We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style French charm”
Review of Armoric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armoric Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Benodet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Old style French furnishings, but modern bathrooms, we stayed in this delightful hotel in June for 4 nights. Just a few minuets walk (6/7) from Benodet's main beach, it has a large mature garden, with a choice of tree shaded areas to sit in, or relax by the pool. Very good breakfast, with plenty of choice. We had dinner on our second night and it was so good and reasonably priced that we returned on the next 3 nights. Good wine list.
Car parking at rear of hotel, family run, multi-lingual, very friendly. We will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennedyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Charming family who care for their business and pay great attention to it's running .
There was nothing to fault - the room was well appointed and cleaned - the chef could chef - the pool was a beautiful temperature - a generally very agreeable ambiance .
Little things tell you that the management have got a grip of this enterprise , like the fact that the serving staff have clearly been instructed on pain of death never to walk out of the dining room without first checking to see if there is anybody trying to attract their attention .
So , it was a very enjoyable week there , and we met quite a few people returning for the umpteenth time .
If you want ritzy and great views you will pay a deal more only a short walk down into the riverside area . We felt that we had had good value here .
One other point worth knowing for some , was that we were travelling in a classic soft-top and it was very reassuring to be able to book secure under-cover garaging .

Merci a la famille Escarfail .

Room Tip: There are attractive looking annexe-type rooms giving out onto the garden next to the pool . Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cjb186235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We did not stay at the Armoric (although we wish we had!). Benodet can be a little quiet off season but the Armoric stands out like a little beacon. The bar was very much like an English pub and very welcoming.
We ate there twice. The food was fantastic, showcasing the very best of Breton cuisine - the freshest seafood, meat and wonderful desserts. I could be more detailed but unfortunately I have forgotten some of the meals we had (must have been too much wine, Breton whisky or Lambic (Breton Calvados)!
Apart from the cosy bar and the amazing food, the décor was clean and simple. We only had a brief look at the garden but it is enough to make us want to stay there!
Michel and Ingrid are excellent hosts as well, both very engaging, caring and with a great sense of humour. A lovely couple of evenings spent there!
Finally, I must say, exceptional value: aperitifs, 3 courses, coffee and liqueurs came to roughly 79 Euros - would have been double in England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasri, Propriétaire at Armoric Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello!
Many, many thanks to you and your friend from Irene (not Ingrid) and myself. We are very happy that you did appreciated the food which was served in our restaurant. We enjoyed also the time spend with you in the bar.
We do hope to see you again even just for a short stop... in the bar.
All the best to both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Hotel Amoric and what a lovely time we had. It makes such a difference to the service you receive when the hotel is owned and run by such a lovely couple as Irene and Micheal and their daughter, Sarah. We were greeted warmly and taken to our room which was one of the rooms with access onto the garden.This was perfect for us as we could sit outside after our days, exploring this beautiful area, have a glass of wine and decide where we would go the next day.
Breakfast was the usual French fare but there were boiled eggs as well and the dinner we had one evening was superb and very reasonably priced.
Other evenings,we ate down at the beautiful beach and we were able to walk down there
All in all, a super hotel and a great holiday made perfect by Irene and Michael

Room Tip: Garden rooms are small but have outside access and are away from any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasri, Propriétaire at Armoric Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Margaret,

All the family thanks very much for your wonderful comments! And myself I apologize for being so late in my answer as I am the one who is in charge.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again.
All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here at the end of August with my 'aged' parents and thoroughly enjoyed it. Loved the heated pool and the traditional French food as we stayed half-board. Found our first room too noisy with the windows open (it was hot!) but our second room overlooking the garden was peaceful.
Michael and Irene are lovely hosts - helpful, funny and friendly.
Would recommend this hotel as a welcome change from the modern chain hotels.
Marc&Jacqueline

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent cuisine in excellent surroundings with excellent service.
Foie gras starter , both cooked and cold styles ,scallops and julienned vegetables in a small casserole, a good portion of sea bass,perfectly cooked on a bed of cous cous with wild mushrooms, a superb mandarin sorbet , to cleanse the palate , a warm reblochon cheese portion with salad, and the grand finale a Black Forest cherry dessert which was so light it just melted in the mouth.
I need say no more !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losair, Owner at Armoric Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello!
The team would like to thank you very much for your comments about our restaurant. We hope you had a good stay in France.
We wish you a Merry Christmas an a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Clean, warm, large, quiet room in the main building with en-suit bath and shower. Michael, Irene, and their daughter Sarah were most hospitable and helpful and although they all spoke perfect English were happy to allow us to practice our French. Excellent breakfasts and good evening meals, with a well stocked bar. We also ate out in Benodet and had excellent food. The hotel is ideal for a young family. It has a large secure garden with table tennis, a large lawned area and an out door heated swimming pool.
Brittany Ferries special deals are exceptional value. Benodet is a small pleasant town which I suspect is over run at the height of summer. Out of season it offers good walking, mountain biking and water sports. All in all a good venue for a relaxing mini break or a longer holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John shaw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasri, Propriétaire at Armoric Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello!
Many thanks for your lovely comments about you stay at hte Armoric. It was a pleasure also for us and it would be great to welcome you here with all the family...

All the team whish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benodet
0.3 mi away
Le Cornouaille Hotel
Le Cornouaille Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#4 of 11 in Benodet
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Abbatiale Benodet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Logis Les Bains De Mer
Logis Les Bains De Mer
#7 of 11 in Benodet
80 reviews
8.1 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ker Vennaik
Hotel Ker Vennaik
#5 of 11 in Benodet
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armoric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armoric Hotel

Address: 3 rue de Penfoul, 29950 Benodet, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Benodet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Benodet
Price Range: £57 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Armoric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the beach and the port, the 3 stars Hotel Armoric has a quiet environment and 30 comfortable rooms decorated with personal touch. It is yearly opened and is the perfect place for holidays. The traditional cuisine, the lougne bar, the heated swimming pool and the shaded garden are some avantages that can be shared and enjoyed every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armoric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armoric Hotel Benodet, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing