We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile indulgence, one special night”
Review of Chateau Richeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Richeux
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worthwhile indulgence, one special night”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Starting with the romantic room overlooking La Manche/Bay of Cancale, even or especially with the low tide pulling one from and through the old windows framed in sparkly cobalt blue mosaic tiles, you are quickly transported to another more elegant time and place through the tremendous effort, expense, and careful aesthetic choices of the owners. From what one has read about the 1930s, however, one does not want to go too far down that particular path of memories; suffice it to say that it is a lovely place to spend the night, especially if you are there to dine in the other worldly restaurant, Le Coquillage.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are of course the way to go. They all have silly names of spices and shells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    51
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
211
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip around Normandy and Brittany. This charming and historical house sits on top of the cliff and the view from the garden, guest rooms and restaurant was stunning. Our room (cardamom) was not large but came with nicely designed bathroom and a large balcony with the stunning view of the sea. We enjoyed sipping the complementary calvados in the balcony each evening. The ground is huge and it was fun watching animals and different vegetables being grown there. You can also walk down to the shore easily to stroll. In one evening we had a seafood tasting menu at the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant which was also very memorable (and reasonable). There are also oyster and mussels stands within a short drive from the hotel which serve freshest catch daily. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank akiraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
350 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This 1930's era "chateau" has gorgeous grounds, lovely rooms, a super restaurant, and wonderful views over the bay, with Mont St. Michel at a long distance. There's a two-night minimum, alas. The hotel provides thoughtful extras like fruit in the room, flowers, and a turndown service. The restaurant is elegant, with inventive as well as classic dishes, top quality at a corresponding price. Service is friendly and capable. Breakfast price is ridiculous, but Cancale is close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A wonderful hotel, tucked into the cliff and overlooking the Bay. We had the best room and were able to see Mont St Michel from the room though it is about forty minutes drive from the Mont. It was well worth it. Everything in the hotel was perfect and the dining experience three star. Visit St Malo which is only a few minutes from the property and spend a day discovering and walking this old city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were lucky enough to have a room decorated discretely with gold and turquoise mosaics and that looked out over the bay and extensive gardens that reach down to a sandy beach for walking and musing. The hotel has a little out building that serves as a bakery for the excellent three-star restaurant. All the public rooms are bright and sunny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This small chateau is reminiscent of a country house in an Agatha Christie novel - with a bit of Enid Blyton thrown in! Its decor transports you back to the thirties: parquet flooring, wood panelling and a grand staircase dominate the public areas. Natural light floods through the many windows that overlook the bay. The staff are formally attired. Yet next to the reception desk is a basket of beach towels and a sign offering the loan of wellingtons, letting you know that this is a place where you can relax. The staff's friendliness confirms this.

My partner and I often stay here for a night or two and love it. Each room has its own character and is named after a spice (reflecting Olivier Rollinger's passion for flavours). We would be hard pushed to say which is our favourite. Gingembre and Galangal have close to 270 degree views of the bay. Anis Etoilée is romantically decorated with blue mosaic and also has good views. Safran doesn't have views but is beautifully laid out and opens directly onto the beautiful grounds - great if you have brought your dog. I'm hoping to have stayed in all of the rooms by the time I die as each has its own charm.

For the more sophisticated traveller, you do have to put up with sharing a sink and handheld showers in the bath even though the taps are made by Rolex! The toiletries are pretty standard Relais Chateaux products with SLS in them (not good for sensitive skins).

If you wander into the gardens of the hotel, you may find one of two paths that lead to the beach, the hotel's herb garden, vegetable garden, flower garden, orchard, and its flock of sheep. It has glades and tree swings and many hidden places where benches face the sea. The food in the restaurant is sublime (the art could be better though!). Breakfast is a more casual affair with crepes, homemade jam and pastries and oysters from the bay all featuring on the menu.

The popularity of this hotel is steadily increasing and it isn't open all year round. If you want grandeur, go somewhere else. If you are seeking casual elegance, relative solitude and a place to relax, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scribblescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The restaurant is just top!!! Fresh, tastefull, well-balanced; well-presented @ the right price for what you get. Any review questionning this quality is to be questionned as well :).

At the same time, the restaurant is the main focus of the chateau richeux. I confirm that the rooms are great, R&C quality, very clean, great views, etc. So, nothing to pinpoint on this level. However, having your breakfast latest @ 9h30 (in order to be ready with the restaurant for the lunch) is not our preferred timing to have a relaxing week-end.

Does this create a negative view on this hotel: no, not at all. It is a place to go back whenever you are around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancale
2.1 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#4 of 13 in Cancale
366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#3 of 13 in Cancale
165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#9 of 13 in Cancale
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Richeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Richeux

Property: Chateau Richeux
Address: 1 rue du Guesclin, 35260 Cancale, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cancale
#2 Family Hotel in Cancale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Richeux 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Chateau Richeux Cancale
Chateau Richeux Hotel Cancale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing