We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful despite the weather”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Loriais

One of several seating areas in the garden. The grand Kiwi  arch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of several seating areas in the garden. The grand Kiwi  arch
Front view of the gite, leading straight on to fabulous country walks Pool and Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
One of several seating areas in the garden. The grand Kiwi  arch
Front view of the gite, leading straight on to fabulous country walks
Pool and Gardens
Lawn and Stables
Kitchen
Living room
Original french roll top bath plus power shower not shown.
Garden
Garden
Garden
Pool
Pool 10 x5 mtrs
Pool
Garden and seating area
Kitchen with seperate laundry and dishwasher.
Lounge diner 50 sq mtrs with log burner and underfloor heating.
Large double bedroom with en suite bathroom with bath and power shower.Second double  with shower.
Bathroom for second bedroom
Bathroom for second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fougeres, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Welinever
Northants
2 reviews
“Wonderful despite the weather”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely place for couples and families, we went with our 2 and 5 yr old and it was great for them, with lovely gardens and pool and friendly animals. The weather wasn't grea4 but we still had a good break, which shows how good the property and local area is.
Barry and Gail were lovely and treated us like family, even getting some toys for the gite for the kids as this was the first time, I think, they'd had children as young as ours. This thoughtfulness and kindness exemplifies the way they look after you.

We'd definitely book again, in fact the kids have already asked when we are going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“The prefect place to relax.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you want to get away from it all, then I have no hesitation in recommending Loriais. We wanted to visit Brittany as we had never been, and this was a great place to use as a base. It is in the middle of nowhere (local village about 2km away - which has all the stores you will need) and a great place to just kick back and chill. Barry and Gail (the owners) are lovely and are on hand to assist in any way and at the same time they will just leave you in peace if that's what you want. The Gite is spacious, tastefully decorated and has every mod con including Wifi and UK Satellite TV. The pool and lounging area around it are beautiful and it gets the sun all day. If you love animals then you will have the extra bonus of dogs, cats, horses, hens and even a goat for company.

We spent a week there and split our time 50/50 between chilling at the Gite and visiting local towns and attractions, Fougeres is only 30 minutes away, a bit further north is St Malo which is worth a visit as is Dinan. It takes about 90 minutes to get up to the Normandy coast and is also worth a visit.

We had a lovely relaxing time, Gail and Barry were the perfect hosts and we would have no hesitation in booking again or recommending to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willem_te...
catwick
2 reviews
“again perfect”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

stayed for second time and it has been super again. so much to explore in this area but the best of this holiday is the hosts. Gail and Barry are the most accomodating and helpful peolple you will ever meet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldilock...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were greeted at the gite like old friends. Barry even met us in the village as we'd got lost.
The house was exactly as it appeared on the Internet, our only surprise was that you didn't have direct access from the rooms of the Gite into the garden that is pictured on the web site, you have to go through a side gate and up some steps from the main front door. Once you are in the garden it is heaven, beautifully maintained with a fabulous swimming pool (salt water and very clean and although not heated it was a very comfortable temperature).
Barry and Gail are the best hosts imaginable, nothing is too much trouble.
The location is very peaceful, the bird song was amazing. The old railway track gives a tree lined walk to the edge of the village, perfect for dog walking in the heat, or a bike ride.
Barry is a mine of information for touring around and gave us some great ideas.
Our week went by too quickly, thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willem_te...
catwick
2 reviews
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever been on. the gite was perfect with a private pool and every thing you need to have a relaxing time. the kids loved all the animals with tintin being the favorite off course. the location is second to none and very quite just as we like it but within a short distance of driving there is all you could wish for whether it is old towns, fun parcs or animal attractions. what made this holiday extra special was Gail and Barry which are the nicest people you could ever meet and very helpful in every way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quietness & Barry & Gail
Liked least: Barry & Gail joint with the house excellent build quality
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria R
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely,rural setting for total relaxation”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If relaxation is what you are after then this is the holiday for you .If the weather is good you need do nothing more than sit around the pool with a good book but equally if you want to get out and about then Mont St Michel is breath-taking ,Fougere is picturesque and the Wednesday market in St Hilaire is great for local produce . A little further afield St Malo , Bayeux and the Normandy beaches are both beautiful and steeped in history aswell as much busier than the local,rural towns but a car is essential .
The Gite itself is like home from home with all mod cons ,only much more stylish!
The children loved the close proximity of the horses, goat ,chickens,dog and cats and the bike rides through the surrounding woodlands.
Our hosts Barry and Gail were so lovely...available with helpful tips on day trips and Barry even came with us to the vets to complete our doggy passport as we only have basic French speaking skills.
We couldn't recommend this holiday highly enough so book with confidence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation and pool
Liked least: a little bit of rain !
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing