot be compared with five stars palaces. As this person has the habit of international hotels, that can explain his disappointment. As we explained to our guests, we are at home and our facilities are adapted to a very old building; this is the case for two rooms with unusual electric toilet flush made for small pipes, this type of device is almost unknown in the anglo saxon world. Dealing with the floors, we proposed to our guest to use special shoes for in-house, due to the fact that the entrance can be spoiledby the visitor's shoes. This guest refused to use it...We vaccum and clean our floors every day.
We will now mention that incident to our guests to be sure that they will use the proposed shoes. Thank you for your critics that help us to upgrade our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

an excellent place to stay with a very friendly host who provided the most amazing breakfast,

Room Tip: Suite best suited to a family rather than friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 90Trisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Mont-Dore
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#8 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artense
Artense
#10 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Panorama
Hotel Le Panorama
#22 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Londres
Hotel Le Londres
#4 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aviation
Hotel Aviation
#1 of 16 in La Bourboule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Garconnieres du Sancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Garconnieres du Sancy

Property: Les Garconnieres du Sancy
Address: 9 avenue Foch, 63240 Le Mont-Dore, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Le Mont-Dore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Le Mont-Dore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an historical building, 5 rooms well furnished with beautiful bathroom. Fre access to all facilities (whirlpool, baths, saunas, Hammam , garden... Breakfast included prepared with local food, mainly organic. Warm welcom. + 3 Appartements complitly independant where you can cook..... Gay friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Garconnieres du Sancy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Garconnieres Du Sancy Le Mont-Dore, France - Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing