We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood overlooking the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Sceaux, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great seafood overlooking the sea”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We recently spent a very nice getaway weekend at Le Brittany in Roscoff. The northern coast of Brittany has been preserved from most developers as the climate is not the most enticing for non locals, so Roscoff remains a beautiful traditional town wrapped around its port. As to the hotel, very comfortable rooms where at high tide you could be forgiven for thinking you are actually at see given how close from the shore the hotel is.
As to the restaurant, take nothing but fish or seafood, as the chef really has a magical touch with lobster, turbot and all sea products more generally. Despite living in Paris, I can't think of any place where seefood is so fresh and well cooked.
My wife was also very pleased with the spa.
Now for the small drawbacks: food is not cheap, waiters are a bit traditional in the way they adress you (although after two days they were easy to befriend), and during week days if you are under 50 you are probably lowering the average guest age (not on saturdays I must say).

Room Tip: Seaview of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alnacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    138
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
61
496
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent several nights at Le Brittany. We had a very nice room with a sea view, which was lovely, and we had wonderful weather and could observe the sunset and had all of the benefits of the sea air. The hotel pool was a great asset, though we did not use the spa, and we were surprised that the pool was so under-used by hotel guests.

Hotel guests who are looking for peace and quiet and sleep into the late morning should stay away from the sea view rooms, especially on the first floor, as there is a lot of noise from the rooms above and from the dining room below in the morning. This did not bother us greatly as we were up and out early. Late in the evening, you might again be bothered by cigar smoke and loud voices from the front patio.

Our overall impression of the hotel was that the staff was not very accommodating to the wishes and needs of their guests and that they had a rather condescending attitude, with some exceptions. This made us decide to breakfast at a 15 minutes walk elsewhere -- as there was no proper à la carte menu in the hotel for those who wanted a lighter than 23 euro buffet fare (say a simple expresso and croissant) -- and eventually to cancel a dinner reservation that we had made prior to arrival. Also, if you plan to order a glass of champagne at the bar, be aware that the price per glass is 18 euros....

Overall, a great property with lovely views, but alas lacking the right touch in its management.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline-LosAngeles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Brittany & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Caroline,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Le Brittany & Spa. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the lovely setting.

I take very seriously your comment about our staff. First of all, i apologize for this and if everything wasn't as perfect as it should always be. That's why i also had a meeting with all the team to remember that our priority is to satisfy all our guests. You can be sure that it will never happen again.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose this hotel for a 2 night stay, by looking for a “boutique hotel” in Brittany to base ourselves for a short holiday. Relais et Chateaux hotels have invariably made us happy when we have stayed at them, so we selected this hotel using their website. [Note: Relais et Chateaux website is attractive, and you get to see offers of various different packages, but navigating the booking process online to access offers is frustrating. We had seen a “3 nights for the price of 2” package at another hotel in the group, which could not be accessed despite clicking on it, and which when we phoned we were told was not available for the nights we wanted.]

The location of the hotel, on the wild Breton coast looking over towards the old town of Roscoff, is fantastic. We arrived as another couple were checking in, but the receptionist acknowledged us quietly, and indicated that he would come to us when he had finished. This gave us a chance to check out the grand reception area, look into the restaurant and the bar, and get rather excited at the prospect of dinner.

The receptionist was charming. He asked whether we wished to speak French or English, and when I said “French” he said, kindly, “doucement” and proceeded to explain to us carefully the features of the hotel, showing us the dining room and the bar formally, before showing us to our room on the first floor at the back. We had chosen a room without a view, on the basis that we didn’t intend to spend much time in the room apart from to sleep, nevertheless the room was spacious, airy, light, and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with a marble floor. Our room had French windows opening onto a private patio, with sunbeds on it, so that we could sit or lie out in the sunshine. This hotel also has a spa, but we didn’t use that facility.

For us, the highlight of this hotel was the dining experience. I have not sat in many restaurants which can boast a view such as this one, which overlooks the bay towards Roscoff. Even if you just sat there for two hours you’d enjoy yourself. We ate dinner here on both nights: the first night’s menu choice for us was “Le tout homard”, in which each course was a celebration of lobster, until you got to the “pre-dessert”. The service was top notch, and the dishes were attractive and good to eat. We did feel very full after this meal, largely I think because of the cheesy pre dessert, which was considerably larger than the fruity dessert which followed it, but perhaps also because we had so enjoyed the home made bread to mop up sauce, and rather more so than would have been advisable! Anyway, no problem, because a walk along the coast as the sun was setting was enough to make us feel ready for bed after a while.

Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room, so we had the same spectacular view, although of course different due to the tide and time of day. [At bedtime our room had been prepared with a little slip of paper giving us the time of high tides for the next day: a nice touch.] We were served a choice of orange or apple juice, and offered tea, coffee or chocolate, our choice of which was brought to the table for us in a pot. The rest of breakfast was a fine buffet, including a home made pate de Campagne, local hams, cheeses, yoghourts, fruit, bread, boiled eggs, patisserie: everything we could want.

On our second night we decided to eat more frugally, well, within reason given that the menus were so tempting. We had a “Menu decouvert” with wines to accompany each course. Again, excellent service, very fine cooking, a most enjoyable meal, but (and I feel bad to criticise this) I just felt that in my main course (slices of duck breast, described as being with algae, dates and kumquat) - a tiny bit more depth of flavour could have been teased from the ingredients. That’s really being picky though: we don’t often eat as well as we did here, and the overall dining experience is one which will stay in my memory as a supremely happy one for a very long time.

The check-out procedure was cheerful, and we left with well-wishes for our onward route, feeling that this is definitely a hotel we wish to return to in the future for another relaxing and comforting stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siandmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Brittany & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Siandmon,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Le Brittany & Spa. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience at the hotel and also at our restaurant Le Yachtman.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, rooms are good, not overly expensive. However the restaurant is expensive, but what a wonderful experience. Food was excellent, the description of the ingredience just can't do it justice, you have to taste it. Take a look at the menu on their website

We sat at a table overlooking the sea on a Sunday evening (and this is one of the restaurants that's open on a Sunday) and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff are all very pleasant, and very helpful. I'd stay again at the drop of a hat, but I'd need to save up first

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Brittany & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Le Brittany & Spa. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner at our gourmet restaurant.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely location by the sea, just a short walk along the sea front to the town. The pool was really nice, the staff polite and friendly, and there is plenty of parking. It has a cool bar too. We stayed in a standard double room on the ground floor at the rear, which was small and a bit stuffy - I guess you have to stay in one of the suites to really get the best experience of this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DPandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Brittany & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear DPandJJ,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Le Brittany & Spa. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is an incredibly quaint, beautiful hotel in a great location. It's only a 2 minute drive from the ferry port and there is only short drive or walk into the center of Roscoff. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.
The food is rather expensive, so not good if you're on a budget.
Service was fantastic, they go out of their way to make you comfortable.
At the time we went in April, it was very quiet, at breakfast there were only 3 of us.
The views are breathtaking and you can't ask for a better place to stay in Roscoff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Brittany & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Rosieb1408,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Le Brittany & Spa. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I went there this summer 2013, it was so warm and with a friend, we decided to have an nice glass of wine and a fruit juice.
The service was really professional and the wine was delicious.
The view is amazing. The terrasse is so charming.
Nice place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cralox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscoff
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
16.9 mi away
Logis De La Butte
Logis De La Butte
#1 of 1 in Plouider
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brittany & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brittany & Spa

Property: Hotel Brittany & Spa
Address: Boulevard Sainte Barbe, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roscoff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brittany & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brittany & Spa is a 17th century manor by the sea, completly renovated, with indoor swimming pool, spa and very closed acces to the beach. Juste 5 mns walking from the Marina and Ferries port. 23 Rooms and apartments ensuite, satellite tv, free wifi, coffee and tea maker... Our Restaurant (Le Yachtman) with as executive chef Loic Le Bail. Wonderful views on the all harbour and Isle of Batz. You will appreciate the wonderful sunset from the restaurant or on the terrace. We offer you a free access to our indoor heated swimming pool and private acces to our spa with suplt. For your security, we offer you private and safe car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brittany & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Brittany Hotel
Le Brittany Roscoff
Hotel Brittany & Spa Roscoff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing