We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant that lives up to its rating”
Review of Chez Victor

Chez Victor
Ranked #14 of 62 Restaurants in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Fish and seafood bistrot in the oyster capital of Brittany
Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A restaurant that lives up to its rating”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We know that it is not always easy to find a good restaurant even if you live in the area! We have eaten at restaurants in Cancale on several occasions and were wanting an appropriate place for lunch to celebrate a wedding anniversary with family. We selected Chez Victor as we knew of its good location and had read the reviews . What a great experience all round, attentive friendly service, well presented delicious fresh sea food with plenty of other choices on offer including steak, done to perfection. We will certainly be returning again in the near future and will recommend to friends and visitors without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owl22270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    523
    109
    35
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Langoustine with Gusto!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Very very good service, hardworking charming wait staff hustle about with great attitudes. For a tourist town we were not made to feel like the latest schmucks to arrive but were welcomed like they'd never seen an American tourist before in their lives...

Food nice clean and fresh from the waters...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pusher19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

The food was very good (sea food plate, fish). The service even better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a delightful evening here, and even though it was raining outside, we were well provided for by the excellent staff, who were warm in their welcome and service without being over familiar. The food was excellent, with the oysters being as good as it gets. Good wine list, great food, great location and ambiance. What more can one want? Only to be able to return again...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolute winner”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had dinner in Chez Victor whilst on holiday last week, chosen specifically because of these reviews and we were not disappointed. Wet and rather cold evening so had to sit inside which was a pity but no matter. 5 in party which included 3 young people ages ranging from 18 to 24. We were absolutely starving after spending the day at Mont St Michel. Service was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and explained everything on the menu with great patience between her limited English and our limited French amid much laughter, and recommended a great bottle of Chablis. Basket after basket of fresh delicious bread and butter were brought to the table until our starters arrived and she barely raised an eyebrow when it came to dessert and our 18 year old daughter ordered 6 more Oysters! You can eat off the set menu or a la carte and our party mixed and matched. Altogether a truly French, relaxing and enjoyable meal. Go to Chez Victor and you won't be disappointed either. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Victor also viewed

Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Chez Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing