We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Le Mont-Dore
Certificate of Excellence
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Warm welcoming staff, pleasant atmosphere and excellent location in the heart of town, close to many restaurants. Our room was warm and comfortable. House cleaning do a great job, and it is obvious that the hotel is well cared for.

The hotel has free parking and excellent wifi. There is breakfast and a sauna but we did not use either,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    168
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
98
220
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

An old, well located hotel in a beautiful place. The hotel is competitively priced, is in the middle of town, has free parking and an air of old world charm. Lack of lifts may be an issue for some, but is manageable. Breakfast is basic but convivial. There is no evening meal in house but ample restaurants within 100m.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our second time in two years to this hotel. The owners were as friendly as before. Breakfast is worth the 8 euros charge.
The spa is a nice touch after a days skiing.
Ideally located in town centre. Free bus to ski slopes just outside.
We had a family room which was nice and very clean. It was nice that the children had their room with an internal door into our room.
The only negative is the noise from the soil pipes running through the room.
Free wifi and free parking.
Lovely old building if a little noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara1187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rixensart, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

nearly everything was excellent, I just wished some real bread was available at breakfast instead of the frozen baguettes that are not to french standards as bread goes like the one you receive in the auberges and so on. They are really good bakers in the town and it shouldn't be too difficult for the hotel to order some everyday.
That's the only remark I have about the hotel!
We were even allowed to use the jaccuzzi with the kids which was a nice little treat, only 5 Eur per person.

Room Tip: The triple rooms come with shower, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeried712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

+ lovely hotel, friendly staff, nice mini spa (5€ 45 mins), good location (but see below!) free parking, free wifi

- soil pipes run through room, unbelievably noisy clonking radiators through the night, next to a main road, bin collections at 3.45am, traffic, car horns etc...

Worst few nights sleep I've had for a long time, not ideal for an activity holiday. Will be staying a bit further out of town centre next time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limousin, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The only good point about this hotel was its location. We were on the top floor, no lift, room was very small, bed uncomfortable and the bathroom had a very bad smell, there was also a leak in the pipes. Also someone had been smoking on our floor but was assured by receptionist that it was a non smoking hotel. The reception area seemed to be placed in a very inconvenient location if more than one group of people tried to check in at the same time. Probably wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackatwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

my family and i found the description of this hotel from Lonely Planet Guide totally accurate:
'newly renovated Le Mont-Dore landmark provides more comfort and style than its budget prices would imply'. the whole hotel has a boutiquish feel, nicely done. We had a two room suite on the top floor which felt much more roomy than most French hotel at that price range. the bathroom is very small. The beds are of good quality and i like the view from the terrace. The owner- wife that runs the front desk and husband makes breakfast for the guests, are both friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a nice two room suite on the top floor. Remember to packed light for climbing the stairs as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Mont-Dore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Russie
Hotel Le Russie
#5 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Panorama
Hotel Le Panorama
#22 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#8 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Puy-Ferrand
Le Puy-Ferrand
#3 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artense
Artense
#10 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Londres
Hotel Le Londres
#4 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore

Property: Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore
Address: 2 Rue Meynadier, 63240 Le Mont-Dore, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Le Mont-Dore
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Le Mont-Dore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grand Hotel le Mont Dore ** Located in the "massif du Sancy" at the heart of the "Massif Central", the "Grand Hotel" was built in the nineteenth century. Still today, the hotel, welcomes you for your winter sports holidays (Mont Dore et de Super Besse ski slopes nearby), health and fitness exercises, wellness or hiking trips in the nature with the incredible volcanic surroundings. Patrick and Murielle PERROT will do everything possible to make of your stay an unforgettable experience. Relax in the park sunbathing or having your breakfast in a ravishing setting. Equipment and attractions for your pleasure! Private parking, special room for your bikes and next to the hotel, you will find the casino, the thermal baths, the bowling alley, the ice rink… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Le Mont-Dore France - Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing