We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but you'll find much better...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benodet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Just stayed at Camping Pointe St. Gilles (22-29/8/2010) via Matthew holidays in one of the mobile homes and having stayed at other sites whilst touring I'm sure you'll find a lot better if you keep searching.

On the positives, the location is very good with a short stroll down to the beach and town at Benodet, although there is a much nicer and quieter beach at Kemper near Mousterlin if you drive 10 mins from campsite.

Pool complex is the main redeeming feature of the site which is very popular though as per other reviews, the 'bridges' over the pool sections are very dicey and there is never enough sunloungers - something so simple for the site management to sort out but seem to have failed to do.

Mobile home we stayed in (G12) was very basic, particularly kitchen equipment, so be sure to pack stuff if you think you'll be doing a lot of cooking/bbq yourself - or get ready to hit the Carrefour in Benodet to stock up (avoid the site shop which apart from the daily baguette/croissant run is completely overpriced).

Finally it still fails to amaze me the number of holiday locations who try to charge for WiFi use which costs the site management peanuts to operate - at this site they wanted 5 euros for 30 mins connectivity (only available near the pool) - scandalous - this should be as free as tapwater....

Good luck if you choose to go, if the weather is excellent then many of the niggles I've highlighted won't matter, but if you've time to research other sites then I think you'll find better options.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

We booked our 10 night stay with Euro camp and were looking forward to taking our 4 children away.We took the ferry from Roscoff and only took 1hr 45 to get to Benodet which is a bonus,. However on arrival at site we were told by reception to go to Eurocamp mobile where we would be told where our pitch was situated. After waiting at the mobile for 10 mins the young rep arrived and we followed her to our pitch. She basically told us that all the facilities were back near reception......then she vanished!What greeted us was a bit of a shock as the tents look rather different to the websites pictures. For a start the area around the tent looked shabby and unkempt and hardly had any grass....just dust, the tent itself looked filthy on the outside and worse inside......we had asked for a highchair for our 8 month old son....not a problem but it was filthy with left over food on the tray and obviously hadnt been cleaned for quite some time. We then went to put up the travel cot.....broken....we were really dissapointed at this point. The next thing we noticed was that the inside of the tent did not appear to have been cleaned. The 20 year old looking ground sheet was filthy and had not been cleaned at all. The fridge had not been cleaned and had dirty hand prints all over it.The mattresses were ripped and looked filthy too. At this point we had been in the tent for about 2 mins and my partner went to complain. The rep came back and said oh no i'll get it cleaned for you....2 mins later she reappeared with her colleague and they spent 10 mins 'cleaning' it. They said they couldnt take any responsibility for the cleaning!! Upon entering the tent again we had to spend another 10 mins cleaning what they couldn't be bothered to do. These reps are just youngsters who to me havnt got a clue on how to do their job.Ther are not bothered and no one seems to be in charge. The music coming from the area where all the reps camped went on until the early hours of the morning.....glad we were far enough away from them not to be disturbed.We also had to ask for the baby bath which we had booked. Basically the list goes on......I wouldnt book another holiday through Euro camp for these reasons. Only good points were the pools.....kept the kids enterntained for hours. Very slippy in places though and many people including myself slipped over when only walking slow. That needs sorting before someone breaks their neck. Takeaway food gross....cost a fortune too....stay clear....pool side bar a rip off......8euro for 2 coffees 1 lemonade and couple of 20p lollies. The best thing about our holiday was the fact that we met some lovely people and the kids enjoyed playing with the friends they had made. Sort out the issues Euro Camp as not good enough for the money!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cavegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This was our first time camping and we went at a peak time so bear this in mind when reading the review
Pluses
Very good accommdation
Very friendly staff - speak French if you can
Good pool for children
Entertainment most nights
Very safe for children to cycle around
Very safe walk into Benodet - 15 to 20 mins - great restaurants San Sousi and Embruns in particular - super ice cream shop beside the Casino
Good boat connections - trips to Iles des Glenans and Quimper are highly
recommended - make sure to get the boat over to St Marine across from Benodet - great place for a walk around and a lunch
Good shop - with fresh bread all day (however for some strange reason closed between 1.00PM and 4.30PM)
Minuses
No area for swimming lengths for adults - good pool for kids means a bad one for adults
No sun loungers unless you are prepared to queue to get into the pool before it opens - bring something to sit on
Bar food not very good
Weather was ok but on a cloudy day the kids found the pool too cold and got out quickly
Entertainment often went until midnight so no early nights

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gufcfootballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

(This review is written from the perspective of someone taking thier own tent).

We have just come back from 13 nights at Pointe St Gilles and although we had a great holiday in Benedot and the surrounding Area we would not return to Pointe St Gilles Campsite. More of a Chalet park than a campsite with very few independant tenters / caravaners,even the french seem to have been lured into Chalets.
The pools etc are fantastic for the kids and they made fill use of them ,wont repeat comments re sunbeds etc.
Toilet and showers were not the cleanest at our end of the site and need either smartening up or cleaned more regularly they were distinctly 2 star,if you use them every day they should be better but I reckon this reflects the small amout of campers.
Pitch size is snug and you are cramped in a bit ,not alot of room for car and tent.
Takeaway v expensive and food quality also 2 star,had to send our one and only meal back as the chicken was not cooked !!Also frites were distinctly below par ...
We did have a great time as the children have lots of freedom and use the play park ,pool and endless trips to the bar and shop.Local beach also v good.All the staff were great and very friendly.
Just not great for us in tents....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDEANATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is a pretty good campsite. Tents/caravans are rather tightly packed and regimented, so privacy is minimal. Facilities are good, but probably more so if you have small kids and enjoy spending your evenings watching them perform in talent shows or watching pretty poor comedy or magic shows. Unfortunately the bar is pretty much part of the performance area, so if, like us, you have a teenager who has gone every evening with new found friends it's a bit dull sitting amidst the Karaoke (which, oddly, is performed facing away from the audience). Also, although the pool area is good for kids there is nowhere that you can actually swim, or avoid the kids!
On the whole though, if your family is the right age then this site is worth going to. Personally we preferred La Grand metiere in Carnac last year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theory900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We spent 12 days here with Canvas in a Comfort Plus caravan with decking. We had the same type 2 years earlier in Perros on the North Coast (except we didn’t have decking) so knew what we were getting. Although not overly spacious it is comfortable and more than adequate for 12 nights. I would highly recommend getting a caravan with decking, it really does make a difference and makes the caravan living space itself seem larger.

A word about the Canvas Reps too. Jon and Charlotte were both so friendly and although we didn’t have any problems you got the feeling it would have been dealt with quickly. A very special mention to Laura the Hoopi’s Club Rep. Our kids adored her and loved going to the club every morning which gave mum and dad some time to relax with a coffee, croissant and the papers! We have been twice now with Canvas and from our point of view we have nothing but good things to say.

So to the site itself. I don't want to just repeat much of what has been written below so I'll pick out the things we used and add my comments:

Swimming Pools: Very good, our kids loved the toboggan slides (if you were sensible I didn’t think they were dangerous at all – see below) and the lazy river though you do need to get there pretty early to secure a sun lounger. As mentioned, get the kids to walk, it was a little slippery and the bridges are a little steep too.

Bar and Entertainment: Yes, the bar is expensive but we usually had dinner and drinks at the caravan before so we only usually had a couple of drinks and we didn’t go every night. We all enjoyed the slightly cheesy entertainment (kids discos, cabaret, magic, kids shows etc). I fully agree with the reviewer below though, the glow stick disco was carnage!! It was if they were handing out 50 Euro notes not 5 Cent pieces of glowing plastic, you really feared for the little kids at the front getting crushed by marauding parents (I was not one of them!)

Facilities: We only really used the Laundry which again was pricey (6 Euro for a wash and 4 Euro for drying). The shower facilities looked very good though as they were pretty new.
The sports field (and kids clubs) are situated off the camp site, about a 5 minute walk. There is one tennis court, a short tennis court, a few table tennis tables and a football pitch. It does feel like it is not really part of the campsite but as I mentioned above the kids enjoyed it so we enjoyed it!
The strangest thing I thought was the ‘Funny Park’. This was situated in the car park outside the camp site and had a couple of bouncy castles and a very poor mini golf. It was enclosed by security fencing and reminded me a little of the Family Fun Day from Phoenix Nights (though no Sammy the Snake or Jerry the Berry!!)
The shop again is expensive, as with most reviewers we went to Carrefour in Benodet and just bought baguettes, croissants and milk from the shop

The area in general is fantastic, as with most people we went to Concarneau, Quimper, Pont Aven etc. We enjoyed the beaches in Benodet and followed some of the local walks on the map you can get from reception. If you want a great day trip, we drove north to Locronan which is a really nice old village with a shop called the house of 100 beers (bought some great Brittany beers). We then headed west to Pointe de Vin and Pointe de Raz which is the most western point of France. Well worth the drive for spectacular views, though make sure you go on a good day as the visibility wasn’t brilliant when we went.

I loved this site and the holiday simply because both us and the kids had a brilliant time together and we met some great people. Sure there were some things that could have been better/cheaper but if you spend your time picking out the negatives then what kind of a holiday is that. We probably won’t return in the near future as we much prefer to visit different places each holiday. However, this holiday will certainly go down as one of the best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just returned from 9 nights with Keycamp in Pointe St Gilles.
Plus points - Located in a very nice area, across the road from a pleasant beach and 15 mins from the nice resort of Benodet with an even nicer beach and less seaweed. Within easy driving distance of interesting towns such as Quimper or Concarneau. 5 mins from Carrefour supermarket with great range of local foods.

Minuses. We arrived at 1.30pm and no Keycamp rep to be seen but we were aware checkin wasn't til 3pm and a sign informed this would be when a rep would return so waited. When we came back at 3 the sign had changed to 3.15 and it wasn't until 3.30 that we caught a rep and get him to show us to our accommodation. We were given a very brief mono syllabic tour and only found out things later in the holiday by chance that would have been nice to know.

Accommodation was a little cramped and we were glad we had a 3 bed even though it was just my wife and I in one room and our 2 year old in another. Beds are very low and mattresses very thin. You can feel the springs.

Camp shop has a fair selection but half of store taken up by crisps, sweets and beer. A larger range of cooking ingredients would have been nice. Also very expensive.

Take out served not particularly nice food.

The restaurant service was very poor. We were huffed at for returning burnt garlic bread and there was 30 - 40 mins wait between courses while the 2 sole waiters ran around headlessly.

Pool complex nice but water very cold and a severe shortage of loungers if the weather is at all good.

Tumble tots cancelled with no notice so that was a wasted journey. (last one of season so it makes you wonder if they could be bothered).

Not a great deal to do on-site for older kids - 1 air hockey table and a fussball table. Therefore quite a lot of bored teenagers hanging around in an evening.

In summary, we enjoyed the area but definitely wouldn't return to the campsite itself. It wasn't terrible but certainly not value for the money Keycamp charged.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lankytoreador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benodet
0.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Corniche de la Plage
7.8 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Cornouaille Hotel
Le Cornouaille Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Abbatiale Benodet
2.7 mi away
Hotel de la Pointe de Mousterlin
1.4 mi away
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
#1 of 1 in Clohars-Fouesnant
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles

Address: Corniche de la Mer, 29950 Benodet, France (Formerly Camping De La Pointe St Gilles)
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Benodet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Benodet
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star campsite is ideally located in Benodet (South Brittany), facing the Glenan Islands and close to the Odet river. Choose between one of our luxury and comfortable accommodations or prefer one of our touring pitches, nestled in a 9-acre green setting. Have fun in our indoor and outdoor swimming-pools or prefer to get away from it all with a moment of deep relaxation in our spa! Food services (take-away, restaurant, bar) and shop available on site! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping De La Pointe St Gilles Hotel Benodet
Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles Benodet, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing