We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”
Review of Hotel aux Tamaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel aux Tamaris
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well,this is a great little place with friendly owners who certainly know how to run a hotel. We stayed here for two nights and will certainly return for longer, now that we've found this place.
We had a sea view room, well worth the extra. The superking bed was really comfortable. I can't stand hard beds and most places have them now. Please don't change the beds.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and really good value.
Parking right outside and everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VILLENEUVE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can't wait to return to this lovely hotel! It is right on the waterfront in Roscoff, but a few minutes' walk from the hustle and bustle of the old port. In all, it's a perfect location. (In the absence of any taxis at the train station I had no trouble walking there, with two rather heavy wheeled suitcases.) Do try for a seafront room: the view, and the famous fresh air, are worth the whole trip!
My room (26) was not large, but that is typical of old French hotels. THe decor was great, though the carpet was a bit tired. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was very quiet; the heating in the room worked brilliantly and was easily controlled.
One caution: I rented a bicycle from the hotel, and while it was in very good condition (it seemed very new, too), it only had seven speeds. If you are poking around the coast, that's fine, but to go inland at all, even to nearby St. Pol de Leon, you will need at 21 speeds to manage the hills, unless you are a Tour-de-France type! Not sure what the other rental options are in Roscoff, but Morlaix (30 min. away) has a major cycle rental place, right outside the Tourist Info centre. Speaking of which, Morlaix's Saturday market is fabulous -- lots of organic produce, cheese, baking, and hot food.

Room Tip: I would think that any seafront room would be great. You can sit on the bed and watch the sun set ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank La_Cicaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Comfortable room with sea view. Very quiet. Lovely staff who speak English. Plentiful on street parking outside hotel. Very reasonable breakfast and bar prices. Great location very close to Centre Ville

Room Tip: Go for a front room with sea view. Top floor windows a little small but first and second floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a find. A delightful attractive hotel on the waterfront. A very pleasant welcome from Elizabeth, a bubbly personality. We were shown to our room which was delightful with a clever mirror shutters reflecting the sea. A good size bathroom with shower. Excellent breakfast with tables overlooking the sea. Free parking. Easy walk to the town and nearby the very good restaurant Le Surcouf. Early check in available.

Room Tip: No. 24 has an enormous bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

well this was a great booking for us, we got off the ferry from cork and were at the hotel at about 7.45 a.m. We were able to check in early which was wonderful and were even in time for breakfast, which was very good indeed, plenty of selection of salamis, cheeses, excellent breads, jam and croissants, juice coffee, what more could you ask for. there was if you wanted it, yogurt, crepes, caramel......

the receptionist on arrival was wonderful and friendly, our room was lovely, welcoming and spotlessly clean, shower was very powerful. all in all a great stopover in roscoff. the town itself is a lovely place to spend the day and meander around the sea front, bars and coffee and crepes houses. I wouldn't just drive away from roscoff after the ferry, treat yourself to a nice relaxing first day in france, and this hotel is just the place that fits the bill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean, smart but not starchy, and very friendly staff. Worth booking a room with a sea view. The breakfast is definitely worth having. Loved our stay.

My only concern is...I don't think there is air-conditioning, which may be a problem in a hot summer, even though the windows are huge and open really wide. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Well I thought I treat my fiancée to a special 50th birthday present to a trip to France,,well I booked this hotel,and my first impression was it was lovely ,right beside the waters edge ,can't ask for more,but once in our room was a different matter,no tea or coffee facilities ,so tea and coffee was over 5 euros for a start we stayed for two nights only had one breakfast because the morning we were leaving was to early for breakfast ,there was personnel there in the morning and they knew we were leaving early,and they never even offered us a cup of tea or coffee or said Cheerios .well I was really disappointed with the service ,don't fall in the same trap as I did with this place,you may need to think about taxi,s 95 euros to morlaix and back .32 miles approx .absolute rip off.so beware.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contacttamaris, Responsable réception at Hotel aux Tamaris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Sir,

We feel very sorry about your last stay.
When we know in advance it is a special occasion like a birthday, we always have a complementary present at your attention.
According to the early "express breakfast" you asked for before departure, it is always served in the bar lounge and not in the breakfast room, as this one is not opened yet. The staff on duty was busy when you left, but always at your disposal when required.

I hope we may have a chance to show you our professionalism another time in Roscoff.
Staying at your entire disposal.

Tours faithfully
Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aux Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aux Tamaris

Address: 49 rue Edouard Corbiere, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roscoff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#4 Family Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aux Tamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an independent and very calm hotel that offers personal attention and warm welcome, the fresh sea-air and direct access to Roscoff's cobbled streets for great prices, look no further than the Tamaris. Deceptively discreet, it sits just behind the church square and gazes elegantly over the watery horizon. The décor is themed to combine fresh linen and warm contemporary colours, while prices start from just 65€ for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel aux Tamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Tamaris Hotel
Hotel Aux Tamaris Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing