We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and smelly!”

Residence des Perles
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roscoff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence des Perles
Ranked #5 of 6 Roscoff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

To be fair the proprietress was sick and met us in her pajamas. I had not had a confirmation and it was late so I was just happy to know we did in fact have a room. Our joy was short lived. A couple who had spent the night in our room the night before tried to get us to swap rooms with them, they had 2 singles on the same floor. The main problem though were the bathrooms which appeared to be spotlessly clean stunk like a load of manure had been freshly delivered. The stench was so bad as to make both my wife and I nauseous. The rooms were very noisy with only one shared bathroom and toilet per floor. The steps to the room are very steep. We had an early ferry to catch so did not eat breakfast which is served off site at a restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend break in Roscoff. This trip was turned from being an average weekend away to being an absolutely brilliant and memorable occasion that will stay with us forever. At no point in the whole of our stay with Mme Francoise Cadiou did we feel like customers we were made to feel like old friends or evendare I say members of the family.
Francoise is a lovely lady whom keeps a charming guest house that is spotlessly clean,well lit and airy. Great views from the room and a wonderful place to stay.
If i were more articulate then i would describe this better but cannot so my advise is to stay there if you can andmaybe you can describe your stay better than I but I would be amazed if you didnt enjoy yourstay at Residence des Perles

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I visited Roscoff from September 12 through 14, 2011. After reading through numerous B&B and hotel reviews and websites, we decided on the Residence des Perles. We could not have made a better choice.

Located in the heart of Roscoff, the Residence des Perles is surrounded by cafes, restaurants and shops and is within a five minute walk of the harbor. It possesses all of the charm as well as some of the inconveniences of a XV century building. For example, our room was quiet, bright and airy with a window at each end and a modern bathroom. The WC was across the hall but this posed no problem and was more than adequately compensated for by the room itself which was decorated with ornately carved fittings salvaged from an old church or perhaps a monastery. Wi-Fi was available. Breakfast was always more than ample and the baked goods were fresh and delicious.

While the Residence Des Perles’ location and physical facilities are among the best we’ve encountered, its character is very definitely defined by Mme Francoise Cadiou, the B&B’s helpful, friendly and well traveled owner. U.S. travelers will be pleased to know that Mme Cadiou speaks some English, having studied the language at the University of Michigan some years ago, and that she has made numerous visits to Chicago. Travelers interested in Vietnam will be happy to know that she has lived in that country for extended periods and that she was very happy to share with us some of her thousands of photos of Saigon and Vietnam in general and of the hill tribe people in particular. We consider it a privilege to have been invited to view some of her collection with her.

As further indications of her very helpful and outgoing personality, Mme Cadiou volunteered to and then met us at the train station when we arrived and drove us back to the station when we left. One afternoon, while we were enjoying a glass of wine in the B&B’s small, charming courtyard, Mme Cadiou invited us to join her while she ran some errands in St. Pol de Leon, a nearby village with an ancient cathedral that we would not otherwise have seen.

Overall, staying at the Residence des Perles and becoming acquainted with Mme Cadiou were truly among the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Herbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We enjoyed a lovely mini-break here with a kind and generous hostess. The room was comfortable with pretty views and the breakfasts were very good. A peaceful oasis in the very heart of Roscoff, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is a beautiful little place. It has so much character with the old stone walls, little castle like turrets and lovely little courtyard garden. Close to the centre of the village with the bars and restaurants but at the same time hidden away down a small lane.

It has free plentiful 24 hour parking just around the corner, (just need to remember to take a free ticket every 24 hours). Wi-Fi along with 2 computers you are welcome to use in the dining room if you want

The hotel was great but the best thing about the stay was Francoise the owner. We arrived late in the evening after a choppy crossing from Plymouth on the ferry. She welcomed us in and with myself still looking a little green from the crossing made us a big pot of tea to take up to our room.

That is typical Francoise. She cannot do enough to make her guests feel at home and have an enjoyable stay. By the end of our 3 day stopover it felt like someone had invited us back to their very charming and lovely home as a guest rather than simply staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bkj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Francoise Cadiou is very possibly the most gracious hostess we encountered on our trip to France. We have stayed in Roscoff before, and from now on will only stay at des Perles. The residence is charming (like a tiny castle), the rooms were very comfortable, the food was excellent, and the company of Madame Cadiou was worth a trip all by itself. She told us of her work in Vietnam (and continuing charity work for a school), shared some amazing stories and brandy, and even gave us a lift into Morlaix. She is a native of the area and has great insight and knowledge that only a long-time resident can share. We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: The rooms were wonderful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pyromomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Franscoise went out of her way to make our stay a most enjoyable experience , she not only picked us up in the early Sunday morning at the Port of Roscoff , she had breakfast waiting for us as well!! She also drove that afternoon to pick up my daughter, son in law and baby grandson from the train station, which was about a 30 minute trip each way as we were not able to procure a hire car until the Monday. We felt really at home and our hostess was simply amazing, she really is the best, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armen Le Triton
Hotel Armen Le Triton
#9 of 12 in Roscoff
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence des Perles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence des Perles

Address: 10 rue Armand Rousseau, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscoff
Price Range: £26 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francoise will welcome you as friends in her old stone house from the 16th century in Roscoff, small city of character in Brittany. Francoise has 2 bedrooms for 2 people with their own private bathrooms and 1 family suite including 4 beds in 3 bedrooms. The house is in the city center, close to the church, the harbour, restaurants and shops. A typical French breakfast is included in the price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Des Perles Hotel Roscoff
Residence Des Perles Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing