We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quite house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Bruyeres

Αύγουστος 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Αύγουστος 2016
Breakfast on the terrace Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Αύγουστος 2016
Breakfast on the terrace
Living room
Front garden
The ground floor bathroom is very small, but has a good spacious shower!
Breakfast bar and open plan kitchen
Spring morning
Kitchen
Master bedroom
View from the terrace in summer
Twin beds upstairs (open plan, showing top of staircase on the right)
Spring morning, April 2018
Living room
Evening
Chateau de Fougeres - a large,  well preserved medieval castle only ten miles away
This lake in the Forest of Fougeres is 10 minutes away by car, and has a swimming/paddling beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fougeres, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mobile731...
1 review
“Lovely quite house”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A comfortable and quiet rural location with very short drive to town and shops. The owners met us on arrival and were very friendly and helpful.
Local area has a variety of medieval towns, castles and churches and farms making and selling their own cider ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellew...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a relaxing stay at this lovely little French gite which had everything that we required for our one week stay. The location is peaceful with fantastic wildlife including deer, birds of prey, butterflies and rabbits. The gite is comfortable and clean with bed linen and towels supplied which was great for us as we had to travel light on our motorbike, which we were able to park in the garage. The surrounding area was great and the local village had everything you required in terms of food, fuel and character. Great location for visiting castles and chateaux.
I would not hesitate staying again and recommending to my friends and family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you very much! It's great that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane20
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't look further”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage, has everything one might need and more, the garden and surroundings are beautiful!!
The owners are very easy to communicate with.
The village is 5mins drive, including supermarket and restaurants and even 24hrs petrol station.
We truly had a lovely time and if you are looking for a rural getaway book this cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you very much, we loved reading your review and are so glad the holiday went well. Patience and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Low bedroom ceiling. Kept bumping head.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you very much - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Eric and Patience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barry R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nirvana in France.”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Les Bruyeres for a week as part of our trip to France in celebration of our first wedding anniversary and our birthdays all within days of one another. We had had three days in Paris and then drove over from Paris to Les Bruyeres. The directions were very clear and concise and we were able to get there without any hiccups or hassle what so ever. The cottage was everything we expected and more to allow us to have a very relaxing time following the hub bub of Paris.

As it happened the owners were there as we arrived but were just getting ready to leave, were not imposing and very polite and welcoming. They gave us a tour of everything which was unexpected but additionally not necessary as there is a very helpful guide book in the cottage pointing out all that you need to know about the cottage, its amenities and information for the tourists for the surrounding area.

The cottage is small in stature but boasts an array of facilities that make staying there so easy. Without sounding silly, there is an oven and washing machine and so on, as you’d expect but they are all simple and easy to use with instructions for you. Nothing was a task and nothing is in your way, the space is used to its maximum without being overcrowded there is a space for everything and everything has its space. Its lovely.

There is an amount of CD’s, DVD’s and literature as well as a very well organised TV and speaker system to ensure you have entertainment at your fingertips in what ever language. English and continental sockets and wi fi too so you can keep in touch with the outside world and research where to go and what to do.

Additionally there is wood galore for the fire, a washing line inside and outside, a large garage should you need to garage your vehicle and also deck chairs and other outside equipment.

The downstairs bedroom is small and an adult as tall as me 6’4” would struggle but anyone else would find it adequate.

The bathroom is small containing a sink, toilet and shower but the shower is spacious having passed the elbow test.

In all the sleeping arrears there are also lots of drawers to store clothes and suitcases fit under the eaves out of the way.

The cottage is in very good order and is very clean and easy to keep clean too. It is a delight and just sitting looking at it imagining what it would be like to live there through changing seasons was a happy time for me too.

I was concerned that the rural setting would mean that we were miles from anything and have troubles getting supplies for our stay but that is quite the opposite. The lane you drive down to the cottage really does take you to the countryside and country quiet in very short time having left the lovely town of Louvigne du desert in minutes. The large super market really does have everything you’d need. There are a couple of bakeries in the village too so a long work, short cycle (supplied) or shorter drive means its fresh pastries for breakfast every day. Mmmmmm.

We didn’t make it to Rennes which is not far away but Fougere, St Holiare, St Mont Michel and St Malo are all close and we visited them all. Just remember in Fougeres that lunch is for lunch and dinner is for dinner but eating out of those times isn’t easy but there are lots of places to eat. We ate in the restaurant in Louvigne and had take out Pizza and Burger from the Italian, lovely.

Did you know that the property is not far from the Tour De France route for stage three?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This place as everything a home should have and is very welcoming.
Liked least: that we could not stay longer and that I didnt see an adult salamander.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for this!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvea25
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely gite in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent a week at Les Bruyeres in May 2016.. The gite is very well equipped with quality appliances and detailed instructions for their use.. We loved the fire and lit one just about every night. When we had a problem with using our European adaptors, we had a very quick reply from the owners with immediate help. The gite is situated in easy access of a lolt of wonderful sites. We visited Mont Saint Michel, Rennes, Vitre, and Fougeres.
There is a supermarket with service station close by. We found eating at home at night very easy.
We are 3 women of 70 years. We did find the spiral staircase bit difficult as it is quite tight. Everything else was great fir us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and cleanliness. The fire
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Glad you had a good time and were comfortable. Thank you for leaving the place so tidy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reims, France
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing