We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancale - A relaxing lively resort”
Review of Le Grand Large

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Grand Large
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were due to stop in Cancale for two nights but due to a motorcycle accident we stayed longer. 3 of us (Male on a motorbike tour) stayed here. The first room we were given consisted of two rooms. 1x double and the second room which had bunk beds. Not ideal but it served a purpose. Only down side is to get to the bathroom from the room with the bunk beds you have to go through the double room.
For the rest of our stay our accommodation was room 2. This was set out over two floors (although only 2 rooms) and easily sleeps 6. 2x double and 3 single beds. Again though, only one bathroom (Top Floor). Bathroom was basic. A bath and only a hand held shower. The toilet is not is a great position in relation to the bath and people of a taller/bigger build may struggle with the facilities. While the accommodation was ideal for us as 3 male travellers I would have been disappointed had my wife and I booked the place. For the price I would have expected a bit more. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok. Internet did not work. Did not eat a main meal in the restaurant but is was always busy. The location was great and on the edge to the village. Plenty of restaurants to choose and for sea food lovers. We ate at Le Phare and Ty Breiz. Both were great. To relax and watch the world go by we had drinks at Bar Le Tapecul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

beautiful restaurant fantastic views out over the sea good food very quiet location just at the edge of town. Second floor room 7 excellent view over the sea. There is free parking and free wifi which does not work that good

Room Tip: Second floor room 7 excellent view over the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at Le Grand Large in Cancale and was so pleased with this place... not only is it situated at the quiet end of the Esplanade, overlooking Baie de Mont St Michel but it also has great rooms- comfortable and very clean. The food served at this hotel is something else! When I travel I like to be able to eat the food of the area and feel that the food has been cooked en place. here, I ate the mussels and the oysters.... the seafood of this area... the menus is excellent and being able to look out over the bay is wonderful..
I would recommend this place but do check the bill as we found that the waitress had placed things all over the place when we ate and I was charged for 5 meal plans for one night!... beyond that fault... everything else is awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisada75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After dining in the Restaurant yesterday we would not recommend it. The menu is limited and if you don't like Andouille many of the mains are not available as it appears in many of them. The prices are Parisian for mediocre food and inflated for wines. The view from the restaurant and terrace is good and the décor is good, but the service is mediocre, the cutlery dirty. The food was plonked down onto the table, spilling the sauces with no attempt to wipe up the spillage. the starter was excellent, the main poor, the sweet, well my Crepe was yesterdays and re-heated. Better suited as a doormat. Paying the bill was organised chaos and they weren't even busy. We didn't stay in the hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank brecenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

beautiful restaurant magnificiant views food excellent service with a smile what a great place to relax we will come again we will tell our friends and relations what a wonderful hotel this is the room was lovely especially as it was facing the sea

Room Tip: sea view fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Context: A middle aged couple travelling by car from Stockholm to France, with a small dog. We stayed in Cancale for a few days.
This hotel offers good free parking and simple but nice and clean good-sized rooms. The hotel is on the edge of Cancale but still very close to all nice restaurants and pubs. We didn’t try their breakfast.
The area feels very safe and offers several very good restaurants and pubs close by. The best, however, is to get your oysters straight from the oyster-market in the harbor. Cheap, fresh and very tasty.
We will definitely be coming back to this hotel and Cancale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim-Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in one of the down stairs rooms which was large and clean, it was hard to see the sea view when all the cars were in and parked but it was still relaxing to sit at the window. Easy to walk to the bars and restaurants and there are also lovely walks alone the coastline . Its in easy reach of St Malo and Le Mont Michel, also visit Dinan if you can, its a beautiful town. The staff were also very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good for 8euros. The beds were fantastic!! if only all hotels had them, they reclined to suit the way you slept, which was great for my husbands bad back!! Guess what he wants for Christmas .We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancale hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Cancale - L'Alghotel
0.4 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#8 of 13 in Cancale
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#4 of 13 in Cancale
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#3 of 13 in Cancale
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#6 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large

Address: 4 quai Jacques Cartier, 35260 Cancale, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing