We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not luxury, but good, clean & well-maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not luxury, but good, clean & well-maintained”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location with superb views over the harbour. The room furniture is a bit basic, but clean, well-maintained and comfortable. Breakfast good at extra Euros 9.50.
Recommended to stay before or after boarding ferry. We used local restaurants, which are good and plentiful.
Staff very helpful.
Quite quiet despite being in town centre
Negative points: no lift and bathroom lighting rather dim.

Room Tip: Room 23. 2nd floor. Good size, excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    74
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
161
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to our ferry home the next morning and I was sad to leave. I expected little of a ferry port in terms of the town and even less from the hotels surrounding it, how wrong could I have been. The hotel is lovely and not expensive, comfortable with a great bar and fabulous views over the harbour. The restaurant itself has one of the best views in town so be sure to check it out. The food was great although we only ate lunch there but my partners artichoke with ribs and lobster was a delight and highly recommended. Also the town itself is a little gem with the main street looking like it was picked from one of the Harry Potter films such was its charm. So if you find yourself in Roscoff do not be worried and head here, you will not regret it. :-)

Room Tip: There are a couple of sea facing rooms so ask for one of these, we stayed on the third floor and alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Dave,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and especially our artichoke lobster and ribs. It is one of the new dish of our new chief.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We needed a cheap overnight room before catching the early morning ferry; this more than filled the bill. Basic facilities but very clean, comfortable bed, bathroom fine apart from the hand basin plug did not work (room 1) and a flat screen TV but no English channels.
We booked in on a Sunday, the staff were quite helpful.
I’d recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hôtel du Centre - Chez Janie.

It is with pleasure that i read that you appreciated your stay.

Thank you for helping us to give better service with your feedback. We are sorry for the electrical outlet. We repaired it as soon as we read your comment.

I look forward to welcome you back soon at Roscoff.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
Directeur de chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We love this hotel and its lovely staff. We had a delightful stay there last week and are ready to be back. Our room, 25 at the second floor was quiet and clean. Comfy bed and nice bathroom. Breakfast is excellent. Cheap hotel but high quality and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Charline,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Chez Janie.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
Directeur de Chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is the perfect spot to visit Roscoff. Our room was clean and welcoming. We didn't book so we just arrived and visit the rooms. I recommend the 14. It's at the first floor and because it's at this floor, you have a little sea view. But they charged as a village view so it's interesting. The breakfast is good and cost 9,50 euros (it's a buffet). They have excellent croissants and home-made cakes. There are a free parking at two minutes from the hotel. We had meals in their excellent restaurant "Janie". It's better to book if you want to have a table at the front to have a view on the harbor. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laetitiaangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Laetitia,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Chez Janie.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
Gérant de Chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room was just as the picture depicted. This a very convenient location for walking into the beautiful Brittany countryside, catching the ferry across to the wonderful Ile de Batz or just wondering around the picturesque town of Roscoff. The staff were helpful and friendly and made my stay all the more enjoyable. Clean room, comfy bed, beautiful view and excellent servicing of the room daily. I didn't try the restaurant in the end, as when I asked for a menu I was directed to the blackboard outside. This may have been a communication problem on my part. The bar was pleasant though. Was lucky to be able to make an early check-in off the morning ferry (in easy walking distance) and they looked after my bag when I checked out on my final morning, so I could go and explore some more in the glorious sunshine! I would certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Janet,

Many thanks for your review. We are proud to make your stay delightful.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
Gérant de Chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Mande, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely pleasant stay.Our room was clean, comfy and quiet with a small balcony. The restaurant was very good from the food quality to the service. everything was perfect and delicious. We changed dinner for lunch by a call and they thank us for it. Friendly staff. Convenient hotel. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Sophia S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hôtel du Centre - Chez Janie.

It is with pleasure that i read that you appreciated your room and the meals at our hotel restaurant.

I look forward to welcome you back soon at Roscoff.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
Directeur de chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.3 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#4 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#2 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie

Property: Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
Address: 5 Rue Gambetta | Le Port, 29680 Roscoff, France (Formerly Hotel du Centre)
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing