We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location; good breakfast, but room was tiny..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Balzac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balzac Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Certificate of Excellence
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location; good breakfast, but room was tiny..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I am reluctant to criticise. It is a 2-star and generally you get what you pay for. We booked a double room for 2 nights, but the room was so small we could barely get our luggage in. You needed matchstick-thin legs to walk around the bed, and even then they would rub together.
The bells might be an issue if you are at the front and not good sleeper.
Afraid we cancelled 2nd night.
Overall, rooms too small to be called double.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    62
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
63
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stopped overnight en route from Calais to Brittany and proved to be an inspired choice. Location was ideal in the middle of town, the family room for 4 of us (comprising 3 generations) was adequate with flat screen TV in each room and a better than expected shower.

Bonus was that we stayed Friday night and had time to enjoy the market on Saturday morning and a walk around the hsitoric part of Fougeres. The staff were welcoming and the Lady 'Patron' especially helpful. We took her advice and ate at the little place at the back of the hotel - sorry, can't remember the name.

Traditional french food, splendidly cooked and presented. They were very accommodating for an excited and tired 2 year old, despite having a large party there for a birthday celebration.

Parking is freely available at public car parks close by, but they are busy on market day.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which overlooks the main street. There was the early morning noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hertsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Balzac Hotel in early June. Very charming hotel. Great breakfast. Great location. Wonderful owners. Very affordable. Free parking in a nearby garage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Lovely little hotel with very welcoming owners. Room small but very clean and comfortable.
Exactly what you would hope for from a local hotel. Owners very helpful and utterly charming. (Good English spoken). Great breakfast.
I sleep rather well so did not have any problems with the church bell. If you are a light sleeper you might want to take earplugs and a bottle of Calvados to bed with you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LostWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stopped off en route south from Cherbourg.... Typical quirky French rooms with old fashioned wall-paper and 1960's bathroom suite and fittings. The main drawback with this place is the location, because although it's situated in the middle of the old part of town (v. handy), there is a clock with bell that chimes EVERY 15 minutes throughout the night (not v. handy)....However, the bed was very comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. Breakfast was typically French with the freshest of bread, but alas the coffee served in open-topped jugs which just meant that it was luke-warm. The owners were very nice, spoke good English and put up with my bad French. If you are a light sleeper, ask for one of the rooms on the back of the hotel...

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel if you want to get away from the bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Owners very welcoming and friendly, we were only non French residents. Good English spoken. Rooms a bit small. Location great right on main street.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

After driving through Normandy for the day we were looking forward to a comfy bed and a cosy room, with Balzac hotel we got both.
Although the rooms are tiny they are great value for money and all you need if you are just passing through. The bed was comfy, the room cosy, warm, clean and tidy. Although I was worried when we arrived about the bells ringing it did not worry me once I went to bed.
The proprietor was friendly,helpful and spoke extremely good English! Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingRyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fougeres
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Voyageurs
1.3 mi away
Brit Hotel du Parc
Brit Hotel du Parc
#1 of 7 in Fougeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Fougeres
Campanile Fougeres
#4 of 7 in Fougeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#5 of 7 in Fougeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 1 in Saint-Brice-en-Cogles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
18.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balzac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balzac Hotel

Property: Balzac Hotel
Address: 15 rue Nationale, 35300 Fougeres, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Fougeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balzac Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balzac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balzac Hotel Fougeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing