We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cantal Cottages
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A perfect motel-type property located just off the motorway. Ideal as a stopover on the way to the south of France. Reception and breakfast staff were delightful and very helpful. The room was a reasonable size with the bonus of being able to park right outside the door. Reasonably spacious and absolutely spotless. Air con worked well. For the price (57.50 Euro for 2 people B&B incl. tax), this was outstanding value. Breakfast was plentiful and included boiled eggs, cold meats etc.

Not within walking distance of St. Flour but there is a cafeteria virtually next door where we enjoyed a perfectly adequate - and big! - meal. The only thing I would suggest to management is that they provide some sort of seating area outside for guests to sit out. Perhaps a couple of chairs or a bench outside each room? Or a few tables and chairs on the grassy area near the entrance?

All in all, we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are virtually the same (apart from the colour scheme).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimdil33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    85
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
155
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to benidrom it was clean and bright car park right outside door.there is no place on site to eat so we had to go to a garage within walking distance to eat meals were ok but lots of locals in so we had to keep an eye out

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh247jfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a wonderful find. A great location just off the main road, clean rooms, nice and quiet with good showers and comfy beds. Optional breakfast was a good deal and good quality. Just over the road there is a service station and the restaurant is better than it looks. If you're going to drive into St Flour make sure you go far enough in! We drove to the first bit of the town and had dinner but had we gone right to the top of the hill we would have got to the main part of the town and had much more choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor and have parking right outside the door so all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel, more a motel, with simple and clean rooms. Location is good, not far from the village. Staff friendly and a typical french breakfast. Parking is free and in front of the rooms. A good choice, much better than the usual two star chain hotels you see everywhere in France.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap d'Ail, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We'd been driving all day and were looking for somewhere to stay overnight that was quiet and away from the highway, We found this hotel on-line and actually it turned out great as it was a hotel-motel, so we could have the car parked right up to the room door. Very practical as the car was loaded to the top with luggage. Nicely situated in the countryside not that far from the autoroute. The room was for three of us, couple and child, very clean, nice big bathroom, and comfortable. Buffet breakfast in the restaurant next morning was ample and sufficient for us to get started for the next day's driving. Close to St Flour to have quick visit around and fill up with petrol before leaving.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Situated just off the highway, this little place is fabulous for an overnight stay. These little cottages are very like motel accommodation to be found in Australia. Rooms are very spacious, clean and amongst the most comfortable we've stayed in in France. Bathrooms are clean and rooms have good heating. The addition of a jug for coffee making would make this place absolutely outstanding. Free car parking is available just outside the door. Free wifi also available but a bit intermittent. For 6 Euros we had a full European breakfast with, eggs ham and cheese as well as the usual croissants etc. For 42 Euros it was unbelievable value. Close to the very picturesque historic town of St Flour.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Lovely clean facilities, parking outside your room, dog only 3 euros, and good breakfast all for less than 60 euros for 2. For an evening meal try Le Grill in the market square in St Flour.
Easy to find just off the A75 south of St Flour. The rooms are modern and spacious with good beds and shower, plus free WiFi. Perfect overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Flour
2.3 mi away
Les Planchettes
Les Planchettes
#4 of 10 in Saint-Flour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel l'Etape
Grand Hotel l'Etape
#2 of 10 in Saint-Flour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deltour Hotel St Flour
Deltour Hotel St Flour
#8 of 10 in Saint-Flour
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Pont-Vieux
Hotel Restaurant du Pont-Vieux
#5 of 10 in Saint-Flour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Bout du Monde
Hotel Le Bout du Monde
#2 of 2 in Saint-Georges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Logis Auberge de la Providence
Logis Auberge de la Providence
#6 of 10 in Saint-Flour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cantal Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantal Cottages

Property: Hotel Cantal Cottages
Address: Le Crozatier, 15100 Saint-Flour, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Cantal > Saint-Flour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cantal Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Cantal Cottages Convenient, open 24 / 7, Cantal cottages offers a stop on the A75 and convenient accommodation solution to radiate in the country of Saint-Flour to discover the Haute Auvergne.The reception is open daily from 7:30 to 11:30 and from 16h to 20h.If you arrive late you can use the automatic reservation terminal located at the entrance of the Hotel "Cottages" Insert your card, choose the type of room you wish to book, confirm and remove your badge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cantal Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cantal Cottages Saint-Flour, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing