We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel des Bourbons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Bourbons
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Montlucon
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Considering the price we paid via booking.com the room was clean and comfortable with great beds and there was a decent bathroom with an excellent heating system. The staff were very helpful and we parked free outside as the meter didn't work!
Excellent breakfast in the morning but we didn't eat there in the evening. It is very close to the station but not at all noisy and we felt we had made a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been recently renewed. The room was nice and quiet, though not very large. The bathroom was nice. Breakfast was good. There is private parking around the corner for 5€ more. We could not test the restaurant because it was closed.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank MarcoEtGiusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, large clean comfortable room, 2mns walk from station and less than 10mns from medieval part of town. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance and bistro across road good for evening drink or morning coffee.

Be warned the hotel restaurant which has good reviews is closed for the whole of month of August. There are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Wifi although free is a bit if a pain as you have to change password every 24hrs which is not so bad but then have to login every time you go online.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kazbat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were passing through Montluçon on our way from Paris to the south of France and just needed somewhere to stay for the night before leaving first thing in the morning. This hotel was more than adequate. The rooms were large and simple. The price was reasonable. There was adequate parking in the square out the front.

It was a Tuesday night so the restaurant was not open. That was a shame as it seems to have gotten some good reviews here. They have a bistrôt with simple good meals that was good enough.

Breakfast in the morning was standard French hotel fare, with bread, cheese, ham, yoghurt and fruit.

I wouldn't be planning my holiday around staying here but a good place to stop over.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We travelled down to the south east of France for our annual holiday and decided to break our journey in Montlucon. What a find the Hotel des Bourbons turned out to be. The receptionist was very charming and helpful. The room we were given was enormous and spotlessly clean with a large wet room which was immaculate.
The hotel is very handy for the medieval part of Montlucon and only a short walk to restaurants and bars.
Anyone looking for an inexpensive stop over could do far worse than to stay here. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandMisty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

As you can see from our reviews, we're fans of this hotel, or more precisely the restaurant.
This is a pretty ordinary french hotel with large rooms, adequate furniture, close to the station.
It's "piece de resistance" though, is the cooking of the chef/patron M. Bujard who produces the most exquisite meals for the €23.50 table d'hote menu in the restaurant.

The hotel always has a rather "dour" feel about it, but the rooms are always spotlessly clean. They can be a bit noisy because they overlook the square next to the station.

It is though just 5 minutes walk from the centre of town where you can enjoy the flower displays and fountains and a drink in the open air in summer.

Breakfast was improved this year with protein (ham & cheese) available.

We always stay here if we can during our return from our summer holidays in the south of france because we know we will really enjoy dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PES389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Since our last review in 2009 there have been a number of negative reviews (in french) that we are not altogether surprised about.

This hotel serves absolutely superb food in the restaurant but we too have sometimes found the welcome less than warm, although it is improving now we have stayed here four times!

The bedroom decor is a rather bizarre choice of 1940's style made with 21st century materials. Functional rather than stylish, but our room (115) which overlooked the station square was a good size and spotlessly clean.

There can be early morning noise from vehicles in the square but this is the case in many french hotels.

The standard french breakfast of bread, croissants and jam does not contain any "protein" unless you pay extra, but we do enjoy the apple compote with cereal and there is always a delicious fresh apple.

We believe that the chef/patron M. Bujard trained with some of the best chefs in France and it shows in the dishes he prepares for dinner. The 22 euro Table d'hote meal that we enjoyed was quite superb and incredible value for money.

We have recommended this hotel to friends who have equally enjoyed their meal in the restaurant. So dinner is the "raison d'etre" to stay here. This is an average hotel without a particularly warm welcome but with an outstanding restaurant - which is why we keep coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PES389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montlucon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers Montlucon
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Grenier a Sel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Montlucon
Ibis Montlucon
#7 of 12 in Montlucon
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Montlucon
B&B Hotel Montlucon
#5 of 12 in Montlucon
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bomotel
Hotel Bomotel
#2 of 12 in Montlucon
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#8 of 12 in Montlucon
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Bourbons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Bourbons

Address: 47 avenue Marx Dormoy, 03100 Montlucon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Montlucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Montlucon
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Bourbons 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Bourbons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing