We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and unfriendly with a view”
Review of Le Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Continental
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you are looking for service, stay away ! The managing couple does not seem to realise that they are in the service business.
Evening or arrival : we ask if they could recommend any other restaurant in town, we are almost 'shouted' at : "you don't think that we can recommend another restaurant if we have one ourselves". Their restaurant is calles "l'ormeau". We realised afterwards it's about 50% more expensive that other restaurants in town for the same dish (sole meunière costs 36€, I payed 24€ in "le contre courant" and the food was great.
Next morning : I go down to get a cup of coffee to drink in the room, an habitude we have during the weekend at home. "No, we don't serve coffee in the room". When I tell the lady she could serve it to me in the restaurant and I woud take it to the room, she gets even more unfriendly : "no, we have had bad experiences with coffee in the room, you cannot take coffee upstairs".
This is where the nice view suddely becomes less important ... we left the hotel without having breakfast and took a coffee and a croissant next door. Never Again !

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Onkelfrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was part of the group of 12 mentioned in the previous review. We arrived worried about the previous reviews regarding the owner, Christophe Wasseurs', attitude. But once the "electrical event" was over, the owner and his wife could not have been more gracious. They bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable, and they were very accommodating. The rooms are a good size, and the bathrooms very comfortable. The room decorations are plain, but the views of the harbour are beautiful! All of us in the group really enjoyed the restaurant L'Ormeau, and ended up eating all our breakfasts and dinners for the duration of the stay at L'Ormeau.
I would highly recommend this hotel. The owner and his wife really made us feel at home. They even came out to our cars and sent us off, on our last day, with hugs and kisses!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We came a group of 12 with reservations for 5 nights.
We arrive and after 20 mn it was an electrical problem in the hotel who force us to have dinner outside.
After that everyting was perfect , the beautiful view, Rooms are comfortable, Break fast is a must, 6 or 7 differents marmalade croissants,pain au chocolat, cheeses, cold cuts, fruits, eggs etc... The restaurant L'Ormeau is outstandig.The owner Christophe Wasseur is a real "defenseur" of the regional product. He help us to organize our visit around Cancale and made our vacations a memorable stay in Cancale.
Mr and Mme Wasseur are excellent Hoteliers Hosts

Room Tip: rooms are bigger on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielvasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My travel companion and I were drawn to their menu by the artichokes. The artichokes were good, but our treatment was brusque and even rude. When we asked if we could make a reservation for 1:30 lunch, the proprietor said no because, he said, "If we reserved at 1:30, we would show up at 1:45." Perhaps that should have been our cue to leave without making the reservation, but we consented to come at 1:00 to accommodate him, and asked if he would set aside 2 artichokes for us. When we arrived, and I told our waitress that we had reserved (just to make sure they knew we had shown up as promised), she brusquely took the menus away from us, apparently assuming we only wanted the artichokes, though we had planned to order other things in addition.
As I said, the artichokes were fine; the fish soup was okay (nothing special), and the prices were high. But it was the way we were made to feel -- unwelcome and unappreciated -- that causes me to give them 2 stars. It may be that it was an off day, but if so, other travelers will no doubt reward them with more stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Richard0337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and me made a reservation for a room with sea view and were upgraded to a room with balcony on the second floor. Room # 7.

We had a wonderful view on the little bay.

We had dinner at evening which was very good although al little bit pricey.

We stayed at the "Le Continental" from May 23rd to May 25th (2 nights) and were very satisfied.


The "patron" and his spouse were very nice and helpful.

I recommend this hotel and would stay there again with much pleasure.

Room Tip: Room # 7 with balcony on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is on the quay where all the action is. A large building with a restaurant downstairs. We had a room without a sea view which was spacious and had a lovely bathroom with 2 basins and a decent size bath.Only one bedside light and no bedside table on one side which given the price should really have been provided. Did not take breakfast but had one unexceptional dinner, There are better options in the town for eating, Chez vincent for example just along the road

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We try and stay here at least once a year and everytime the hotel improves in some way be it the bedrooms or the restaurant.
We have always found the proprietor and his wife the most charming and friendly hosts and they are the main reason for our regular returns.
A perfect place for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: A room at the front overlooking the harbour - you will not want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iangordon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancale hotels
0 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#3 of 13 in Cancale
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#10 of 13 in Cancale
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#4 of 13 in Cancale
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#7 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Cancale - L'Alghotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Continental

Address: 4 quai Administrateur Chef Thomas, 35260 Cancale, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing