We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Relaxing.”
Review of Manoir des Portes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manoir des Portes
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lamballe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We only had a quick night stopover on way to Roscoff ferry after the funeral of a dear friend so arrived tired and feeling rather drained. The hosts were efficient and friendly and we retired to an adequate double room overlooking the front and carpark (but still green with trees and lawns). After a quick nap we were refreshed with a drink in the bar and tempted by the delicious home-cured ham to sample the restaurant. So glad we did as we ventured out to the terrace, lovely gardens and into the very pretty old house to the restaurant where we enjoyed a lovely relaxed meal. A perfect end to our hectic day. Such a pretty peaceful place with exceptional food.

Room Tip: Rooms in old house with garden views may be preferable but were all full when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stumbled across this place on a mini tour of Brittany , the room we had was quite small but for the one night was fine . The staff were friendly and helpful , the restaurant served some lovely food and the hotel is situated very closely to both Lamballe and the main road across Brittany .
The roaring wood fire in the bar area was a joy on a cold February night !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was booked using the mini breaks with Brittany Ferries. The reception was very friendly and helpful. We had hoped for twin beds and shown a double but on request a twin was organised immediately without fuss. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and most had some English and one very good English. The room was spotless and comfortable. The only problem was showering as there was only a screen on the end of the bath not the side so keeping the floor dry was almost impossible-a small thing which certainly did not spoil our stay. The breakfast included cereals, ham, cheese, bread, croissant, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, a selection of jams and fresh fruit, with coffee, tea or chocolate. The restaurant was good value for money and the food delicious. We had the 27euro menu for three courses. We also had between us a half litre and pint (yes pint) of beer, a glass of wine and a coffee (decaff) for just about 75 euros. The situation is well outside Lamballe (a town distinctly short of restaurants we only found a pizzeria which was good) but in a secluded spot and very peaceful. We would recommend a stay here if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendlyone_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at the Manoir with a Car Club this month. Location, rooms absolutely charming. It was obvious that they have a very talented chef, and I would recommend anyone to go there, but not in a group as they were not able to offer us their full menu. It was most frustrating watching superb food disappearing to an adjoining room for the other clientele. The bread was some of the best we have encountered in France, and that is saying something.
I would also suggest that hairdryers in the rooms, and the removal of the outdoor sofa with a large hole in it would be a good idea.

Room Tip: The rooms are priced differently so that should enable you to decide which are the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here while cycling around the area - one at the beginning of our trip and one at the end so we stayed in 2 rooms.

Both rooms we had were comfortable, the first one had a large timber beam just above the bed so just needed to mind your head. The rooms are all a bit different, part of the charm of some of the hotels in old buildings.

We had dinner both nights and the food was good. There is the choice of eating inside or in the garden which we did as it was quite pleasant outside in the evening.

In the afternoon when we arrived I quite enjoyed the local beer that they had on tap however my wife was not so fond of the cider.

The breakfast was fine, the Tea/Coffee was served in bowls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamtime_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We made this hotel our base for a walking and cycling holiday.
The food was delightful and the owner very friendly and helpful.
The gardens were extensive and had a lovely terrace for drinks or dining.
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights, quiet rural location and beautiful old building, now a family run hotel.The rooms are comfortable and the hotel avoids the ubiquitous 'boutique' tag, however old buildings do have their quirks!The rooms overlook the gardens, full of roses when we visited. Owners are helpful and drinks at the bar are reasonable prices.we ate in the restaurant which was FANTASTIC , somewhat surprisingly given the laid back ambience of the rest of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamballe
3.3 mi away
Les Caps
Les Caps
#1 of 4 in Lamballe
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Lamballe
Kyriad Lamballe
#4 of 4 in Lamballe
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Lion D'or
Le Lion D'or
#3 of 4 in Lamballe
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Chateaux du Val - Domaine du Val
4.8 mi away
Manoir de la Hazaie
Manoir de la Hazaie
#2 of 2 in Planguenoual
62 reviews
11.3 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#3 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir des Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir des Portes

Address: La Poterie, 22400 Lamballe, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Lamballe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lamballe
Price Range: £63 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir des Portes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manoir des Portes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Portes Lamballe, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing