We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Clos de Bourgogne
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Moulins
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for around 2 weeks and we found the staff to be very friendly and the hotel very comfortable and a lovely place to be. The room and the bathroom were great and the wifi was fast so I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakkasakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
37
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on a press trip to the Auvergne , a touch of old fashioned luxury, huge well appointed room very comfortable bed. Bathroom fully equipped with luxury soaps,bath robes ,slippers and all you need.Fairly formal staff but that's what you expect of a place like this and a magnificent breakfast. Well and worthily recommended .

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night while driving back home through France and we had this planned as our night of "something different" and "luxury" during our trip. The hotel didn't disappoint, clean, friendly, all the right "stuff" and all working. That said, it is clearly a constant battle to keep the renovation and upgrade of an an old property like this at the top of its game, and we were the only guests. (Which made it wonderfully calm). The restaurant food and atmosphere was splendid and we spoilt ourselves with and outstanding meal - the menu and wine of the Chef & Maitre D.
Overall we really enjoyed the experience but it was on the pricey side even though had planned for it. Fellow travellers should choose appropriately.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived late, but had a nice welcome and after a small walk to the town center we had a superb dinner in the bistro as the restaurant was occupied. "To days dinner" - and you do not know what you get - it is for the chef to decide - but excellent good food, for a good price - you should try it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne Greuser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonnebeke, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My boyfriend and I were returning from the south of France during our christmas holiday and stopped here on the way back home. First of all, it was quite hard to find a place to sleep as the signs in this town are very difficult to read and are not well placed. The town didn't have a good vibe so we weren't very enthousiastic about the whole stay.. As the other hotels were either full, closed or had disappeared, we chose to stay in this hotel. The hotel looked very nice from the outside and when you entered the hotel it looked very traditional. The prices are quite high for an overnight stay but it is quite fancy so somewhere it is to be expected..

The lady at the reception was not friendly at all. She probably thought we were a young couple that would make too much noise in the hotel and that we would not be able to pay for our room.. At least that was the feeling we got when we arrived there and asked for a room.

She showed us our room and I honestly think we had the ugliest room in the entire hotel. Okay it was a quite traditional hotel, but I seriously got a headache from looking at the wallpaper. Everything was in the same kitchy flower theme, the wallpaper, the chairs, the curtains, the bed linnen,... But I have to say that the room was very spacious. It had a separate entrance where you could place your luggage and then you had the bedroom with separate bathroom and toilet. There was a beautiful bath in the bathroom and you can easily sit in there with two people. Bathropes, slippers, shampoo, shower gel, soap, body lotion and other toiletries were all present. Very clean and big towels also. The minibar and safe were placed in the closet.

The hotel also has a restaurant downstairs which serves meals from different price ranges. You can have a meal with a reasonable price. We did not have dinner there as we had already eaten something on the way, but the food and the menu looked quite good. The restaurant serves traditional French cuisine.

We chose not to have breakfast at the place as we had already spent a lot on the room (170€ for 1 night) and we wanted to leave early. We would have breakfast somewhere on the way. The lady did not look pleased at all when she heard we were not having breakfast. Apparently she thought we would have breakfast there, although this is not included in the price (12€ extra per person) and she had not asked us about this when we arrived. Probably this was a misunderstanding, but again we didn't get the feeling that they were happy with us as their guests.. The whole atmosphere in the hotel was a bit too fancy and formal for us.. I did not feel welcome and would not go back again... I can understand that for other (older) people this could be a perfect stay, but it was not for us..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joke1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulins
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 8 in Moulins
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Parc
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Moulins Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Campanile Moulins - Avermes
1.7 mi away
Ibis Moulins Sud
Ibis Moulins Sud
#4 of 8 in Moulins
220 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
#1 of 1 in Coulandon
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de Bourgogne

Property: Le Clos de Bourgogne
Address: 83 rue de Bourgogne, 03000 Moulins, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Moulins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Moulins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Clos de Bourgogne 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Moulins, dans une magnifique demeure du XVIIIè siècle, au coeur d'un parc verdoyant cet hôtel de charme, aux chambres tout confort à la décoration personnalisée, vous invite à une parenthèse de détente et de bien-être avec l'appui un argument imparable: sa cuisine: un restaurant gastronomique ainsi qu'un espace brasserie. La belle bâtisse reçoit dans un décor chaleureux et raffiné, tandis que le chef Hervé Chandioux propose une carte aux noms qui chantent. Poésie des mots, finesse des plats, originalité des recettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Clos de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing