We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and well positioned” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chez Janie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chez Janie
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Functional and well positioned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights whilst attending a family wedding and the hotel is well positioned just by the pretty Roscoff harbour.
Being in the centre does mean that you have street noises and as there is no a/c this means that open windows increase the volume. The rooms are clean, comfortable and simply decorated but the shower in our room was tiny.
The staff are friendly and the food as you would expect, Moules Frites and Artichokes the specialite de maison.
No lift so be prepared to hump luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fentiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Fentiger,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It's true that the hotel is a typical old house and that's why we can't have an elevator. Our staff is always willing to help with the luggages.

As you point out, our restaurant offers local cuisine made ​​with fresh ingredients. Everything is homemade. I feel happy to read that you appreciated your meals there.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    71
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
154
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location for the ferry port and is stylish and cheerful in decor. We have 2 children and a whippet and as the family room was booked we needed 2 rooms. They were next to each other, one overlooked the attractive harbour and one the town. Our 2 rooms meant it was quite an expensive overnight stay. We didn't have a hairdryer in our room and were glad of our own travel kettle. We parents took the room with best view of the harbour. We regretted this because there was very loud music coming from a neighbouring property which unfortunately didn't stop until 1am. This wasnt the fault of this charming hotel but it did mean that we didnt get a good night's sleep before our early start next day. The good news was that the boulangerie opposite was open in time for croissants at 7.30 am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Victoria,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre.

It's true that we are lucky to have a double entry and view, one on the sea with the old harbour and also one the central pedestrian street.

I feel sorry for the hair drier. We have different one at the reception for the guests. Our receptionist seems forget to give you one.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in early July. The room was fine, a little small, but very comfortable. We had a sea view room which was exactly as requested and it was a great view. The bathroom was fine and had a shower over the bath.The only problem with this room is that it backs onto a local bar, which can be noisy (especially during the World Cup!). The staff were fine without being outstanding and breakfast was ok as well. The hotel is in a great central location near to some great restaurants and bars, along with the old harbor area. Parking is near by. At these prices I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Ben,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It's true that we are lucky to have a double entry and view, one on the sea with the old habour and also one the central pedestrian street.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location with superb views over the harbour. The room furniture is a bit basic, but clean, well-maintained and comfortable. Breakfast good at extra Euros 9.50.
Recommended to stay before or after boarding ferry. We used local restaurants, which are good and plentiful.
Staff very helpful.
Quite quiet despite being in town centre
Negative points: no lift and bathroom lighting rather dim.

Room Tip: Room 23. 2nd floor. Good size, excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to our ferry home the next morning and I was sad to leave. I expected little of a ferry port in terms of the town and even less from the hotels surrounding it, how wrong could I have been. The hotel is lovely and not expensive, comfortable with a great bar and fabulous views over the harbour. The restaurant itself has one of the best views in town so be sure to check it out. The food was great although we only ate lunch there but my partners artichoke with ribs and lobster was a delight and highly recommended. Also the town itself is a little gem with the main street looking like it was picked from one of the Harry Potter films such was its charm. So if you find yourself in Roscoff do not be worried and head here, you will not regret it. :-)

Room Tip: There are a couple of sea facing rooms so ask for one of these, we stayed on the third floor and alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Dave,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Chez Janie - Hôtel du Centre. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the experience.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and especially our artichoke lobster and ribs. It is one of the new dish of our new chief.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We needed a cheap overnight room before catching the early morning ferry; this more than filled the bill. Basic facilities but very clean, comfortable bed, bathroom fine apart from the hand basin plug did not work (room 1) and a flat screen TV but no English channels.
We booked in on a Sunday, the staff were quite helpful.
I’d recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Gérant at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hôtel du Centre - Chez Janie.

It is with pleasure that i read that you appreciated your stay.

Thank you for helping us to give better service with your feedback. We are sorry for the electrical outlet. We repaired it as soon as we read your comment.

I look forward to welcome you back soon at Roscoff.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Chapalain
Directeur de chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We love this hotel and its lovely staff. We had a delightful stay there last week and are ready to be back. Our room, 25 at the second floor was quiet and clean. Comfy bed and nice bathroom. Breakfast is excellent. Cheap hotel but high quality and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie C, Directeur général at Hotel Chez Janie, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Charline,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Chez Janie.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Jean Marie Chapalain
Directeur de Chez Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.3 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Temps de Vivre
Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#1 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Janie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Janie

Property: Hotel Chez Janie
Address: 5 rue Gambetta | Le Port, 29680 Roscoff, France (Formerly Hotel du Centre)
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chez Janie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chez Janie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chez Janie Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing